Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Little Epic
Castle Ravenloft lets up to five different heroes loose in a randomly generated dungeon to battle evil and save the world, and it pretty much garuntees an exciting adventure every time. There are 13 adventures to choose from, each dictating win and lose conditions as well as special events and monsters to keep things interesting. As your heroes set off on their adventures...
Published on 29 Nov 2010 by Mark Hawkins

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Boring game
Bought it for a present and was satisfied with the fast delivery, as usual. Thank you Amazon for that. Now the game itself is very complicated and takes so much time. I did not enjoy it, I think it takes a certain audience for it to be fun and to be able to grasp all the difficult rules. Certainly not a children game.
Published 2 months ago by Ieva Simaite


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Little Epic, 29 Nov 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons: Castle RavenLoft Board Game [With 20-Sided Die and 200 Encounter, Monster, and Treasure Cards and Tiles, Markers, Tokens and Ru (Toy)
Castle Ravenloft lets up to five different heroes loose in a randomly generated dungeon to battle evil and save the world, and it pretty much garuntees an exciting adventure every time. There are 13 adventures to choose from, each dictating win and lose conditions as well as special events and monsters to keep things interesting. As your heroes set off on their adventures they explore the dungeon's random layout, fight random monsters, pick up random treasure and fall foul of a series of random events. The set up is just complex enough to keep the game different and exciting every time, and simple enough that you can pick up the rules fairly quickly, with Sequence of Play cards keeping everyone on track.

This game is cooperative. There are five Heroes, each with different powers and abilities, but all working together to get through the dungeon alive. There's a Wizard, a Cleric, a Ranger, a Thief and a guy who looks like a dragon and can breathe fire FTW. Some characters confer bonuses on the heroes close to them, and it's good fun chatting with other players to work out how best to tackle monsters; and it's great to see your characters pull off an improbable chain of butt-kicking with some canny use of powers and treasure items.

The monsters look ridiculously good. This game comes with a ton of great looking (unpainted) plastic miniatures (just over twenty, I think), and the monsters are as vicious as they look (apart from the zombie, he's just a lost sole. Awww). One of the key features of the game is that each monster is controlled by the player who initially stumbled upon them. Their behaviour is dictated be a Monster Card - a tick list of the nefarious actions they are to fulfil in a given situation, giving the player a little leeway with regard to the monster's precise movement. This means that a)there's no need for a 'baddie player' and b) players can predict the movements of incoming monsters and try and work out how not to die.

With some random Events thrown in for good measure, and more powerful Villain monsters for certain adventures, the dungeon really comes alive, and even the missions you team fail will have plenty of near-miss moments and heroic daring-do. Though the Event cards can sometimes be a little harsh, even the anguish of failure can be pretty funny when shared by a group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Fun, 13 Nov 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons: Castle RavenLoft Board Game [With 20-Sided Die and 200 Encounter, Monster, and Treasure Cards and Tiles, Markers, Tokens and Ru (Toy)
I was originally put off by the price tag of this game and the thought of limited re playability, however I finally gave in to temptation and forked out for it.

Now when it arrived I popped the box open and was really surprised by the level of quality of the map pieces and cards, the minis are pretty much the standard for DnD however they are unpainted but still nice to look at. Then after popping out and un bagging all the pieces the box becomes a sensible storage arrangement preventing all the cards and loose pieces from going all over the place.

The rules a short and sweet, everyone should be in to the flow of the game after the first play through which for us took about 45 minutes, the adventures provided and the system of play used is fun and even entertained my older children who have never played DnD. The game comes with 13 Adventures which will play differently each time you try them, and with a little Google search I found quite a few more available.

All round quite fun and the kids are forced to do a little mental arithmetic :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adventuring fun for up to 5 players, 6 April 2011
By 
C. Jackson (Warrington, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons: Castle RavenLoft Board Game [With 20-Sided Die and 200 Encounter, Monster, and Treasure Cards and Tiles, Markers, Tokens and Ru (Toy)
Castle Ravenloft is a strategy boardgame for up to 5 players, playing co-operatively. Play on your own or with 4 other players as you delve into the dungeons below Castle Ravenloft searching for treasure, battling monsters and weaving your way through the dungeon's tricks and traps.
It's very easy to learn the rules and the game comes with lots of adventures to play through.
One of the best parts of the game is the modular board. As you explore, you lay down random tiles and this gives each game a completely unique feel as you'll never have the same game twice.

I highly recommend this game for anyone wanting to give their imagination a bit of a workout. It's challenging, but fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cooperative game, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons: Castle RavenLoft Board Game [With 20-Sided Die and 200 Encounter, Monster, and Treasure Cards and Tiles, Markers, Tokens and Ru (Toy)
I love cooperative board games and this one if perfect for that.
It great fun, you can play it alone or up to 4 players, even more if you buy later other games from this series,
Components quality really did surprise me, even thought this game is few years old, game quality is really up to par.
I have ordered few games on the same time with this one, but this one stud out the most and became my favorite, thought I didn't think so before gating the game.
My only complain is lack of monsters variety ,but then again it can be solved with adding others games components from the series and that I think would really spice things up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good board game and time to rally up friends as a group, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons: Castle RavenLoft Board Game [With 20-Sided Die and 200 Encounter, Monster, and Treasure Cards and Tiles, Markers, Tokens and Ru (Toy)
Firstly the delivery on this item was... amazingly fast and reliable. The communication regarding when it would be delivered was prefect! I like their system in emailing when it would come and mainly "where" it has been left or "what" happened to it. It's nice to know the product has been delivered or given to neighbours. Rather than post office leaving it on the floor outside and give no communication at which I have lost many items like that. Anyway... Item wise; great board game, was first D&D it was easy to get the hang of it all although it is a much simpler and a rogue type of game from what I heard it still is entertaining and have no regrets in buying it. The quest can be replayed with friends and in general it's nice to have a game that involves the whole friend group. Will recommend anyone who likes board games to try D&D out! and this one is a starter for new tasters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hours of fun, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons: Castle RavenLoft Board Game [With 20-Sided Die and 200 Encounter, Monster, and Treasure Cards and Tiles, Markers, Tokens and Ru (Toy)
bought for my 11 year old son. Allow for the first game to take a while to learn the rules of play, having not played a d&g game before, I would have like them to be easier to understand especially how to fight the monsters, but after that it is a great game to play. He has been playing with friends and also by himself. The figures are wonderfully detailed but some may be disappointed that they are not painted. For my son and many others this is a bonus as he is thoroughly enjoying painting them himself, this added aspect makes the game really good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great game, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons: Castle RavenLoft Board Game [With 20-Sided Die and 200 Encounter, Monster, and Treasure Cards and Tiles, Markers, Tokens and Ru (Toy)
My son loves this game. He said that it is perfect for beginners with great 3D figurines and well thought stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars D&D lite, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons: Castle RavenLoft Board Game [With 20-Sided Die and 200 Encounter, Monster, and Treasure Cards and Tiles, Markers, Tokens and Ru (Toy)
This is a great way to pickup and enjoy D&D again. It's a fun game and a great way to enjoy an evening with friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great game, 28 Aug 2013
By 
Hilary Andrews (Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons: Castle RavenLoft Board Game [With 20-Sided Die and 200 Encounter, Monster, and Treasure Cards and Tiles, Markers, Tokens and Ru (Toy)
I have played other D and D board games and this one is really good. It is more complex and challenging than I expected and my son (age 10) loved the variety of monsters and the great figures that come with the game. The playing pieces feel solid and good quality. I like the way each adventure is different because of the different combination of room tiles which emerge as you play. I would recommend to anyone who likes this type of game, especially if you have played other D and D board games before, although beginners may find it a little complicated to get started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dungeons & Dragons: Castle RavenLoft Board Game [With 20-Sided Die and 200 Encounter, Monster, and Treasure Cards and Tiles, Markers, Tokens and Ru (Toy)
great components and game play. Got this as I wanted a single player option for when my partner is watching her stuff on telly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad0ac294)

This product

Only search this product's reviews