Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction
A good introduction to how a bike works and very basic maintanance procedures. It gets 4 stars mainly because of the cheap price. I think I'll be out-growing it soon: there's not a lot of information here. If you want a more comprehensive book on maintaining a bike, I'd suggest Mark Zimmerman.
Published on 25 Oct 2006 by R. Campbell

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very very basic + not explained well
As well as being extremely basic, what is in this manual is not explained very well.

It's very thin as well. This is almost the kind of book you'd read sitting on the loo as opposed to trying to fix or service your bike. Should have been renamed "The childrens Encyclopedia of Basic Motorcycle Mechanics".

Get a Haynes don't waste your time.
Published on 28 Oct 2010 by J. Tomaas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good introduction, 25 Oct 2006
By 
R. Campbell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Motorcycle Owner's Manual (Paperback)
A good introduction to how a bike works and very basic maintanance procedures. It gets 4 stars mainly because of the cheap price. I think I'll be out-growing it soon: there's not a lot of information here. If you want a more comprehensive book on maintaining a bike, I'd suggest Mark Zimmerman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent compliment to decyphering shop manual., 14 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Motorcycle Owner's Manual (Paperback)
The April issue of Motorcyclist does a great review on this book. It spans the gap between seasoned monkey wrencher and the novice shop tinkerer. A deffinate must have for any bike owner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fiver well spent!, 19 July 2005
By 
Joe (London Uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Motorcycle Owner's Manual (Paperback)
At just over a fiver this book represents great value for money. It is ideal for riders, especially new ones, who want to gain a rudimentary understanding of bike maintenance + primary components. Clear + concise, with many accompanying photos, it assumes no prior knowledge and doesn't go into such detail that your head will spin. It is a little dated however (published in 1997), but the basic concepts still apply to modern machines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very very basic + not explained well, 28 Oct 2010
By 
J. Tomaas (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Motorcycle Owner's Manual (Paperback)
As well as being extremely basic, what is in this manual is not explained very well.

It's very thin as well. This is almost the kind of book you'd read sitting on the loo as opposed to trying to fix or service your bike. Should have been renamed "The childrens Encyclopedia of Basic Motorcycle Mechanics".

Get a Haynes don't waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Helpful Guide for New Motorcycle Owners, 14 May 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Motorcycle Owner's Manual (Paperback)
Your new motorcycle came with an owner's manual. Why in the world would you need a more general one?
If you are like me, you do not really know very much about motorcycles other than how to ride one. The manufacturer's owner's manual assumes more knowledge than you really have, and encourages you to get professional maintenance for all but the most routine matters. But if you love your motorcycle (and who doesn't?), you want to take good care of it.
Here's where Mr. Wilson's guide is valuable. It simply explains keeping your motorcyle clean and safe. It also provides good background on how motorcycles are designed and the parts work. Even if you never plan to do any repairs, you will find this interesting. The photographs are very clear and detailed, and allow you to see what he is talking about.
My only complaint about the book is that some of the explanations assume a level of knowledge above what I have. "If you can rewire a plug, you can work on your bike." Well, I still don't know what "rewiring" a plug is, even after reading the book. My guess is that he is referring to adjusting the gap for the spark, but I'm not sure.
I did come away with a sense of what needs to be done with motorcycles. I recently read a similar book by the same publisher on bicycle maintenance. I found that there are more differences than similarities between bicycle and motorcycle maintenance. Also, because you will be riding your motorcycle at higher speeds than a bicycle, I came away thinking that professional maintenance is not such a bad idea.
The economic benefit from this book will come mostly from helping you be more aware of the importance of preventive maintenance (so you are more likely to do it) and spotting repair needs before they become more expensive. But I doubt if all but the most ardent do-your-own-repair people can hope to recover their money by owning this guide right away. Rather, the return will mostly come from improved knowledge and the comfort you have in knowing that your motorcycle is safer because of your enhanced awareness.
How much conscious competence is valuable to you? You probably don't know much about electricity, but you can turn on the lights. I suspect that you can improve your enjoyment of life if you learn more about how things work that you love . . . and use all the time. A good place to start is to seek out books like this one that explain and photographically illustrate the basics in simple ways.
Have a great ride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beginners basics, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: Motorcycle Owner's Manual (Paperback)
I bought this because I read the authors columns in monthly magazines. Although this is well put together and covers its subject I was hoping for a little more in depth substance. It would be a great book for someone venturing into motorcycle maintenance for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, 21 Dec 2005
This review is from: Motorcycle Owner's Manual (Paperback)
I know very little about motorbikes and am about to do a direct access course. This book is excellent. The pictures are very clear and writing is easy to understand even for a person like myself. There seems to be enough information in there to keep me coming back to the book. I'm very glad I bought it. It's worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must have for any bike owner, 14 Nov 2009
By 
lillylie (scotland and CT) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Motorcycle Owner's Manual (Paperback)
This is a great little book. It explains all the routine maintenance jobs in plain English, as well as some more advanced ones. It has clear full color images for everything, that show the differences between the main types of motorcycle, so you can always find the right way for your bike.
It doesnt assume any knowledge beyond what you should know just from riding, so it clears up the "language of the owners manual" nicely.
I would recomend this book for anyone getting their first bike, or anyone who wants start performing their maintenance themselfs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great -- both clearly written and informative, 19 Oct 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Motorcycle Owner's Manual (Paperback)
This is a well written book for those wanting to know how a motorcycle actually works. The author states that " this guide should be used in conjunction with an owner's manual" and he is absolutely correct. Basic maintenance is well documented and the photographs are fantastic. A worthy addition to any motorcyclist's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too Basic and a tiny book!, 3 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcycle Owner's Manual (Paperback)
Dont bother! A big disapointment, not very current or useful. Buy the Haynes manual instead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Motorcycle Owner's Manual
Motorcycle Owner's Manual by Hugo Wilson (Paperback - Jun 1997)
£5.70
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews