Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for when your players throw you a curveball, 20 Aug 2011
By 
J. Perry "Grubbyfoot" (Bristol UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deluxe Dungeon Master's Screen ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) (Hardcover)
I was previously borrowing another players copy of the original DM screen but picked this up when I saw the revised info. They've done a good job of putting in things you might want at the table too often to look up easily. Skill difficulty by level is great for winging skill checks, and there's a great table of conditions which is handy.

For example, when I dropped my players from a few hundred feet ont a rural villiage, the warlock wanted to know if teleports obeyed newtons first law. That last sentence possibly made me the nerdiest guy on the planet but PRESSING ON, I decided that when your teleporting with magic Mr Newton has definately left the building, but it would take a little extra magical shenanigans to override the laws of physics; one "Hard" DC arcana check later and the warlock had made an impressive entance believing I had prepared a skill challenge for the whole thing. Then he was kidnapped by Asmodeus but that's another story.

Anyway back to the topic at hand, I'd recommend getting this for any newish DM out there, or any expert who doesn't like to look things up if they can make them up. My friendly local gaming store (in the UK) has had problms getting hold of these from their supplier too so Amazon seems like a good place to get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost a Requirement, 6 Jun 2013
By 
James J. Rogers (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deluxe Dungeon Master's Screen ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) (Hardcover)
The updated DM screen contains corrected DC charts for skills and challenges as well as providing a concise summary of the important finicky rules which if you had to look up each time would slow the game down. The artwork is nice and the product is thick and durable. It does it's job - like it says on the tin it's a screen with some DM charts. However it is not expensive and after the core books and possibly a module/campaign setting any budding 4E dm should get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice set of cardboard and ink, 10 Mar 2011
By 
Peter Stiles (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deluxe Dungeon Master's Screen ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) (Hardcover)
This screen is just as functional as the previous version and the one in the DMKit. Four landscape pieces of card with numbers on one side and a piccy on the other. Keeps the players from seeing what I'm doing and hides a multitude of cheating from them...

Whether the charts are of any use to you or not is the selling point, I 'spose.

In ye olde-days I used to just Close My Book and then Open It Again when I needed; but these days its useful, or even necessary, to have the two-page spread of an encounter open in front of you. Sellotaping boxes together is so old-hat.

Well, it *is* useful for more than player/adventure obfuscation. I find that I use the "combat status" section often during play. This screen has a couple of extras over the original 4E screen. The other section I find I use is the "Skill DCs by Level", which is the fully expanded version from Essentials onwards, so slightly easier on the PCs than the original edition.

Not really worth it if you already have a 4e screen. Definitely worth it if you don't.

I could justify it 'cos I'm starting to DM a second group soon and reducing the movement of books etc from one venue to another is high on my priority list...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You couldn't really ask for more from a 4th edition DM screen, 22 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deluxe Dungeon Master's Screen ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) (Hardcover)
I've had this for I dunno, about a year now. Physically, it's high production quality. Visually, the art is quite striking and interesting. Functionally, it does the job of obscuring the DM's area and has tables of pretty much everything a DM would need to reference on a regular basis (such as recommended skill check DCs by level). The only drawback is that the tables are for 4th edition, which I've grown disillusioned with. There's a 5th edition version of this coming in early 2015; if you're not in a rush and you're not committed to playing 4th edition, then you might wanna consider waiting for that one. If you're intent on playing 4e, however, this is a high-quality product and does everything you could reasonably want it to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Which DM doesn't need one?, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deluxe Dungeon Master's Screen ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) (Hardcover)
Easy to read rules on the back, very awesome picture on the front. Do you need more? it's easy layout and quick check rules makes this item something every DM needs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great item very useful, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deluxe Dungeon Master's Screen ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) (Hardcover)
just what i needed to help a new doungeon master help the game flow better. great item very useful thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very useful product, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deluxe Dungeon Master's Screen ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) (Hardcover)
I purchased this for two reasons. Firstly to conceal my notes and dice roles from my players, and secondly to have all the info on the screen close at hand.Quality wise the screen seems very durable and well produced.I wont go into detail on the stats etc printed on the screen as if you are going to buy one you pretty much know whats on it, but suffice it to say the info should be up to date.Got this screen for around £6 so cheap as chips.Pretty much essential if you are or want to be a DM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sooo useful, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deluxe Dungeon Master's Screen ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) (Hardcover)
This is so useful for a new DM to use since it has a bunch of stuff about status ailments, dice rolls and the like. It doesn't however have monster stats so you're gonna have to look elsewhere if you wanted that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deluxe Dungeon Master's Screen ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) (Hardcover)
this is well worth getting for any 4th edition dungeon master, especially since it features artwork from the illustrator for pathfinder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dungeon Master Screen, 14 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deluxe Dungeon Master's Screen ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) (Hardcover)
An excellent product well worth the money. Bought as a gift for a gamer who was well pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deluxe Dungeon Master's Screen ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory)
Used & New from: £15.07
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews