Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Workbook for improving team performance
Patrick Lencioni wrote this as a follow-up to his 2002 "fable," The Five Dysfunctions of a Team. It applies the earlier book's concepts, and suggests many exercises, approaches, examples and explanations you can use as you apply those ideas. If you found the first book useful, you'll want this one, though you can still get a lot of utility from it even if you haven't read...
Published on 7 Nov 2007 by Rolf Dobelli

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars for work
this book was purchased as part of an ongoing development programme for our company directors and senior management. have not received any feedback yet but if it is similar to the prequal it will do be easy to read and will get the message across.
Published 15 months ago by Katharine M Rogers


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Workbook for improving team performance, 7 Nov 2007
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Overcoming The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Field Guide for Leaders, Managers, and Facilitators (J-B Lencioni Series) (Paperback)
Patrick Lencioni wrote this as a follow-up to his 2002 "fable," The Five Dysfunctions of a Team. It applies the earlier book's concepts, and suggests many exercises, approaches, examples and explanations you can use as you apply those ideas. If you found the first book useful, you'll want this one, though you can still get a lot of utility from it even if you haven't read the original. Lencioni recaps his concepts clearly here, including developing trust among team members and keeping teams focused on their goals. The result is broadly applicable. We believe that readers who want a basic introduction to improving team function will appreciate this book. That said, those looking for more complex or theoretical approaches, or for tools to deal with specific challenges, such as knowledge management among teams, may need a more advanced manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Building a Better Business Team: An Approach that works!, 27 Jan 2012
By 
Alan Tracey (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Overcoming The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Field Guide for Leaders, Managers, and Facilitators (J-B Lencioni Series) (Paperback)
If you want people to remember something, tell them a story!
If you want people to learn something, engage them!
Lencioni has a particular style of telling a good story around what is usually a boring and difficult subject, I like his books!

This book is about the critical aspects that must be present in order for a team to function well, if at all!
The dysfunctions are:

Lack of Trust
Fear of Conflict
Lack of Commitment
Avoidance of Accountability
Inattention to Results

For anyone involved in business or any other area of life where the team is important this is an exceptionally easy read, setting out and reinforcing the principles through a case study (from a fictitious company) and really causing one to think.

It is easy to read in an extended sitting.

The format is an entertaining story, very well written, giving a practical example of the issues arising.

This is followed up by a summary chapter which reinforces the principles in the manner of a good text book.

If you are already familiar with the One Minute Manager series of books, you will recognise the format, though in my own opinion, this is to a more professional level.

Get it, Read it and Store it in the Business Bookcase for Reference!

Four plus Stars from me for this one! ****+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely helpful if a little self serving, 22 Jan 2013
By 
P. Pechey (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really like the five dysfunctions model and find it a very helpful way to think about and explain how and why teams don't always work together. There are a lot of practical ideas for how to overcome the dysfunctions, and I will definitely try out as many as I can.
Two things I didn't particularly like: 1) the book feels quite padded out. It could easily have been shorter and simply added to a revised version of the original book, which itself is quite short, but I guess why charge for something once when you can make people pay twice? 2) the author refers several times to his other work and online material that he'd love you to pay for. I realise now that I'm in the wrong industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great practcal application of 5 dysies, 19 Oct 2009
By 
Paul Dent (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Field Guide for Leaders, Managers, and Facilitators (J-B Lencioni Series) (Paperback)
I did like the practical applications as examples, as well as reviews of methods too - better than the original!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great companion guide, 10 Aug 2009
By 
Christian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Field Guide for Leaders, Managers, and Facilitators (J-B Lencioni Series) (Paperback)
Whilst not as widely taught in classrooms, Patrick Lenconi has a very vivid and engaging style. This guide is to be considered as an expansion to his Five Dysfunctions of a Team book.

Where is has use is the setting out of ideas and activities that can be used to guide a group of people and turn them into a more effective team. There are alternatives which can be used depending on circumstances, or even to continue growth.

Where it could be criticised is in the lack of depth of different alternatives to enable usage where a variety of approaches are needed.

Overall this is a very useful guide to take the lessons from the book and use them to make a positive difference within your team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book by an excellent author, 5 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Field Guide for Leaders, Managers, and Facilitators (J-B Lencioni Series) (Paperback)
I have read 3 of Patrick's books and The Five Dysfunctions of a Team was particularly good. This one is a follow-up to emphasise how to correct the dysfunctions with great tips and guidelines. if you're already a trainer or consultant it will be easy to use and a great guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Field Guide for Leaders, Managers, and Facilitators (J-B Lencioni Series) (Paperback)
For anyone working as an executive coach, a change management consultant or as an internal change agent in a larger organisation this is a very useful "how to" guide to enabling leadership teams to understand themselves as individuals and as a group. The tools outlined in the book are well-grounded in both practical experience and mainstream psychology. Above all the approach is practical and realistic. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars for work, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Overcoming The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Field Guide for Leaders, Managers, and Facilitators (J-B Lencioni Series) (Paperback)
this book was purchased as part of an ongoing development programme for our company directors and senior management. have not received any feedback yet but if it is similar to the prequal it will do be easy to read and will get the message across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf8a64bc)

This product

Only search this product's reviews