Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 October 2003
This book is a collection of the four books that make up the Legacy of Drow set.
Following on from his previous books, RA Salvatore focuses on the character of Drizzt Do'Urden as he attempts to build a new life away from his shadowy past.
Believing himself to be safe beyond the reach of the Drow and their vengeful Goddess Lloth he allows himself to relax with his friends in the city of the Dwarves.
But all is not as it seems and wheels are being set in motion that start a series of events destined to shake the entire world.
Anyone who has enjoyed the Dark Elf trilogy by Mr Salvatore will undoubtedly enjoy this set, though to new-comers to the series it may appear confusing as you really need the background to appreciate the twists and turns.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2007
Starless Night, book 8 chronologically in the Drizzt series, shows the main characters still suffering from the death of one of their own in the previous book. Because of this guilt, Drizzt ventures back to the underground world of Menzoberranzan, to determine the true drow threat himself. Catti-brie follows, once she finds that he has slipped out on his own.

I thoroughly enjoyed the character development of Jarlaxle, the mercenary drow, and it was great to see a small glimpse of strong Belwar again. My only problem with this series is that characters just won't stay dead once killed (or twice killed!), as Artemis Entreri shows up again. Mr. Salvatore keeps the readers guessing that Entreri and perhaps Jarlaxle

are not as evil as they seem.

As with the three initial books in the series, the drow homeland is well described, as are the political machinations that keep the drow world in check.

Not as good as the first three (which are classics), but moves the character development forward and brings Jarlaxle, a very interesting character, to the fore.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2004
Possibly the most enjoyable books I've ever read. Absolutley wonderful, set in a world of purest fantasy, yet detailed enough to be believable.
OK, so Catti-Brie gets on my nerves, archetypal heroine -stunningly beautiful and loved by all men who look at her, yet with a wild spirit, etc etc yawn.
Nonetheless, can't rate these books highly enough. It takes a long time after to shake Drizzt from your everyday thoughts, so easily does his world pull you in.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2010
This is a fantastic addition to any fantasy collection especially for fans of R A Salvatores hero Drizzt. This series continues where the last left off, with the band of friends in Mithral Hall. It is perhaps not the best starting point for a new person to read of Drizzt and Co's adventures, but for any who have read other books in the forgotten realms world then it is a must.
I would recomend reading the earlier ones first such as The Crystal Shard etc, but its nots necersarry as R A Salvtore as always has writeen a set of thrilling adventures which are easy to read and will always have you coming back for more or thinking "do i have time for one more chapter?"
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2012
I really enjoyed this book. I think it is one of best books in the Drizzt series rating closely with Homeland (Forgotten Realms: Dark Elf Trilogy) and Exile: 2 (Forgotten Realms). This novel details Drizzt's return to Menzoberranzan to end the perceived threat that the city has for his friends. The book has many twists and lots of intrigue along with the awesome battle scenes that Salvatore is known for. There was a lot of discussion in the other reviews about this book just following the same old plotlines. I think for the most part this is mostly false. Some of the things that happen in this book are the direct result of great character development. I thought the whole idea of Drizzt returning to Menzoberranzan was ludicrous probably the dumbest thing that Drizzt has ever done. However, I could understand where he was coming from; he was driven by his guilt he carried for the death of his friend Wulfgar.

What I liked best...beyond the great battle scenes was probably the development of the villains in this book. Artemis Entreri is definitely only a shadow of his former self. He is for the first time is in his life lost. He has lost his confidence and in the presence of the drow feels true fear and even pities himself, not what you expect from the wily assassin. But, beyond Entreri is the new power behind the scenes, Jarlaxle. He is truly the most cunning and intelligent villain I have ever read about. Watching Jarlaxle manipulate the other characters in the book like pawns really gives me chills. I love these characters and can't wait for more.

The only thing that I disliked about this book was the actions of Catti-brie. For a character that Salvatore always described as wise beyond her years and always able to look inside people and tell them about their biggest flaws, Catti-brie really does some dumb stuff. Yeah she had a part in the ending of the book, but she should have never made the trip. She is always yelling about people for putting themselves in danger for her and not thinking clearly then she goes off and chases after Drizzt. Someone needs to slap the stupid witch to give her a taste of reality or at least quit helping her (meaning Alustriel). Oh well just my point of view.

Anyways, if you have enjoyed the Drizzt series so far this one will not disappoint you. If you haven't read the books before this one...you can probably get by just fine, but you won't truly enjoy it. At least read The Dark Elf Trilogy: "Homeland", "Exile", "Sojourn" (Forgotten Realms) and The Legacy (Forgotten Realms) before this novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
Well, I love fantasy books and read the first of Salvatore's offering as a teen. Reading books in later life was hard work to begin with but I love the world and am a fan of Dungeons and Dragons so kept going and got back into the flow. Lots of fun.
One thing..... I hated it when Salavatore started writing little prologue at the start of each chapter. REALLY cheesy pseudo-philosophy. I just skip over those cheesy bits and read the story. Just to pretentious. The fist of his books the Crystal shard did not go ion for any of that nonsense... just fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 1999
anyone who has followed these books so far will find that this book continues in salvatores style of story telling,after so many books following the life of drizzt do'urden we expect him to start running out of steam. however this is not the case here,i found myself utterley engrossed in the book to the point of losing three days of my holiday,an exciting adrenaline filled book the action never seems to stop. i would not recommend this book to anyone who has not read any other drizzt do'urden books,as it is a very character strong plot. try homeland by the same author also available by amazon ,keep it up salvatore.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
One of the best of the series.
The book is slow to start, the last have is some of the most exciting action I have ever read.
I high recommend to fan and non-fans of Drizzt Do'urden.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
A compelling read from the very start. A mix of action, intrigue and magic. Each book seems better than the last . These books do however have to be read in sequence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2000
I thought this book was okay but was quite similar to a lot of the other books in the series, there's the usual "Oh my god a major character has died oh no here they are again" nonsense, which I'm getting somewhat bored with. But all the same, it was still a good read with lots of jumping about in the Underdark. Some of the writing was a bit turgid though. In fact the bit where it goes "He turned that way. Turned to looks down the length of Vendes Baerne's wand" (or whoever it was) always makes me want to cringe, its so melodramatic.
The worst thing about this book is the cover art. Drizzt looks neither black or young, in fact he looks vaguely liked a deformed Patrick Moore. Its getting to the stage that I'm embarrased to buy the books because the cover art is sooooo awful. But all the same, its still enjoyable up to a point.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse