Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series of novels
Very much enjoying the Drizzt series of novels, in fact have now purchased the whole series so I can follow the total legend. R A Salvatore is an excellent story teller.
Published 3 months ago by mpm

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Redemption, but with a dissapointing ending!
This story is about redemption. It is a lot slower paces then the first 3 book in the series. Many fewer battles but after the first books that is understandable. Drizzt's new band of companions joined together against a common enemy. Now that he has been vanquished now what do they do? Drizzt comes up with a plan, but first he and Dahlia must solve the mystery of a...
Published 18 months ago by K. G. A. Alavi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Redemption, but with a dissapointing ending!, 25 Mar 2013
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Threshold: Neverwinter Saga, Book IV (Dungeons & Dragons Forgotten Realms Novel: Neverwinter Saga) (Hardcover)
This story is about redemption. It is a lot slower paces then the first 3 book in the series. Many fewer battles but after the first books that is understandable. Drizzt's new band of companions joined together against a common enemy. Now that he has been vanquished now what do they do? Drizzt comes up with a plan, but first he and Dahlia must solve the mystery of a creature ripping apart goblins and other local predators. This creature could be something from Drizzt's past. This story is better told in Dungeons & Dragons: The Legend of Drizzt - Neverwinter Tales.

Now Drizzt sets his plan in motion of trying to give his band a purpose. He thinks of Port Llast. A rival port from Luskan, which has suffered as just as much or more during the Battle with the Host tower and the Spell plague. The people living here have number under 200 and dwindling rather than the 1000 plus a few decades before. Drizzt want to stand for something again not just live battle to battle. Also to choose his battles to fight. By leading by example he thinks he can install the same beliefs into his comrades. Some are more easily convinced then others, to some it is foreign concept. Drizzt is forced to look at his relationship with Dahlia and recognise that is it for what it is. Dahlia is forced to face her past and issues. This is the good part of the book. Now from part 3 of the book onwards the book changes unfortunately not for the better.

Drizzt and his 5 companions do on a quest to save Guenhwyvar form the powerful wizard Draygo Quick. Sounds good so far, let just say it does not go so well. Enter the real hero Jarlaxle. I said in book one he was acting more like Drizzt then Drizzt himself. Now he fully steps up to the role of hero. We also learn some of his history. Next Drizzt returns to the Icewind Dales. Where he encounters a certain enchanted forest with an "auburn haired witch and Halfling companion".

Now I appreciate the character development but I do feel disappointed about the 3 confrontation that had been teased during the course of the series that never happened. Not just did they not happen but it was the way in which they were avoided that was most annoying. These did nothing to enhance the character of Drizzt except to make him look at best ordinary at worst useless. There is a literal cliff hanger ending which will be addressed in the next book The Companions: The Sundering, Book I.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Salvatore is losing his edge, 21 Mar 2013
I've been reading the saga of Drizzt for more years than I care to recall here; its been scintillating and in some cases epic reading!
But now; really since the start of the Neverwinter series things have become tragically wayward. You might even argue the rot set in during the Transitions series.
Salvatore has started to waffle! It's plain to see; and this loss of focus just loses all drive and momentum from his recent books in the Drizzt sagas.
It seems he is becoming lost in his own urge to add character after character; each one with with a more stupendously spelled name than before; and each more forgettable than the last!
Gone are the companions whose characters were built over decades of writing and whom regular readers truly felt for; to be replaced by lack lustre 2 dimensional throw away characters that last a story arc...and as such the reader never truly engages with them!
Even steadfast characters are losing the edge that made them so special to read; Drizzt and Entreri both being waffled about for pages and pages that simply act as filler at best, and at worst just destroy any hope you might have tht thins will get better!
Occasionally the old magic returns; but its getting further and further away and trudging through the endless drivel becomes more of a chore than it has any right to be.
It's a shame, truly it is....but finally it would seem that Drizzt and his leged has run out of steam!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Repeat, repeat, repeat, Salvatore has lost the will, 13 July 2014
By 
Toby le Rhone (StaffordshireUK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read every single Salvatore novel and in this one he re-uses side characters, friends, enemies and actual scenes from other earlier series of books, with only the most minor of changes. What Salvatore has done is close to going back, taking the mouse and copying and pasting from his other books, and then editing the detail. Plus the issues of the main characters are just rehashed over and over from the last couple of books. Never been so disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series of novels, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very much enjoying the Drizzt series of novels, in fact have now purchased the whole series so I can follow the total legend. R A Salvatore is an excellent story teller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read everything R A Salvatore has written about this character and loved every one of them, just really wish there was more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Sundering begins with a trip down memory lane, 11 May 2014
By 
J. James - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Threshold: Neverwinter Saga, Book IV (Dungeons & Dragons Forgotten Realms Novel: Neverwinter Saga) (Hardcover)
Reading this novel took me back over 20 years to when I read The Crystal Shard. I've been a fan of Salvatore and a certain dark elf ever since! I can't wait to see where this story will lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Wanted more from the book, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Threshold: Neverwinter Saga, Book IV (Dungeons & Dragons Forgotten Realms Novel: Neverwinter Saga) (Hardcover)
Disappointed with the end story all over the place too many loose ends not answered a, wanted more from high expectations as previous books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A huge disappointment, 15 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a big Drizzt fan i was very disappointed in this book, it was little more then alot of half baked half stories running half together, to say it was disjointed is doing it a favour, avoid and just assume the last book was the finale.

SPOILER - The potential (is it real?) death of Drizzt to a poor character who was a jilted lover was just stupid and the fact that everything seemed to feel like it had to perma protect him ruined the whole thing, Drizzt became Lois Lane in Superman.
Honestly i hope he is dead because if this is how hes going to continue hes better staying in the ground, or whereever it was they finally put him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Threshold: Neverwinter Saga, Book IV (Dungeons & Dragons Forgotten Realms Novel: Neverwinter Saga) (Hardcover)
The book showed up long before the estimated delivery date. It was in perfect condition, no damage. Only about 1/8 into the book so far. Honestly I do not think it is as good as The Dark Elf trilogy, but I'm one of those biased Drizzt fanboi types and am enjoying the story so far. Lets face it if you have got this far in the series you can't not buy and read this :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant ending to the Neverwinter Saga, 15 Mar 2014
By 
Mrs. Diane Mitchell (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read all R A Salvatore's books and this latest brings several series to their conclusion. A good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews