Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 September 2009
Being a big fan of Dragonlance I was really looking forward to reading this book, as usual Weis and Hickman did a fantastic job of pulling me into the world of Krynn but I felt like the ending to this book was rushed and not as fleshed out as the rest!
I still really enjoyed it and recommend it to any Dragonlance and Raistlin fans :-)
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2009
I have been a fan of Dragonlance since it's release and finally the Weis/Hickman duo have released the most anticipated tale there is. And boy is it a scorcher. Raistlin Majere, Master of Past and Present, his internal and external battles with the lich Fistandantilus and the depths of his dark ambitions are all explored within this book. I find one of the most compelling aspects of the character is the tiny spark of light within him which is contantly fighting to remain alight within the dark recesses of his tormented soul. I can never read enough about the mage with the Hourglass Eyes and I cannot reccomend these books highly enough. If the tales of Raistlin are for you then I also highly recommend Soulforge and Brothers in Arms as "Must haves" this festive season.

"Shirak..."
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2009
An ideal book for Raistlin fans. This is a detailed, thrilling description of Raistlin's whereabouts after he leaves the others in the maelstrom, saving himself. Great, great book, an awesome read. Definitely recommend it to all DragonLance fans.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
For many people, myself included, the Dragon novels were a familiar part of childhood reading - our formative years taken up by reading tales of daring do against Dragons, hobgoblins and thieving Kenders!

What made the Dragonlance novels, especially the chronicles, was the great characterization - Tanis, Caramon, Flint, Sturm, Tika, Goldmoon, Riverwind, Tasselhoff, and of course Raistlin - the ambitious mage with dark ambitions, but a keen sense of right and wrong, a champion of the underdog.

They say you should never let nostalgia influence your buying decisions, and alas, they were proven right.

This is a debacle of a book, with all the air of having been phoned in by a disinterested author, who has demonstrated in the past the talent to write better.

I'm angry at myself for buying this, angry at the author for writing this, and angry that a great opportunity has been missed to flesh out the character of one of the best Dragonlance characters of the entire canon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 January 2012
The Chronicles stories are cleverly woven between existing tales to present further adventures for a few of fantasy fiction's best loved characters. Raistlin Majere, a fan favourite, gets another shot, having already had a trilogy documenting his history. This time it's straight in to the action as Raistlin attempts to create his own path of mastery against a tapestry of betrayal and revenge. Set amidst a gallery of rogues and evil-worshippers there is little opportunity for the authors to offer balance with the story and although there are factions vying for power, the novel is shrouded in dark intentions. Subsequently the pace never really escalates to the previous heights since there is little emotional engagement, remaining flat and at times the godly intervention seems rather cumbersome. Fans will lap it up since Raistlin has all the limelight and there is some impressive writing at the end to ensure the continuity with previous novels remains intact.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 November 2009
Being a massive fan of Dragonlance and I have to admit to Raistlin being my favourite Dragonlance character, I was eagerly awaiting this book and it took a while to receive it as the published date kept on being put back and then back....

I wasn't disappointed, the back story of what happended to Rasitlin following his escape from the ship in the maelstrom and subsequent journey to Neraka and accepting the black robes is just brilliant. I particularly enjoyed the personal battle of wills that takes place between Raistlin and Fistandantilus after controlling the Dragon Orb. For me it highlights what a multi-faceted Character Raistlin is and is a superb jumping off point to go back to re-read the Dragonlance Legends trilogy.

Well worth waiting for and I really love the foreward and postscript by Weis & Hickman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
Since reading my first Dragon Lance book I have been unable to stop reading them, I can't seem to get enough of all of the characters and their adventures. It makes a nice chang to be able to keep reading about the same characters in different situations. A lot of books seem to only be able to be in Trilogy form at the most. Please keep going the books are most enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2010
Let's face it, Raistlin is just about everyone's favourite character and it was great being able to read the new book about him from Weis and Hickman which I though was fantastic. I just hope there's another one soon, just cant get enough! If you loved the original series buy the Last Chronicles but especially this one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2009
I really enjoyed this book. Raistlin's hidden story of becoming a black robed mage and his rise to power is an excellent read. If you liked Soulforge then you will love this book ! One further point is that one reviewer said that this book does not exist which is not accurate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
If you like dragonlance your like this book, if you are a Raistlin fan your love this book. ties up some points from the chronicles & legends, also a good chunk of Raistlin the smug one making everyone look like amateurs!!!

Go on buy it you know you want to!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse