Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Dragonlance but could do better.....
I thoroughly enjoyed volume one of these lost chronicles (Dragons of the Dwarven Depths), so I was looking forward to reading this second volume. It covers a lost plot line from the original Dragonlance Chronicles covering the dragon orb in Icereach, and events in Tarsis with an emphasis on Kitiara Uth Matar and her relationship with her magnificent blue dragon Skie and...
Published on 15 Aug 2007 by Martin Belcher

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for hardcore fans only...
Hmmm.... this is a difficult one to review. The best Dragonlance books remain the Weis/Hickman core novels; Chronicles, Legends, Second Generation, Summer Flame, and War of Souls. They are all warm, fun, and fiendishly readable. But whereas Lost Chronicles 1: Dragons of Dwarven Depths slotted neatly into the core story between Autumn Twilight and Winter Nights (albeit...
Published on 17 Jan 2008 by J.Yasimoto


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One for hardcore fans only..., 17 Jan 2008
This review is from: Dragons of the Highlord Skies: The Lost Chronicles, Volume Two (Dragonlance Novel: The Lost Chronicles) (Mass Market Paperback)
Hmmm.... this is a difficult one to review. The best Dragonlance books remain the Weis/Hickman core novels; Chronicles, Legends, Second Generation, Summer Flame, and War of Souls. They are all warm, fun, and fiendishly readable. But whereas Lost Chronicles 1: Dragons of Dwarven Depths slotted neatly into the core story between Autumn Twilight and Winter Nights (albeit with a drop in pace), the Highlord Skies book is more of a supplementary novel (to Winter Nights). The book is almost an irrelevance. Which is a shame because it retains all that is good about the Weis/Hickman writing partnership. I feel the Lost Chronicles trilogy could have made three good novellas (see Second Generation for how well this can work). But of course that's less money for Wizards of the Coast. In summary, if you enjoyed the Soulforge/Brothers in Arms prequels and Dragons of Dwarven Depths, you will like this book. But if you found them a bit of a yawn, then this book won't be an improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't recapture the magic of the original series. . ., 28 July 2007
By 
Patrick St-Denis "editor of Pat's Fantasy Hot... (Laval, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I had higher hopes for this second volume of The Lost Chronicles trilogy than I did for its predecessor, Dragons of the Dwarven Depths. Indeed, the plotlines which would be explored in Dragons of the Highlord Skies appeared much more interesting than the search for the Hammer of Kharas.

Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman had the opportunity to expound on the storyline which will later lead Laurana to the position of the Golden General. They also had a chance to flesh out the relationship between Kitiara and Lord Soth, and show us how it all began in Dargaard Keep. Finally, the authors would also be granted the opportunity to elaborate on the Companions' trek to Icereach in search of the dragon orb.

As was the case with the War of Souls trilogy, The Lost Chronicles fail to recapture the magic of the Dragonlance Chronicles and Legends. Even though it's a delight to get reacquainted with the Companions, at times it feels as though Weis and Hickman are simply going through the motions. Insofar as I can tell, it doesn't feel as if their hearts are into this project. . .

Let's not forget that Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman's Dragonlance novels have been translated into twenty languages and have sold more than twenty million copies worldwide. And yet, much like fellow bestselling authors Raymond E. Feist, David Eddings and Terry Brooks, their latest works are clearly uninspired compared to their past collaborations. Dragons of the Highlord Skies lacks the depth and the originality that allowed them to capture the hearts and imagination of a whole generation of fantasy readers.

Sadly, Lord Soth, who could probably have kickstarted this book, only appears in about 10 pages or so. Once again, there's is an inordinate amount of "filler" in this one. As I stated in my review of Dragons of the Dwarven Depths, such portions of the narrative are unnecessary, for readers need to have read the original series to begin with.

I would compare this new Dragonlance trilogy with the Star Wars prequels. Although they'll find a way to satisfy most of the fans on one level or another just for the chance to revisit the War of the Lance, these novels are not of the same quality as the ones that came before.

Having said that, there is nonetheless an undeniable pleasure in this opportunity to follow the adventures of the Heroes of the Lance once more.

Check out my blog: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable Dragonlance but could do better....., 15 Aug 2007
By 
Martin Belcher (Hampshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thoroughly enjoyed volume one of these lost chronicles (Dragons of the Dwarven Depths), so I was looking forward to reading this second volume. It covers a lost plot line from the original Dragonlance Chronicles covering the dragon orb in Icereach, and events in Tarsis with an emphasis on Kitiara Uth Matar and her relationship with her magnificent blue dragon Skie and Lord Ariakas.

Please don't get me wrong, I throughly enjoyed this book, but it did leave me wanting a bit more and I felt some areas were rushed, especially the rescue of the dragon orb from the cavern where Highlord Theal-Fas had secured it with the protection of a supposed sentinel of incredible strength and fear. This seemed to disolve away within a short chapter and I felt could have been played a bit better.

Overall this is a good Dragonlance novel and a brilliant 'supplement' to the original Chronicles and I definitely recommend it, but I am hoping the next volume due out in 2008 (Hourglass Mage) is much better and as Raistlin is my favourite character, I can't wait to read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not spectacular, 22 Jan 2008
By 
D. Ward - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragons of the Highlord Skies: The Lost Chronicles, Volume Two (Dragonlance Novel: The Lost Chronicles) (Mass Market Paperback)
I agree with one of the earlier reviews that there should have been more Lord Soth in the book, Kitiara's "climatic battle" was a disappointment and almost seems to have been written as an afterthought - a waste of a great "hook". Additionally, some of the other characters - in particular tasslehoff - seem to have become characteratures of themselves, their traits overly exaggerated compared to the original novels (Dwarven Depths was worse here). Overall however I found the return to Krynn to be a pleasant experience, and it was nice to see parts of the story "intersect" with certain events in the original novels. Unlike some other readers I enjoyed having some of the old history repeated - it has been many years since I read the original novels, but the first two trilogies remain my favourite books of all time. I also agree that Weis and Hickman are obviously less inspired than they were in the original novels, but not drastically so. These are a huge step up on the recent "Summer Flame" novel which was absolutely appalling in my opinion. Highlord Skies is worth reading, its like a favourite warm blanket and I am looking forward to the final in the trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ill Conceived..., 9 Dec 2007
By 
madradubh (The Universe) - See all my reviews
This book slots into the end of books 1 & 2 of Dragons of a Winter Night and tells the story of the death of Feal-Thas in Icereach and how Kitiara recruits Lord Soth to the Emperor's legions. This should be a brilliant addition to the Dragonlance canon with Weis & hickman at the helm but sadly it is far from it...
The book's structure is alarmingly poor and you really do get the sense that they were writing to a deadline - they seemed to have decided that the second half of the book would resolve things very quickly. The first half is a very laboured series of recaps and Weis & Hickman trying to be clever with plot by putting minor characters into the 'same room' as the companions and letting their perspective unfold. This is most apparent in the siege of Tarsis section - the writing is very lazy and essentially recaps the assault on Tarsis from the perspective of three Solamnic knights. A particular low point is discovering that Aran, knight of the Crown who hit Tanis in the face with a tomato during the riot... poor.
Furthermore by the final 50 pages of the book it is so structurally bad that we have chapters lasting a mere 3 pages as the writers career recklessly from events in Icereach to Kitiara's journey to Dargard Keep. The whole conclusion to the book smacks of genuine laziness and a rushed deadline set. The drama promised in Icereach is disappointing to say the least.
No doubt stalwarts of the series will buy this book, I just hope you are not as a let down as I was. The real concern is the final part of this trilogy - Raistlin's gaining the Dark Robes, I hope they improve considerably with that tale. That is a story many of us have been waiting nearly two decades for...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragons of the Highlord Skies: The Lost Chronicles, Volume Two (Dragonlance Novel: The Lost Chronicles) (Mass Market Paperback)
Better than the first "Lost Chronicles" novel for me, the story is really compelling making you want to read one more page to see what happens! I just didn't give it 5 stars because I think the first Chronicles are better than anything else, so I can't give the same "grade" to this one too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More of the same, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have read no-one else read this pair of wonders....this should get you started on an adventure called literature
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highlord Skies., 3 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragons of the Highlord Skies: The Lost Chronicles, Volume Two (Dragonlance Novel: The Lost Chronicles) (Mass Market Paperback)
Certainly up to their usual standard of writing. Once picked up and started I can't wait to read it all, and then I want some more !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, 28 Mar 2012
This review is from: Dragons of the Highlord Skies: The Lost Chronicles, Volume Two (Dragonlance Novel: The Lost Chronicles) (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is well written. Read it as part of The Lost Chronicles or alone - but not without knowing anything about DragonLance Chronicles. Read it for more information about some of the main characters and what they were up to in some of the time gaps in the DragonLance Chronicles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Short story material, 9 Feb 2011
By 
SonicQuack (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dragons of the Highlord Skies: The Lost Chronicles, Volume Two (Dragonlance Novel: The Lost Chronicles) (Mass Market Paperback)
The concept of revisiting one of the most loved fantasy campaigns in fiction is certainly an appealing one. The first volume offered a credible entry in to that mythos, however Highlord Skies misses that mark. It presents a plot following Kitiara and her plans for revenge upon a member of the Heroes of the Lance. Revenge, a well used motive for plots in high fantasy is best used as a sub-plot, and although there is a weaker plot running parallel about a quest to retrieve a Dragon Orb, neither combine to offer any real substance. As a short story Weis & Hickman may have pulled this off, however as a lengthy novel is merely offers tedium. Definitely for the completist since the magic of the original series is absent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragons of the Highlord Skies: The Lost Chronicles, Volume Two (Dragonlance Novel: The Lost Chronicles)
£6.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews