Customer Reviews


255 Reviews
5 star:
 (216)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cherished childhood memories
I remember my fifth birthday more vividly than any other from my youth. It was on that birthday my godmother bought me peter pan and snow white on VHS. To watch this movie again is like revisiting so many happy memories of wishing peter would come and take me away. It is true Disney magic. It has all of disney's trademarks from the time, beautiful hand drawn animation...
Published on 23 Nov 2007 by Ms. N. Boden

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy HD
Quality is terrible, not worth buying HD.
Published 1 month ago by Jacobo Ventura


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cherished childhood memories, 23 Nov 2007
By 
Ms. N. Boden "04nbod" (merseyside,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I remember my fifth birthday more vividly than any other from my youth. It was on that birthday my godmother bought me peter pan and snow white on VHS. To watch this movie again is like revisiting so many happy memories of wishing peter would come and take me away. It is true Disney magic. It has all of disney's trademarks from the time, beautiful hand drawn animation (that has been colour graded to make it look even better) and catchy songs that have become part of everyday cultural knowledge. I would advise anyone to get this for their child or teen or better yet buy it for yourself and relive days gone by like i did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful classic that we never tire of watching, 4 Feb 2009
We bought it for a xmas present as we had been to see Peter Pan in panto, and it has been a huge hit with my 4 year old boy. He has watched it over and over and over again and is a mesmersied as the first time he saw it. Such a lovely film, just the right length to keep little ones captivated without too much fidgeting! A wonderful and much loved classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Come fly with me....", 27 Feb 2007
By 
Robert Morris (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
NOTE: As of this moment, the Two-Disc Platinum Edition of Peter Pan is in limited distribution (I have seen it) and most of the reviews that appear now refer to an earlier version. The Two-Disc Platinum Edition version can be pre-ordered from Amazon and Borders and offers new special features which include a restored original theatrical soundtrack all-new digital restoration with enhanced picture and sound, "Camp Never Land: Explore Never Land" with all-new multi-level games, deleted songs, a feature during which Walt Disney explains "Why I Made Peter Pan," "The Peter Pan Story: 1952" featurette, a sneak peek of the all-new Tinker Bell movie, another feature "You Can Fly: The Making of Peter Pan," a T-Squad music video: "The Second Star to the Right," a Peter Pan virtual flight, Peter's Playful Prank DVD storybook, and a never-before-seen alternate opening.

Over the years, I have seen various versions of this delightful film and enjoy it at least as much now as I did when it was first released in 1953. On several occasions, I have also visited Disneyland and vividly recall the excitement of the ride when my companions and I departed the children's bedroom and flew above London at night en route to Neverland. The so-called "magic kingdom" is more a state-of-mind than a location because the genius of Walt Disney and his associates is that, in ways and to an extent no one else ever has, they activate and engage imagination. This is especially true of this film that, unlike most of the other animation features, involves a journey by air as well as by land. Literally, one's imagination soars above and beyond human concerns, at least for 77 minutes.

Unlike other Disney villains (e.g. Honest John and Stromboli in Pinocchio, the Queen/Witch in Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs), Captain Hook is at least as amusing as he is threatening. The fate of the Darling children is never really in doubt. We know that eventually, theirs will be a safe return to their home and family. (I had no such confidence - as a child -- when first viewing Dumbo, Pinocchio, and Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs.) Although for most of us, "there is no place like home," we enjoy and appreciate opportunities to travel far and wide - at least in our imagination - and become involve in adventures of various kinds, as the Darling children do.

Those who already have an earlier version of Peter Pan can continue to enjoy it, of course, but at least some of them will welcome this Two-Disc Platinum Edition because of all of its special features, previously unavailable. I only wish other DVDs offered special features of comparable variety, quality, and entertainment value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Pan DVD, 25 Feb 2009
By 
J. Egan "Moleadot" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
My 4 year old son has absolutely fallen in love with this film. Despite the success of introducing him to more complex and intricate CGI animated films (Walle, Kung Foo Panda, Toy story etc) his ultimate favourite is this old fashioned cartoon 2D sketch animation from the archives of Disney. Thus proving that they don't make em like they used to. The themes from this film (sense of family, adventure of childhood) are still as relevant today as they have always been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disney Peter Pan, 19 Feb 2010
By 
J. S. Loydon (Greater Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How great to be able to get a 1953 Disney classic updated on DVD! It seems as fresh and bright as it did when I saw the original film as a small boy (yes, I'm that old). A splendid purchase at a very reasonable price, this film is now preferred viewing for my grandchildren - well, second only to Wallace and Gromit!

The portrayal of the Red Indians seems very non-PC now, I must admit. Also, I seemed to detect a bit of editing-out when Peter finds Tinker Belle fading away in a cave. It's the bit of the original stage presentation when the audience have to clap to signify their belief in fairies.

It's over 100 years since the original story was written, so some of the ideas need explaining to youngsters: Nanas and nurseries, for example, are unfamiliar to 21st Century children. Even a ticking crocodile is so out of date now!

I'm still very pleased I found it: Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAY WE NEVER GROW UP!, 12 Oct 2009
By 
C. Porter (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film was made the year I was born, and yet over fifty years later it still has a timelessness that works even though cartoon films have advanced so much over the years with pixar and soundtracks and storylines.

A classic story of childhood and dreams and adventure and all packaged in Disney's memorable fashion that brings all the film flooding back to you even though you may not have seen it in years.

Definitely one to add to the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 20 Jan 2003
By 
fields21 "fields21" (Hoogerheide, Netherlands) - See all my reviews
Why are old Disney's some much better than more recent ones? Because much more is left to your imagination and the action is less fast and less aggressive. Also, verbal cracks and jokes are much more in abundance.
Peter Pan's definetely one of the best Disney movies. The plot is great, the characters are convincing (even Tinkerbell) and emotions are never over-the-top or sacharine. There's enough action in it to keep you spellbound (even at 33!!).
The great thing about is that the whole story makes completely sense in the eyes of many a kid (I have 3). It feeds on their imagination & still expects them to make clever judgements.
Enough said, it's a good story, brilliantly drawn. Modern day kids still love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 3 May 2011
This movie was liked very much by my 3 years old son. It was a present for his birthday and he enjoyed a lot the fantastic world of Neverland!
He was able to understand and follow the storytale without problem. What I like is also the fact that it really for everyone because there are no scenes that may scare little children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I Love This Movie!, 14 Nov 2004
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The children in the Darling family love story about Peter Pan. So naturally when he shows up one night looking for his missing shadow, they're thrilled to go back with him to Never Land. There, they face Indians and "the world's most famous crook," Captain Hook. Will they survive their adventures with the boy who never wants to grow up?
I have always had a fascination with this story. As a kid I remember checking the Disney picture book version out of the library week after week. When I finally got to see it, I was enthralled. There is just something magical about the story. It's partially the coming together of all the boyhood adventures in one place. Mermaids, Indians, and Pirates? What more could any boy want? And, of course, the ability to fly. The "You can fly" sequence over London is one of my all time favorites. The whole movie really is animated very well with a story that movies quickly from place to place with lots of humor to keep everyone entertained and gorgeous animation of the fanciful Never Land.
This special edition is worth tracking down. The picture (original full frame) is sharp and the surround sound is very nice. Extras include a documentary on the making of the movie and a promotional theatrical featurette from the original release. The "audio commentary" is unique. Hosted by Roy Disney, it consists of selections from interviews of the voice talent, live action models, animators, and animation historians. While not your usual commentary, it's fascinating stuff and well worth a listen. Finally, there's a treasure hunt game and DVD storybook for kids.
This movie still brings a smile to my face and probably always will. Maybe my friends are right when they say I love this movie so much because I always wanted to be Peter Pan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PETER PAN [1953] – 60th Anniversary Two-Disc Diamond Edition [Deluxe Limited Edition DigiBook] [Blu-ray + DVD] [US Import], 26 Oct 2014
PETER PAN [1953] – 60th Anniversary Two-Disc Diamond Edition [Deluxe Limited Edition DigiBook] [Blu-ray + DVD] [US Import] Think of the happiest things as Peter Pan soars to spectacular new heights! Now more sensational than ever with digitally restored picture and brilliant high-definition sound! Bid your cares goodbye as Wendy and her brothers embark on fantastic adventures with the hero of their bedtime stories – Peter Pan! With faith, trust and Tinker Bell's pixie dust, Peter teaches them how to fly and leads them to the 'second star to the right' and beyond – to Never Land! Celebrate the 60th Anniversary of Walt Disney's animated version of the Sir James M. Barrie [J.M. Barrie] classic stories. Narrated by Tom Conway.

Cast: Bobby Driscoll, Kathryn Beaumont, Hans Conried, Bill Thompson, Heather Angel, Paul Collins, Tommy Luske, Candy Candido, Tom Conway [Narrator], Tony Butala, Carol Coombs, Robert Ellis, June Foray, Connie Hilton, Margaret Kerry, Karen Kester, Johnny McGovern, Norma Jean Nilsson, Thurl Ravenscroft, Jeffrey Silver, Stuffy Singer and Anne Whitfield

Directors: Clyde Geronimi, Hamilton Luske, Wilfred Jackson and Jack Kinney (uncredited)

Producer: Walt Disney

Screenplay: Milt Banta, William Cottrell, Winston Hibler, Bill Peet, Erdman Penner, Joe Rinaldi, Ted Sears and Ralph Wright

Composer: Oliver Wallace (score), Sammy Fain and Frank Churchill (music-songs), Sammy Cahn, Ed Penner, Winston Hibler and Ted Sears (words-songs)

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1

Audio: English: 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, Français: 5.1 Dolby Digital and Español: 5.1 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English, English SDH, Français and Español

Region: Blu-ray: All Regions and DVD: NTSC

Running Time: 77 minutes

Number of discs: 2

Studio: Walt Disney Studios Home Entertainment

Andrew's Blu-ray Review: ‘Peter Pan’ is a long-awaited addition to Disney's Blu-ray canon that somehow makes my collection feels more whole, more complete. It isn't just a personal favourite either. It's one of Walt Disney's most beloved animated classics, one of the studio's greatest treasures and arguably the best Disney animated feature released in the 1950s. It has survived controversy, especially Tiger Lily and the Indians are still considered racially offensive in various circles and weathered criticism about the liberties Uncle Walt and his screenwriters took with J.M. Barrie's 1904 play and 1911 children's novel. And yet no censorship has been perpetrated and very little criticism has prevailed. It's a high-flying, swashbuckling adventure in the true spirit of the original and, in many ways, was the first production, on stage or off, to lend a thrillingly palpable sense of magic, grandeur and storybook fantasy to Barrie's text. Even today, some sixty years after its theatrical release, Peter Pan remains a magnificent animated film, as truly timeless as any Disney classic that came before it or come since.

‘Peter Pan’ harks back to a wondrous age in animation, before the advent of CGI and the misguided belief that traditional, hand drawn animation was outmoded. Pardon the nostalgic digression, but Walt Disney's fourteenth animated feature, now celebrating its 60th anniversary, has the look and whimsy of a much younger production. With no computers to rely on, Pan's legendary team of animators, especially the Nine Old Men who crafted something extraordinary for its time and something that continues to withstand the test of time. The beautifully expressive characters do nothing less than spring to life, while each acrobatic bout of flying, singing, dancing and swordplay is framed by gorgeous hand-painted backgrounds. Even now, with Disney aggressively resurrecting the hand-drawn feature, classics like Peter Pan stand tall, created entirely with pencils, ink, brushes and paint, and all the passion and spirit that goes into such hands-on artistry. Many of the CGI animators of the modern age are master animators in their own right, don't misunderstand. But there's something utterly magical about Walt Disney's early animated classics, and it's a magic that continues to grab hold of viewers, young and old, nostalgic and newcomer alike. Simply put: Peter Pan is one of the Disney greats, and that isn't about to change anytime soon. "All this has happened before, and all this will happen again..."

Blu-ray Video Quality: The debate rages on, although fuelled by less disappointment than ‘Cinderella’ generated. ‘Peter Pan’ flies onto Blu-ray with a vibrant; striking 1080p encoded video transfer, restored with all the renewed digital advances available to the Disney restoration team. The results will delight most and mildly irritate a few; the few being those who feel the complete absence of grain and the slight (stress on slight) alterations made to the film's original colour and contrast are contrary to Walt Disney and his animators' intentions and the film's original presentation. The debate asks should a classic film be subjected to such changes. Should Disney attempt to create a transfer that's truer to the original cell art or to the 1953 theatrical image? Ideally, a release like Peter Pan would present both a classic restoration and a spectacularly clean revitalisation, but the choice has been made. The latter over the former it is. Still, purists would do well to embrace everything Disney has accomplished, if only in part. Marvellous leaps and strides have been made here, and not all of them controversial. In fact, only the grain removal, which appears to have taken little to no toll on the image other than its intended use, gave me pause, as it alters the texture of the original film, but despite this, I think the final result is absolutely stunning and looks better than when I viewed it in the cinema.

Blu-ray Audio Quality: Absolutely outstanding. Disney's 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio surround track crows at the top of its lungs and unleashes its sonic attack with notable precision. At the same time, the 7.1 presentation rarely, if ever, flies in the face of the film's original sound design. Though the rear speakers wrap the sounds of Never Land around the listener, it doesn't feel like a betrayal and is always executed with the utmost respect for the audio elements. Directional effects are light but playful, ambience is subtle but effective and a few acoustic flourishes make caves and other locales more immersive. Output is restrained as well but no less welcome, lending weight and presence to every low-end assault and exchange. Voices and sound effects, meanwhile, are completely unhindered and perfectly prioritised. A few lines of dialogue show their age, as anyone should expect from a sixty-year old feature, but remain clear and intelligible regardless. Add to that the full, enveloping presence of the film's score and songs and you have a first-rate 7.1 remix for this classic animation film.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Introduction by Diane Disney-Miller [1080p] Diane Disney-Miller provides a quick introduction to the film, touching on her father's attraction to adapting J.M. Barrie's tale and the artwork created during the film's development.

DisneyView [With Side Bars] [1080p] Fill the black bars to either side of the image with artwork from Walt Disney background painter Cristy Maltese (‘The Little Mermaid,’ ‘Beauty and the Beast’ and ‘Aladdin’).

Peter Pan Sing-Along [1080p] An optional Sing-Along track, easily engaged or skipped when selecting the "Play" option in the main menu. It's a simple subtitle feature, though. No karaoke-style guide marker or highlighting.

Growing Up with Nine Old Men [1080p] [41:00] The name started as a joke. A term of playful endearment Walt Disney gave to his lead animators. But it soon became a badge of honour for the most legendary and influential animators in Disney history. Hear about the Nine Old Men from those who were closest to them and their children, now upwards in years themselves and learn about the artists' contributions and work, both personal and professional.

Deleted Songs and Scenes [1080p] [15:00] Unearthed from the Disney Vault, two deleted scenes and two deleted songs, presented via original storyboards, concept art, rough cell elements and key frames: "The Journey Home," "Alternate Arrival," "Never Smile at a Crocodile" and "The Boatswain Song."

Classic DVD Bonus Features and Extras:

Backstage Disney [SD] [65:00] Five behind-the-scenes feature and documentaries include "You Can Fly: The Making of Peter Pan," "In Walt's Words: Why I Made Peter Pan," "Tinker Bell: A Fairy's Tale," "The Peter Pan that Almost Was" and "The Peter Pan Story."

Music & More [1080p and SD] [17:00] Disney Song Selection (presented in 1080p with 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio), Deleted Song: The Pirate Song. Never Land: The Lost Song. Music Video: Never Land, performed by Paige O'Hara and Music Video: The Second Star to the Right, performed by T-Squad.

Audio Commentary: Roy Disney hosts this extensive audio commentary, taken from the film's previous DVD release. Disney dryly reads from pre-prepared notes, but the interview excerpts and commentary bits featured over the course of the commentary allow the film's animators, voice actors and filmmakers to offer their insight as well. Smartly compiled and edited, the track touches on every aspect of Peter Pan, without wasting a single second.

Disney Intermission [1080p] Pausing at any point during the film allows younger viewers to tackle "Pirate Training," a series of tips, mini-activities and video clips helmed by the first mate of the Jolly Roger.

Finally, ‘Peter Pan’ is a classic today as it was twenty, forty or sixty years ago. It remains the wondrous adventure and magnificently animated spectacle it's always been. With Disney's Blu-ray release, it's even more wondrous and magnificent. Backed by a stunning video presentation (albeit one slightly altered from its source), a strong 7.1 DTS-HD Master Audio surround track, and well over four hours of special features, the New Deluxe Limited Edition DigiBook Diamond Edition release of ‘Peter Pan’ is a must-have for any Disney fan or animation aficionado. Don't hesitate: make the leap. Of course what makes my review extra special is the fact that people who have reviewed the other Blu-ray versions are missing something really special with this extra special Deluxe Limited Edition DigiBook, as it has 18 stunning glossy colour pages of awesome illustration images from the animation, plus the printed words telling you the story of Peter Pan, which could be read to small children at bedtime and make them keen to see this stunning Blu-ray. Ever since I first viewed Peter Pan at the cinema, it has always been a very personal favourite of mine and I can also say it's one of Walt Disney's most beloved animated classics that I never get tired of viewing. Very Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews