Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a GAME book
As far as I am concerned, this is the epitome of 4th edition. This book contains loads of game information, and is intended to actually be used at the gaming table, where a lot of extraneous information would just be confusing and time consuming. It does not give a lot of information about ecology or sociology. What it does give is easy-to-use, quickly readable game...
Published on 18 Feb 2009 by Starfox

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Monster manual 4e
Pretty good book, decent condition and will provide hours if not weeks of interesting reading.
Prompt delivery makes it higher by my standards as we are talking the christmas rush here so all in all not bad at all and I was more or less in the pathfinder camp for much of the time since 4e was announced.
A necessary addition if you want to run the game although...
Published on 22 Dec 2008 by Hopeless


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a GAME book, 18 Feb 2009
This review is from: Monster Manual: A 4th Edition Core Rulebook (D&d Core Rulebook) (Dungeons & Dragons) (Hardcover)
As far as I am concerned, this is the epitome of 4th edition. This book contains loads of game information, and is intended to actually be used at the gaming table, where a lot of extraneous information would just be confusing and time consuming. It does not give a lot of information about ecology or sociology. What it does give is easy-to-use, quickly readable game pieces. If this is what you want, the book rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars if your thinking of buying it, do!!!, 25 Dec 2010
This review is from: Monster Manual: A 4th Edition Core Rulebook (D&d Core Rulebook) (Dungeons & Dragons) (Hardcover)
I recently bought this of ebay in the 4th Edition Core Rulebook Gift Set (Dungeons & Dragons Core Rulebooks) for 20 and I think this is a wonderful book that compliments the Dungeon Master's Guide: A 4th Edition Core Rulebook (D&d Core Rulebook) (Dungeons & Dragons) and the Player's Handbook: A 4th Edition Core Rulebook: 1 (D&d Core Rulebook) (Dungeons & Dragons).

maybe to your suprise after giving this book a 5-star rating, I wouldn't recommend it as sooner or later you will need to buy the other 2.If you already have the other 2 good for you, buy this now, but if you don't I would recomend getting the 4th Edition Core Rulebook Gift Set (Dungeons & Dragons Core Rulebooks), this is a truly remarkable set and stands out among the various versions and editions.

my personal favourite oponent is the kobold minion because it only has 1 hit point and that means you don't have to keep record.

one note i feel i must point out is that depending on the size of your group the scenarios can be murderous so you might want to relive your players of some difficulty by changing enemies or removing them.

this book is brilliant with good detail on all monsters and it's well indexed making it a brilliant buy and a deffinate 5-star product for and DM of player but I still recommend the 4th Edition Core Rulebook Gift Set (Dungeons & Dragons Core Rulebooks).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Monster manual 4e, 22 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Manual: A 4th Edition Core Rulebook (D&d Core Rulebook) (Dungeons & Dragons) (Hardcover)
Pretty good book, decent condition and will provide hours if not weeks of interesting reading.
Prompt delivery makes it higher by my standards as we are talking the christmas rush here so all in all not bad at all and I was more or less in the pathfinder camp for much of the time since 4e was announced.
A necessary addition if you want to run the game although if you want a taster take a look at the starter set but not if you to run the whole thing.
Take care and all the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good book. More for reference., 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monster Manual: A 4th Edition Core Rulebook (D&d Core Rulebook) (Dungeons & Dragons) (Hardcover)
This book wont blow you away, but it is essential if you are getting deeper into DnD after the Red Box/Basic Set. I have ran quite a few adventures and barely used it, however... you do need it... now and then.... but for the price Amazon are selling it, you cant whinge too much. If I had paid full RRP, id of been a little bit annoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars another core rule book, 30 July 2011
This review is from: Monster Manual: A 4th Edition Core Rulebook (D&d Core Rulebook) (Dungeons & Dragons) (Hardcover)
Not much to say the book arrived in good time nice and pristine and smelling like a new book should.

Nicely ilustrated and of course it is one of the three core rule books need for the game or two if you are not interested in DM'ing a game.

It has a good selection of monsters although the book is some one hundred pages shorter than the 2nd ed 'Monsterous Manual' it offers a wide selection of monsters to ease you into the game.

In many ways it works well as an introductory book old school will scream it lacks the depth of the older books but on a plus side it doesnt overwelm a new player with information overload and follows the 'streamline' version of play to quickly get players into the game, which I think is the intention of 4e.

Overall not perfect but definately an essential book for the game and those new to D&D.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Efficient, 26 Nov 2008
This review is from: Monster Manual: A 4th Edition Core Rulebook (D&d Core Rulebook) (Dungeons & Dragons) (Hardcover)
Provides all the details needed to throw hundreds of monsters against your players. This book embraces its purpose as a list of encounters, it throws out all pretence of creating a magical ecosystem and focuses on what is important. What the monster is called, weather or not it is trying to eat the party members and how it goes about doing so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent tool for the DM, 20 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Monster Manual: A 4th Edition Core Rulebook (D&d Core Rulebook) (Dungeons & Dragons) (Hardcover)
The new Monster Manual for D&D 4e, continues the effort of making life for the DM simpler. It provides the game information for a variety of monsters, focusing on their role within encounters allowing the DM to concentrate on plot and DM'ing. The big change between this and the two previous editions is the distinct lack of fluff in descriptions of the monsters. This may be disconcerting to some buyers, but personally I prefer it this way. It puts less restrictions on the DM's creativity as the DM can then place the monsters in a variety of ecological niches and within more interesting social structures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wait for 5th Edition, 4 Dec 2011
This review is from: Monster Manual: A 4th Edition Core Rulebook (D&d Core Rulebook) (Dungeons & Dragons) (Hardcover)
Seriously, I love the whole D&D thing, but the rumours in the RPG industry is that WoTC have 're-employed' Monte Cook, who helped write 3rd edition to work on the 5th Edition.

This means that if you purchase the three Core Rule Books for someone this year for Christmas they may well end up owning something that the company doesn't support. The release date is VERY hush-hush but 5th Edition is well on its way - it could be next year or the year after.

Personally, I'd get them the Paizo published Pathfinder RPG - it's well supported with loads of supplements, sourcebooks, Adventure Paths and Modules. Don't get me wrong, I started with D&D, but somewhere WoTC lost their way.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly all monster have a few pre-made variants oftean at different levels, 27 Dec 2008
By 
Steven Holliday (Chessington, Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monster Manual: A 4th Edition Core Rulebook (D&d Core Rulebook) (Dungeons & Dragons) (Hardcover)
Whist I really liked the ideas that Wizards of the Coast introduced in third edition, the system offered a staggering numer of options to the players and DMs, to the point of being overwhelming. The goal with 4E was simplify, simplify, simplify.

For instance In third edition you would create a monster in a way very similar to that used by a player to create their character: You would choose your monster, give it a class then choose its feats and spells. For example, between feats, spells and abilities, a normal adult dragon would have around 30 different options during combat. In 4th edition even the most powerful has about 7.

In 4th edition nearly all monster in the Monsters Manual have a few pre-made variants oftean at different levels, which makes it a lot easier just to pull one out of the book and put it straight into your adventure. You can still create your own variants, but you will need the Dungeon Masters Guide to do this.

In the tradition of the 1st edition AD&D Monster Manual, this book dispenses with lengthy descriptions of monsters and instead focuses on stats. Only in rare circumstances do monster get lengthy prose regarding their motivations outside of being fodder for the adventurers to beat up on. Filling in the details is left to the DM.

The new stat blocks are straightforward with special abilities in the stat block rather than hidden amongst the monster's descriptive text. One of my favorite things from the last two Monster Manuals is carried over into this book: knowledge checks to see what our heroes might know about their current foe.

The list of monsters includes the bulk of classic D&D bad guys: whist there may be the odd surprise as to which creatures got included - it's worth remembering that most editions of D&D have had multiple versions of the Monster Manual (3.5 was up to volume 5), so If your favorite bad guy didn't make the cut they'll almost certainly be in a future product.

The art is good and pretty consistant, however, roughly 10-15% (maybe more) is culled from 3.5 books. When they do redo one though, it's ususally real eyecandy. The lich, for example, or the foulspawn, or the new take on the lamia.

Unfortunately Wizards of the Coast are being affected by the credit crunch and sadly they have recently had to restructure and lay off some staff.

As an example of this they will no longer be producing the D&D Collectible Miniatures Game, instead focusing on non-random and semi-random miniatures packs aimed at those role playing 4th edition D&D. There will be two types of packs, one type aimed at players with player characters and the other type aimed at DM's with monsters. Good news for role players and bad news for miniature players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A monster aid for the DM, 23 Aug 2008
This review is from: Monster Manual: A 4th Edition Core Rulebook (D&d Core Rulebook) (Dungeons & Dragons) (Hardcover)
A very useful monster manual that has the data displayed in a concise and easy to use manner. Monsters listed from A to Z makes for finding monsters fast and easy and the statistics block lists their relevant stats from their role in combat to their actual characteristic statistics (want to know what a kobolds' dexterity and wisdom is?). What the monsters powers are and what are the effects are listed in it's stat block and what players would know upon passing a lore check is presented in bite sized chunks of information. This shifts the emphasis from giving the DM a wonderful back story that they may or not enjoy to actually helping defining and letting a player in on the fun by having a mechanic to show just what their character would know in game about the monsters. Also given is it's level and role to help DMs better understand their function in a fight and encounter group helps a DM determine what a party should face.

Also listed are the tactics that monsters would use are mentioned as well alongside a full colour illustration. At the back a glossary and a listing of monsters by level and a useful racial traits used for npc or possible pc races if the DM permits it. My dislikes for this book are the use of symbols for attack powers, they seem a bit small to see and not distinct enough for my liking. Monster descriptions some are brief but all have a full colour illustration. This stops the problem of some things being overwritten and when you look at the page the stat block which a DM needs in a game quickly is there but some entries like the Beholder seem a bit too short. It does have a wonderful full page illustration but more information on it would be nice for new referees to have. The art in this book is very relevant in describing what a monster looks like and seems to be a way of saving on text space with descriptions.
Having used this manual to run a game it is very good at providing when the relevant information is needed fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2f31cc0)

This product

Monster Manual: A 4th Edition Core Rulebook (D&d Core Rulebook) (Dungeons & Dragons)
19.22
Usually dispatched within 1 to 2 months
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews