Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book
All the rules of the first three Player's Handbooks, with rules updates, but without the classes, items or powers. It is as the name implies, it's a paperback handbook of all the rules. Very very useful to have. A lot smaller and more convenient than a hardbacked Player's Handbook too.

This should be treated as a supplement book, it doesn't replace the PHB or...
Published on 23 Feb 2011 by Scott Atkins

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I was expecting...
I was hoping for something that was concise and not as full of meandering and the bad layout of the original rulebooks - unfortunately it does not stray away from the standard rulebooks layouts and further complicates them. In fact I'd advise you to buy a standard rulebook over this book. Must admit to be a little dissapointed.
Published on 29 Nov 2010 by SilverSkull


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 23 Feb 2011
By 
Scott Atkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rules Compendium: An Essential Dungeons & Dragons Compendium (4th Edition D&d) (Paperback)
All the rules of the first three Player's Handbooks, with rules updates, but without the classes, items or powers. It is as the name implies, it's a paperback handbook of all the rules. Very very useful to have. A lot smaller and more convenient than a hardbacked Player's Handbook too.

This should be treated as a supplement book, it doesn't replace the PHB or Dungeon Master's Guide, it's just there to make rules checking more convenient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful and handy but not a replacement..., 7 Dec 2010
By 
Douglas Portman (Ammanford, Carmarthenshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rules Compendium: An Essential Dungeons & Dragons Compendium (4th Edition D&d) (Paperback)
I have not yet read through the whole book but have skimmed through it and used it several times in my recent games for rules quieries and have found it a great help for that, quickly finding the relevant topic and having it explained fairly clearly. It benefits from being half the size of the the main rule books making it easier to both carry with you to games and find space for it beside you at them too.

This is not however a new version of 4th Edition D&D, it is just an updated and better laid out version of the rules, in short if you have all the main books and have limited funds then you do not need this book, if however you have the funds to add it to your collection or are starting out with 4th Ed D&D then this is a great book to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good., 20 Oct 2010
By 
Peter Stiles (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rules Compendium: An Essential Dungeons & Dragons Compendium (4th Edition D&d) (Paperback)
No rambling away on this one I'm afraid.
Its a good concise collection of 'the rules' that means that the PHB1/2/3/Adventurers Vault/etc can go away during play.
Its already been useful following a "grab" argument.
If you don't have the PHBs then I'd suggest going that route first - they have much more than just Rules in them (and they have many more classes and races than the new Essentials players books) but if you are looking for a way to stop your back breaking when you carry your stuff from game to game - this rocks.
Well, I rambled a bit but I think I got over it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good collection of updated rules, but a little much fluff, 18 Feb 2011
By 
R. Fostervoll (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rules Compendium: An Essential Dungeons & Dragons Compendium (4th Edition D&d) (Paperback)
An unusually cheap DnD supplement, it is in smaller format than the other books, but keeps with 300-ish pages. It has all the basic rules in an easy - to - find format, with several indexes. Updated with all the errata and additions since launch, it is rather useful. Some space is used on fluff that it is unclear why is in the book; information on the planes and such is not rules, it is just background information that may or may not apply to the running campaign. Mostly recommended, I'll be using it a lot in the local campaign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A useful book for every D&D game., 26 Nov 2010
This review is from: Rules Compendium: An Essential Dungeons & Dragons Compendium (4th Edition D&d) (Paperback)
I originally bought this book because I wanted to have all the rules in one accessible book. This book surpassed my expectations though, it actually provides rules I have never read before in any of the previous PHs or DMGs. I had been particularly struggling to understand about the 'Handling Animal' rules from the 3.5 edition of D&D and how it worked in the 4th edition. This book shed the little bit of light on the subject I had struggled to find. I really would recommend having this even if you have all the core rule books, it has revised rules, new rules and some expansions on previous rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rules Compendium: An Essential Dungeons & Dragons Compendium (4th Edition D&d) (Paperback)
I initially bought it because I read that it had all the rules, but it turned out to be more useful than initially anticipated. If you don't have the Dnd Core rulebooks for 4'th edition this is a shortcut for all the rules that you will need. Especially the Skill section where it encourages to be more creative. I'm giving it a 5/5 because I liked the content and each time I need something I just take a quick look and I know what to do, be it as a player or as a dm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Was good, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: Rules Compendium: An Essential Dungeons & Dragons Compendium (4th Edition D&d) (Paperback)
This book is a good supplement to the usual rules of D & D but ultimately it's for the beginner who knows nothing about role playing is is trying to get their head around the whole thing. The explanations are clear and easy to understand so the book is a great starter pack also has some nice tips on making adventures and characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential companion for 4th ed, 8 Feb 2011
By 
Robert Fein (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rules Compendium: An Essential Dungeons & Dragons Compendium (4th Edition D&d) (Paperback)
Small pocketbook sized rule book that has the latest rules and errata presented in a well-organised format. and it's reasonably priced as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent play aid, 8 Oct 2012
This review is from: Rules Compendium: An Essential Dungeons & Dragons Compendium (4th Edition D&d) (Paperback)
Good aid for players and easy to access specific rules during play. Would recommend to any d&d player who needs a quick reference document
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite what I was expecting..., 29 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Rules Compendium: An Essential Dungeons & Dragons Compendium (4th Edition D&d) (Paperback)
I was hoping for something that was concise and not as full of meandering and the bad layout of the original rulebooks - unfortunately it does not stray away from the standard rulebooks layouts and further complicates them. In fact I'd advise you to buy a standard rulebook over this book. Must admit to be a little dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xabcc26f0)

This product

Rules Compendium: An Essential Dungeons & Dragons Compendium (4th Edition D&d)
Used & New from: 35.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews