Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heroes Reborn!! Lost years
Great book. Usually I hate prequels; luckily this is not a prequel. More of a fill in the gaps and tying up loose ends. Dating back to The Ghost King (Transitions) the devastating spellplague. The Sundering seems to be the end of the Spellplague, so the magic users again have to relearn the ways of magic, again shifting the balance of power in the realms as a character...
Published 10 months ago by K. G. A. Alavi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Trying hard to enjoy it...
This book has me split. On the one hand, I love the Forgotten Realms as a setting and how it ties into games (playing Neverwinter at the mo and Baldur's Gate gets dusted off every year or so for a play through). On the other hand, this is the most dramatic reset point for Wizards of the Coast that I can remember. It is part of a series of book that sets up the new world...
Published 8 months ago by Darck


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heroes Reborn!! Lost years, 12 Sep 2013
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book. Usually I hate prequels; luckily this is not a prequel. More of a fill in the gaps and tying up loose ends. Dating back to The Ghost King (Transitions) the devastating spellplague. The Sundering seems to be the end of the Spellplague, so the magic users again have to relearn the ways of magic, again shifting the balance of power in the realms as a character says the cleverest people will take advantage of this. I do not think Drizzts and his friends will be very involved in the Sundering I think 6 different authors are using their characters in the other books. I think the next continuation as far as the Companions of the Hall are concerned is Night of the Hunter: Companions Codex, I. I personally think having Drizzt in a magic fight of comic importance is useless so I will not be getting the other Sundering books, I do not think he will be in them anyway.

The Companions of the Hall have been given a choice to be reborn and help their beloved friend Drizzt Do'Urden in his greatest time of need (emotionally and physically). Sounds easy and to some it is but to others it means turning their back of a lifetime of service and devotion to their own Gods, can they do that even for a friend such as Drizzt? That is the first challenge, the next is to survive 21 year in their new-born bodies then reach an appointed time at the end of the last book where Drizzt must choose his path of battle and pleasure like Dahlia Sin'felle making his more of a disciple of Lady Loth then his goddess of choice Mielikki.

There are other factor as well in 21 year of their new life each of the companions form new bonds, in some cases find new powers and skills, and find unfinished business from their previous existence. Each has to answer the question having a second chance at life do they settle in to their new life or do they risk everything on a chance they could help their friend (who could possibly have dies 1000 different ways in the time the friends are supposed to meet again).

A great book trying and promising resolutions to books from Transitions trilogy, to the Neverwinter saga and including Dungeons & Dragons: The Legend of Drizzt - Neverwinter Tales (Dungeons & Dragons (Idw Hardcover)) comic. A must have for Drizzt followers. I would have liked more of Drizzt in the book but I can understand why that was not the case, he is mentioned more for his passed deeds, how his legend has been perceived by others and what other think of him. A lot more story driven the Salvatore's other books. Get this book you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dull and cliched, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An obvious 'love in' from R A Salvatore. Dull and utterly obvious plot line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another brilliant read by Salvatore!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality, 16 May 2014
Salvatore back to his best and i havent even finished it yet, 3/4 of the way through. Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wanderfull, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Companions: The Sundering: Book I: (Dungeons & Dragons: Forgotten Realms: The Sundering) (Mass Market Paperback)
Perfect package and better product, best ever book I've read Incredible, Its true what saids in the cover, best Salvatore has ever wrote
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A completely enthralling read., 22 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm looking forward to the next instalment of this series.
Godborn I hope will be just as amazing I love forgotten realms especially the Drizzt-Do-Urdenn novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Drizzt, but not as we know it., 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Companions: The Sundering: Book I: (Dungeons & Dragons: Forgotten Realms: The Sundering) (Mass Market Paperback)
Salvatore's long game plan comes out to play. All the characters you missed but not quite how you remember them. Clearly written, somewhat inventive but not quite to the high standards he has set himself.

If anything, is Drizzt's story finally told and time to move on. Next we will see Cadderly back, which as he was chosen should fit the pattern and then we are in full circle to the Crystal Shard and the Dragon King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Companions: The Sundering: Book I: (Dungeons & Dragons: Forgotten Realms: The Sundering) (Mass Market Paperback)
Could not put it down once I started reading. Now I am waiting for the next book to find out what happens
to Drizzt and his friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice setup for more stories, 29 Mar 2014
By 
D. Henwood (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Companions: The Sundering: Book I: (Dungeons & Dragons: Forgotten Realms: The Sundering) (Mass Market Paperback)
Although it sets up the Sundering to occur, the story is about characters that any Salvatore fan will know and will have likely missed. As much as I love Drizzt without his friends it has become a bit.....depressing with Drizzt on a constant downer. His friends come back and in a great and entertaining way. What would you do with a second chance at life ? How would you change your path ? What if your second chance was set out for you.....would you stick to it ? Great reading about old characters given a new lease of life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just one word can explain this book AMAZING! Just AMAZING!, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just gripping from start to finish am a big r a Salvatore fan read all books but biggest fan of Drizzt books and bigger fan of the ones with the companions of the hall characters through the years I have read the books and loved these characters Bruner,catti brie,wulfgar and Regis and was gutted when these characters where killed of and brought a tear to my eyes like losing something even though drizzt is my favourite character of all Salvatore characters his books have been missing these companions that made them good so happy he brought them back and hope they stay for a long time even though drizzt wasn't in much didn't care which was such a shock him.being my favourite character but great story loved reading about the companions growing up and there struggles on there path to save there friend drizzt this is by far my favourite in series and can't wait to read the 2nd book can't say anything bad about it if had to say anything bad thought story could be longer but understand with making the other 2 to come out sooner and close to each other recommend to all drizzt and companions fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Companions: The Sundering: Book I: (Dungeons & Dragons: Forgotten Realms: The Sundering)
4.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews