Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good option for all gamers who love tiles and floor plans...
Having missed most of the earlier printings by Wizard of the Coast for the original 4th Ed floor plans this is a godsend! To many of the published adventures assume you were queing for the original floor plans for several weeks before their release and bought a dozen of each set on release! This of course has presented a problem for us more down to earth players who have...
Published on 7 Dec. 2010 by Douglas Portman

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have filled the box a bit more
As another reviewer said, these seem to be a selection of pieces from other dungeon tile sets.

I was hoping to use these for the dungeons on the Dungeon Delve: A 4th Edition D&d Supplement (D&d Adventure) (Dungeons & Dragons) book but some of the detailed pieces aren't there, although there's plenty of blank floor tiles. The pieces all have a different back...
Published on 20 Nov. 2010 by Matthew D. Hayward


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good option for all gamers who love tiles and floor plans..., 7 Dec. 2010
By 
Douglas Portman (Ammanford, Carmarthenshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Having missed most of the earlier printings by Wizard of the Coast for the original 4th Ed floor plans this is a godsend! To many of the published adventures assume you were queing for the original floor plans for several weeks before their release and bought a dozen of each set on release! This of course has presented a problem for us more down to earth players who have come to 4th Ed D&D late or been here some time with limited funds and even more limited games stores stocking D&D products.

It contains 10 heavy card stock sheets, many but not all printed on both sides. I am not sure i am a fan of this double sided printing idea, true you get more for your money but it can also mean several sets are needed for an adventure as you need to use both sides of a tile at the same time! Buy more sets? maybe, but see my comment above about limited funds and supplies. It also makes it harder to find the tile you want as you have to flip each one seperately to check both sides! Some however do work as double sided, flipping a closed door tile to reveal an open door tile obviously works.

I do like them though, good picture quality, a good selection of tiles, both in size and layout, will give you many hours of fun if designing your own dungeons is how you like it and gives your players a varied choice to play on as well. Another bonus is the box itself is a large 3D tile, the base being about 2 inches high with tiles printed around the sides to look like a wall and the lid being the same but about 1 inch high, neat idea that, although no 3D stairs included to hook them up, still good idea.

Looking forward to the rest of the series comming out, money and stock permitting. Recommend getting at least two sets though if you can afford them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have filled the box a bit more, 20 Nov. 2010
By 
Matthew D. Hayward (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As another reviewer said, these seem to be a selection of pieces from other dungeon tile sets.

I was hoping to use these for the dungeons on the Dungeon Delve: A 4th Edition D&d Supplement (D&d Adventure) (Dungeons & Dragons) book but some of the detailed pieces aren't there, although there's plenty of blank floor tiles. The pieces all have a different back image to the front for variety.

Also, half the box was air. They could have put more in the set I think.

Having said that, for a new player running a game, these are a very good starting collection of tiles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dungeon tiles - The city, 12 April 2011
These tiles are great. They're really usefull for making your own floorplans & recreating floor plans from maps in published adventures too. If you like playing D&D home campaigns albeit published or ones you've created yourself then these are a must have. Great quality too on good quality card. Durable. A great buy & in my opinion worth the cash. The tiles are also double sided giving you a variety of pictures & combinations - double the quantity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, some odd choices though, 5 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Dungeon Tiles Master Set: The Wilderness (Misc. Supplies)
I'll preface this review by saying Dungeon Tile Master Sets are a fantastic addition to any GM's toolbox. I definitely recommend (if you plan encounters before-hand) that you plan which tiles in what layout you're going to use before the game starts and setting them aside so you can just pick them up and put them down when the fight begins. I've heard some people recommend sticky-tac on black paper so you don't even need to arrange them when you need it but I haven't been this adventurous yet.
Dungeon Tiles Master Set: The Wilderness has a decent range of incredibly useful tiles. There are rocks, trees, shrubbery, wagons, burnt trees, etc. One thing that annoyed me was that there is a single "campsite" piece, so every camp ever will be exactly the same in your game. I would've preferred individual tent and campfire tiles. There are also quite a few fire/swirling water tiles that won't get much use from me.
I recommend buying 2 of this and 2 of Dungeon Tiles Master Set: The Dungeon for any GameMaster as it will give you a lot to work with. If you feel like expanding your collection (especially if you'd like to add some lakes/rivers to your wilderness), I'd definitely recommend The Witchlight Fens - Dungeon Tiles (Dungeons & Dragons: Accessory).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dungeon in a box, 18 May 2012
I missed out on all of the box sets of dungeon tiles by Wizard of the Coast. I haven't been following miniatures for quite a few years, we made do with the Citadel miniatures and Games Workshop dungeon tiles when we did resort to miniatures. And now that I have a lot of the Dungeons & Dragon miniatures I thought I would dive into the deep end of dungeon tiles and buy a box or three. Having bought one box, I soon discovered it was best to buy at least three boxes if you want any decent dungeon layouts EVEN if the tiles are 2 sided (which like the tile and column printed box itself is a fabulous and clever idea).

The box is home to ten heavy duty card sheets, they are all printed on both sides, but some are just dark - so you can either use them as pits of a bottomless kind or solid walls (I used a large sheet of upside down black leatherette to place the tiles on which provides the blackness of solid walls and the rough surface does stop the tiles moving - especially with a small ball of blu-tac). I am definately keen of this double sided printing idea as you DO get more for your money. And yes I did have to buy a few sets, but if it was one sided you would still have to buy another set of the tiles that they didn't print on the other side in the first place!

There is a good variety of tile size and detail. Some are bare and some with items.The artwork is good, the graphics are of a great quality - may be slightly greenish? They sit well with other box sets of dungeon tiles, apart from the desert tiles whch are obviously more sandy and yellow. The cardstock is heavy and quite durable, I wouldn't get them wet though, or bend them.

The value for money may be a question. But if you are prepared to make your own by the time you have designed them, printed them out, stuck them to some bare card and then varnished them you soon realise that the tiles at just over £1 to £1.50 a sheet are worth it, considering the time involved to generate something similar! Having said that why not try to make some!!!!

All in great floorplans for your D&D miniatures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dungeon Tiles Master Set: The Dungeon - almost all you need, 11 Oct. 2011
This set includes the basic building blocks for classing dungeon crawls and combined with other tile sets and accessories it really starts to shine. There is a surprising number of odd little touches that are a little too random to be fully useful like a long strip of 'corridor' that on the other side has beds in every other square. Beds separately would be useful, but a bunch of them in a large piece not so much.

I like the fact that everything is double sided and there is a fair amount of 2x1 tiles that have f.ex. doors on the flip side or rubble and the other side is free of features. This helps in building diversified dungeons and keeps the desings looking good in the process.

The tiles are Slippery On Every Surface so you might want to have a pack of Blu-Tack handy when you use them especially if people are throwing dice into the same general area where your dungeon happens to be built.

Even better results can be achieved if you get a generic battle mat or similar where you can just slap the special features and rooms out of these tiles and draw the rest - this is the most used scenario in my games.

The bottom line is that even though the box does have a lot of content for the price and the tiles are of high quality and double sided you need ohter accessories to fully benefit from any of the basic tile set boxes. Combination of these tiles with Magna-Map and Blu-Tack is a five star experience, as stand alone product 3.5-4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Useful, 19 Feb. 2011
There are a lot of tiles in this box, various shapes and designs.
You get a lot for the money, though it would have been nice to have a couple of 3D designs, it's still a really good starter.
The box does seem to have a lot of empty space when you first open it (its a big box), but once the tiles are in use and out of their card holders it actually fills up quite a lot, and you can keep a couple of maps or items from other sets along with it so ive no issues with that at all.
Well worth the money and the tiles themselves are good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty varied, but also handles the basics - whether it's better than a mat depends on your needs, 22 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Physically, this product is of good production quality and stays in impeccable condition for a long time (so long as you don't completely abuse it, but that should be obvious).

Although obviously it can't cover every type of object you might find in a dungeon, it covers most things you might want pretty well. There's a lot of panels of nothing but empty tiles, with more interesting objects to be found on the reverse. This means that when you just want a plain hallway, it can make a plain hallway, but when you want a room with interesting stuff in it like coffins or tables or barrels or whatever, that'll be in there somewhere too. TBH though, as well-made as it is, you may just want to consider purchasing a wipeable playmat instead. That'll do almost anything this can, is more versatile, and is easier to have set up and ready to go before you start a session - as a DM, it's nice to not waste time in a session setting up. Still, there are some thing tiles can do that a mat can't: for example when the party progresses to one side of a dungeon, it's relatively easy to take away the parts of the dungeon they left far behind and set up new areas in the direction the party is headed - this is as opposed to a mat, where once you reach the edge that's... kind of IT.

So make of that what you will. There are a decent variety of tiles but also enough plain ones to do what you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Briliant set for anyone who plays any d&d minatures, 5 Jan. 2011
hello. I really enjoy setting up and using this set. I would recommend this set to anyone who is thinking of starting up a collection of d&d miniatures and tiles. These sets work on all d&d edition but I personally use them for the 4th edition. Me and my friends like using these and I bring them along to every session along with my 4th Edition Core Rulebook Gift Set (Dungeons & Dragons Core Rulebooks) and a set which is a must have when buying this set (but is no longer commercially available but can be purchased via eBay e.t.c), the Harrowing Halls: Dungeon Tiles ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory) ("Dungeons & Dragons" Accessory).

the set comes with many tiles of all different sizes as well as markers. To take full advantage of this set, one must buy the harrowing halls set but as mentioned above is only available 2nd hand or new of eBay and other such sites. I would definitely recommend this product but there is one fault. The set contains various pieces but the majority are dungeon pieces and it would be impossible to create a terrain other than that of dungeon. this is hinted at as it is called "dungeon tiles" but i do believe they could have incorporated a larger varied of tiles in the set. however, I would still give this a 5 star review as it is just a brilliant set to have and is very hand.

all in all; loved it ... thanks 4 reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dungeon Tiles - the wilderness, 12 April 2011
This review is from: Dungeon Tiles Master Set: The Wilderness (Misc. Supplies)
These tiles are great. They're really usefull for making your own floorplans & recreating floor plans from maps in published adventures too. If you like playing D&D home campaigns albeit published or ones you've created yourself then these are a must have. Great quality too on good quality card. Durable. A great buy & in my opinion worth the cash. The tiles are also double sided giving you a variety of pictures & combinations - double the quantity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dungeon Tiles Master Set: The Wilderness
Dungeon Tiles Master Set: The Wilderness by Wizards RPG Team (Misc. Supplies - 10 Dec. 2010)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews