Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Liked it, 20 May 2006
By 
M. Tsimaris (Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It seems to me that Margaret Weis has absolute control on the world of DragonLance and is able to create characters and shape the future of Krynn. I might be wrong but that's the idea I have forged by reading many DragonLance books. And maybe this (on top of other things like being a great writer) explains why Weis comes up with all these good books where other authors are forced to fill in the gaps with supplementary stories (which again I think they get Weis permission). Of course I might be totally wrong on this but anyway, to the subject.

This book was very good written, the plot progressed smoothly and despite I never liked the character of Mina (since the "War of Souls" trilogy) the book kept me interested on what would happen to her next (hope she meets her end by the 3rd book of this trilogy).

Also the idea of introducing a monk as the main character is fresh and the whole thing works perfectly with all the Godly politics going on all the time.

The Kender is another nice change because this is no ordinary Kender.

After Soth's leaving DragonLance a major chapter of Krynn had come to an end but hey...you now get to meet another death knight. Maybe not as powerful as Soth was but still a death knight is a death knight.

This book picks up where the "War of Souls" trilogy left as already some books are out describing the changes which are happening on Krynn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Margaret, you are the best!, 9 Nov 2004
This book begins where the War Of Souls ended and does not disappoint. I could not put it down and read in within 24 hours. Certain I had missed something, I am now reading it a secoond time but a bit more slowly.
This book proves once again that Margaret Weiss in the best in the business. Her characters and worlds are believable as always. Hurry up witht he second volume, it seems a long time to wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldnt put it down, 17 Feb 2006
By 
Mr. David James "davepbgrg2" (United kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I absolutely reccomend this book to all. I really enjoyed it. The best thing about any book weis or hickman write is the characters and this book delivers some fascinating new characters that are just as if not more interesting and fun to read about than the original cast. Coupled along with a stand up plot and a cliffhanger you would be mad not to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 21 Dec 2004
Margaret Weis still goes on
The new book starts from where the War of Souls ended. Queen Takhisis is dead, Chemosh makes Mina his advocate and she starts to spread his word to Krynn.
Weis' telling is excellent as it has been before and the plot was so catching that it was difficult to stop reading. But there is still something missing, although the story is excellent: Tracy Hickman. Weis is a good writer, but true Dragonlance books can only emerge from the duo Weis and Hickman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Done it again, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Disciple: Amber and Ashes v. 1 (Dragonlance Novel: Dark Disciple) (Mass Market Paperback)
Yet another book by Margaret Weis that I have had trouble putting down. I just want to keep reading until I have completely finished the whole book !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A comfortable read, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After years of performance novels, I was not disappointed here. Slipping easily back into the world, this was a perfect read for a holiday break. Very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Dragonlance, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great start to a fantastic series and the final Weis and Hickman trilogy. Weis & Hickman team in the dragonlance universe is a MUST read for all fantasy fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy start to a new trilogy, 6 Nov 2011
By 
SonicQuack (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Dark Disciple: Amber and Ashes v. 1 (Dragonlance Novel: Dark Disciple) (Mass Market Paperback)
Following on from the War of the Souls, Amber and Ashes followed Mina in to a new game of chess, where the Gods are manoeuvring mortals for their own dastardly plans. All other plot lines feature new characters which are well fleshed out and have interesting arcs, with enough nods to the previous novels to keep fans nodding in appreciation. Weis's standalone writing is fine, featuring a less levity than her previous work with Hickman, which creates a darker and tighter novel. An entertaining page-turner, Amber and Ashes is solid start to a new trilogy and is a worthy addition to this legendary series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dark Disciple: Amber and Ashes v. 1 (Dragonlance Novel: Dark Disciple)
The Dark Disciple: Amber and Ashes v. 1 (Dragonlance Novel: Dark Disciple) by Margaret Weis (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Sep 2005)
£5.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews