Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The horror, the horror!, 16 Jan 2010
By 
Dr. George L. Sik (Epsom, Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Studios Monsters: A Legacy of Horror (Hardcover)
By the time I was old enough to appreciate a good horror movie (I must have been, what, eight?) the cinemas were no longer showing these films and video recorders were yet to become popular. Fortunately, the BBC would occasionally oblige with a late-night showing, long after sensible people were in bed.

What memories this brings back! Dracula! Frankenstein! The Wolf Man! Everything from The Hunchback of Notre Dame in the early twenties to The Creature from the Black Lagoon in the mid-fifties. In fact, the Creature from the Black-and-White Lagoon. Part of the charm of all these films was that they were not in colour (maybe one of the reasons that Mel Brooks's musical version of Young Frankenstein on stage didn't win over all fans of the film is that you have to have colour on stage?). Hammer came along later and did it all over again in colour - with that unfeasibly crimson-coloured blood - but Universal had got there first.

This book is a treasure-trove of photographs and information. Happy, happy memories!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Universal Monsters Are The Best, 28 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Studios Monsters: A Legacy of Horror (Hardcover)
This beautiful hardback book is absolutely "the dogs..." I bought this because of my love for the fantastic Universal Horrors. There all in this great looking hardback: Karloff, Lugosi, Chaney Snr & Jnr - The list is endless. Another reason for me buying this book is that it took me back to when I was a kid and I was reading Alan G Frank's & Dennis Gifford books on the same subject. This book contains wonderful photos - a lot you may of seen already, but there are some nice unseen genuine gems as well. If your a Universal fan, you will love this book. Is it worth the asking price...? - I would have to say YES - Its Magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a marvellous book, slightly ruined by poor english., 21 Mar 2011
By 
jeremiah harbottle (Littlebourne, Kent.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Studios Monsters: A Legacy of Horror (Hardcover)
i recommend this volume about the universal horror films with regards to background information on the films and also for the wealth of photographs and the pictures of the advertising posters.
the standard of english used by the author is terrible however, which is a shame because he constantly abbreviates certain words on many pages and also his style of building and phrasing sentences leaves a lot to be desired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book, 27 May 2010
By 
Jep (Tarragona, SPAIN) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Studios Monsters: A Legacy of Horror (Hardcover)
Essential book for lovers of the classic Universal horror film.
Contains lots of photographs of very good quality, as many and varied information about each actor or universal monster movies. A great edition and very well priced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Sumptuous Tome, 5 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Studios Monsters: A Legacy of Horror (Hardcover)
Although I already have a few books on the subject, I still found Universal Monsters a `sumptuous' tome, to digest and enjoy. There are many parts of interest covering a variety of aspects of everything in and around the Universal studios at the time of the making of their horror cycle of films. There is a great wealth of posters and photos also, making this a great book to own and delve in to for enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A joy of a book, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Studios Monsters: A Legacy of Horror (Hardcover)
Wonderful throughout and a joy to read. Packed full of lavish photos and a must for any classic horror fan. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A well written book with original research and photos, 9 Oct 2011
This review is from: Universal Studios Monsters: A Legacy of Horror (Hardcover)
This is pretty good with a fair amount of original research and some photos I had never seen before. My only complaint would be that a lot of space is given to retelling the plots of the films. I emphasize that this is only an issue for me as I know them so well. Other readers may well find these synopses helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great !, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Studios Monsters: A Legacy of Horror (Hardcover)
Delivery was on the Friday, as I expected,The Universal Horror films are a favourite of mine ,& I am most pleased with the book.Only having books on Universal many years old. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars monsters., 19 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Jason E. Parry "paz" (cwmbran,wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Studios Monsters: A Legacy of Horror (Hardcover)
Iam a big fan of the old universal black and whit horror,this book is great and gives you a good insight to universal horror,great pictures to,well worht the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic for any classic horror fan, 19 Jan 2013
By 
Mrs. Carol Worman "Dizzy mare" (Bucks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Studios Monsters: A Legacy of Horror (Hardcover)
Bought this as a gift for my husband who has been an 'old school' horror fan since young. He has loads of books already but still found this interesting in it's factual text and pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Universal Studios Monsters: A Legacy of Horror
Universal Studios Monsters: A Legacy of Horror by Michael Mallory (Hardcover - 8 Sep 2009)
£20.82
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews