Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and effective, makes a powerful point
At last, an author who follows his own advice! This book is short and easy to read (at 200 pages, I read it in a day), but surprisingly deep. The book is peppered with colour screenshots, black and white cartoons and pithy quotes and headings. A pleasure, not a chore, to read.
The basic premise is simple; people don't like hard choices or stopping to think, they...
Published on 27 Oct 2003 by Frank Carver

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not in promised condition
The book came pretty fast and it's not like it's unreadable but the seller claimed the book was in 'Very good' condition. The cover's marked and dirty and the top of it's coming apart. To be honest it was cheap and I need it for my degree but yeah, when this seller promises something in 'Very good' condition, take it to me 'It's okay'
Published 3 months ago by Em


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and effective, makes a powerful point, 27 Oct 2003
By 
Frank Carver - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Circle.Com Library) (Paperback)
At last, an author who follows his own advice! This book is short and easy to read (at 200 pages, I read it in a day), but surprisingly deep. The book is peppered with colour screenshots, black and white cartoons and pithy quotes and headings. A pleasure, not a chore, to read.
The basic premise is simple; people don't like hard choices or stopping to think, they just want to get something done. The more self-evident a web site is, the easier it is to use. Implementing it, and being sure you've got it right, is tricky, though. Krug covers site and page layout, navigation design, usability testing on a shoestring as well as a broad and engaging model of how people really use the web.
It doesn't deal with internationalization at all, seems to assume a mostly static site, and offers no real help in getting your idea to the web in the first place, but will help you make good choices along the way. Well worth a read, and probably worth a refresher each time you start a new project to keep you on track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sections on navigation, home page design, usability, 25 Jun 2002
By 
Pavel Gokin (Colchester, VT United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Circle.Com Library) (Paperback)
What makes this book valuable:
- in-depth treatment of navigation design. The sections on tabs and breadcrumbs are especially excellent;
- great section on effective home page design. Get this book along with Nielsen's "Homepage Usability", and you're set in this department.
- wonderful primer on usability testing. If your web team is small, this could be all you need to get started with informal user testing. My own experience supports Steve's: you don't have to have Ph.D. in human factors to facilitate fruitful usability tests;
- last, but not least, the book is very easy to read due to its witty tone, short paragraphs, and tons of bullets.
One thing this book could do better:
- make the headings more informative, saving the witticisms for the body copy. This would have made it a quicker at-a-glance reference.
Conclusion:
The book scores a perfect 10 with its target audience: the designers, developers, project managers, producers, marketers, and those who "sign the check". Just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, practical advice on web page design, 21 Jun 2001
By 
Merja Ranta-aho (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Circle.Com Library) (Paperback)
I liked vey much this book's approach to page design - the home page, designing navigation, "billboard design". The style of the book is entertaining and easy to read, andthe insights are important.
I, though, disagree with Krug's view on not having to use actual users; it seems that what he has in mind is the situation of having to find some very-expert users and he suggests to use any, not-that-expert users instead. While this MAY be sometimes a good choice, it definitely is a bad mistake to think that you can substitute the average beginner-user (to whom your site would be designed to) with the easily-available conmputer expert next door. In any case, you should consider the situation where your test user shows you that the site just does not work - it is too difficult. Hand at heart: do you believe him or do you think secretly, that your REAL users would survive the site?
Therefore, Id recommend this book for anyone as the SECOND web usability book, after the reader has gained some perspective on user testing elsewhere.
I've used the book as reference and material on some web usability design basic courses, and the feedback has been very positive: not just theories but an elegant model of the user at work and simple but powerful design guidelines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on the topic I have ever read, 26 Aug 2003
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Circle.Com Library) (Paperback)
The title says it all. For the novice, or casual browser, you won't find a clearer, better written or more effective book.
For the experienced IA or designer, this is a tutorial in how to communicate your ideas.
Anybody who has even a passing interest in web design should buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Circle.Com Library) (Paperback)
This is a really refreshing book. Krug analyses web users' surfing habits with uncanny accuracy and points out things that are so obvious, they are so easy to disregard.
For once, this is a book that attempts to analyse great sites with minor flaws, rather than smugly 'putting the boot in' on poorly designed sites as other 'experts' often delight in.
As a Web Manager, this is a book that will be the cornerstone of subsequent projects our team take on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book on Web Usability that I have read., 19 Mar 2002
By 
Richard Leader (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Circle.Com Library) (Paperback)
In a subject that is often preachy, dry and sometimes event pedantic in style, Krug's approach is a breath of fresh air.
The book is entertaining and informative at the same time - it uses lots of illustrations to make its point, and that point is dead simple - Don't Make Me Think!
Unfortunately, it is the user that shouldn't have to think - designers, architects, developers and content authors really do need to think hard about how to create websites for the audience. This book goes a long way to helping them.
I would recommend this book to anyone involved in website design (and indeed I have!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! A must-read for every web professional., 15 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Circle.Com Library) (Paperback)
Usability is a very simple, very complex subject that's clouded in argument and emotion. It is also the most important issue facing the development of the web.
It needs to be made accessible to the millions of practitioners trying to work out how to do good stuff.
"Don't Make Me Think" simply gets it absolutely right. I cannot recommend the book enough. It is simply written and deliciously presented, research evidence is relevant, succinct and interesting. It's a joy : )b
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must to read, 23 Aug 2002
By 
Mr R Stroud (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Circle.Com Library) (Paperback)
This is first time I have ever written a review on Amazon. But this book is a must for anybody that wants to really understand what makes web sites work (or not). Easy and quick to read, it makes a few fundamental points that you can see are being ignored day in day out in the construction of web sites. Terrific
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good one for e-commerce and e-info., 15 April 2003
By 
MR N P E Evans (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Circle.Com Library) (Paperback)
Its chatty, anecdotal and practical style never strays from the point. The result is a smart run through the basic rules of presenting information, choices and navigation on the Web.
I would say it's not guide for creating designer sites, but that's not to say you shouldn't have a copy. A web-designer should know about presentation and so on, so that rules are broken *for a reason*. And this easy-reader guides you through just about all those rules in a memorable way. Remember: nothing makes for worse websites than designers who don't know what they're doing trying to break what they think of as the rules.
So, why not get this book? It's one slot on the bookshelf that doesn't need to be filled with a difficult to read tome from dullville.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good one for e-commerce and e-info., 15 April 2003
By 
MR N P E Evans (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Circle.Com Library) (Paperback)
Its chatty, anecdotal and practical style never strays from the point. The result is a smart run through the basic rules of presenting information, choices and navigation on the Web.
I would say it's not guide for creating designer sites, but that's not to say you shouldn't have a copy. A web-designer should know about presentation and so on, so that rules are broken *for a reason*. And this easy-reader guides you through just about all those rules in a memorable way. Remember: nothing makes for worse websites than designers who don't know what they're doing trying to break what they think of as the rules.
So, why not get this book? It's one slot on the bookshelf that doesn't need to be filled with a difficult to read tome from dullville.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae000f0c)

This product

Don't Make Me Think!: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability (Circle.Com Library)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews