Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars16
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 November 2007
Patrick Lencioni wrote this as a follow-up to his 2002 "fable," The Five Dysfunctions of a Team. It applies the earlier book's concepts, and suggests many exercises, approaches, examples and explanations you can use as you apply those ideas. If you found the first book useful, you'll want this one, though you can still get a lot of utility from it even if you haven't read the original. Lencioni recaps his concepts clearly here, including developing trust among team members and keeping teams focused on their goals. The result is broadly applicable. We believe that readers who want a basic introduction to improving team function will appreciate this book. That said, those looking for more complex or theoretical approaches, or for tools to deal with specific challenges, such as knowledge management among teams, may need a more advanced manual.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2012
If you want people to remember something, tell them a story!
If you want people to learn something, engage them!
Lencioni has a particular style of telling a good story around what is usually a boring and difficult subject, I like his books!

This book is about the critical aspects that must be present in order for a team to function well, if at all!
The dysfunctions are:

Lack of Trust
Fear of Conflict
Lack of Commitment
Avoidance of Accountability
Inattention to Results

For anyone involved in business or any other area of life where the team is important this is an exceptionally easy read, setting out and reinforcing the principles through a case study (from a fictitious company) and really causing one to think.

It is easy to read in an extended sitting.

The format is an entertaining story, very well written, giving a practical example of the issues arising.

This is followed up by a summary chapter which reinforces the principles in the manner of a good text book.

If you are already familiar with the One Minute Manager series of books, you will recognise the format, though in my own opinion, this is to a more professional level.

Get it, Read it and Store it in the Business Bookcase for Reference!

Four plus Stars from me for this one! ****+
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
I really like the five dysfunctions model and find it a very helpful way to think about and explain how and why teams don't always work together. There are a lot of practical ideas for how to overcome the dysfunctions, and I will definitely try out as many as I can.
Two things I didn't particularly like: 1) the book feels quite padded out. It could easily have been shorter and simply added to a revised version of the original book, which itself is quite short, but I guess why charge for something once when you can make people pay twice? 2) the author refers several times to his other work and online material that he'd love you to pay for. I realise now that I'm in the wrong industry.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 August 2009
Whilst not as widely taught in classrooms, Patrick Lenconi has a very vivid and engaging style. This guide is to be considered as an expansion to his Five Dysfunctions of a Team book.

Where is has use is the setting out of ideas and activities that can be used to guide a group of people and turn them into a more effective team. There are alternatives which can be used depending on circumstances, or even to continue growth.

Where it could be criticised is in the lack of depth of different alternatives to enable usage where a variety of approaches are needed.

Overall this is a very useful guide to take the lessons from the book and use them to make a positive difference within your team.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2009
I did like the practical applications as examples, as well as reviews of methods too - better than the original!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2014
This concise field book is bursting with hints and tips for building effective teams.

Patrick's "Five Dysfunctions of a Team" was instrumental in opening my eyes to the symptoms and root causes of dysfunctional teams. Now, this deceptively small field book has helped me understand the practical steps I could take to resolve the root causes of poor teamwork in my organisation.

The wealth of experience distilled into this book is staggering. As I have applied the suggested tools with my team, they have responded in many of the ways Patrick has encountered with other teams. That has bolstered my confidence and enthusiasm to push through some very difficult discussions.

You'll need lots of courage and determination to build a great team, but with this book you'll have access to Patrick's knowledge, experience, enthusiasm and sense of fun.

Thank you Patrick for taking time to answer so many questions raised by "Five Dysfunctions of a Team" and proving a tremendously helpful set of tools and advice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2012
I have read 3 of Patrick's books and The Five Dysfunctions of a Team was particularly good. This one is a follow-up to emphasise how to correct the dysfunctions with great tips and guidelines. if you're already a trainer or consultant it will be easy to use and a great guide
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
This follows the structure of the original book, and gives you lots of exercises to do with teams to explore ways to improve at each of the five levels. Soemof them are very powerful and even moving. Made a huge difference with a team I was working with. Jennifer Shipside
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2013
For anyone working as an executive coach, a change management consultant or as an internal change agent in a larger organisation this is a very useful "how to" guide to enabling leadership teams to understand themselves as individuals and as a group. The tools outlined in the book are well-grounded in both practical experience and mainstream psychology. Above all the approach is practical and realistic. Good stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
A simple lense and great for reinforcing the contribution that trust makes to the whole of team functioning, but it is only one way of looking at team development. It is usefully supplemented by various others and I think the author acknowledges this. A simple, uncomplicated read that provides another team develop framework and only needs a couple of hours to read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)