Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great ending, but a bit of a fragmented story.
I don't think anyone would disagree that the previous volume in this trilogy, Dragons of a Lost Star, left more than a few dangling threads after its gut-wrenching conclusion. And I probably wasn't alone in wondering how Weis and Hickman could tie them all together in the final installment.
The book opens moments *before* the last left off, seen this time through the...
Published on 1 Aug 2002 by Daniel Woods

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny ending
I think this is a quality series in the Dragonlance canon, but not matching chronocles, legends, or The Soulforge. I found the ending to resolve a lot of issues, but quite "jarring" in its sudden presentation and use, once again of magical "deux au machina" to resolve all the plot strands. Would have rated it 4 star if not for the jarring ending, but probably you had...
Published on 29 Mar 2008 by Dmitri M. A. Hubbard


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great ending, but a bit of a fragmented story., 1 Aug 2002
By 
Daniel Woods (East Kilbride, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't think anyone would disagree that the previous volume in this trilogy, Dragons of a Lost Star, left more than a few dangling threads after its gut-wrenching conclusion. And I probably wasn't alone in wondering how Weis and Hickman could tie them all together in the final installment.
The book opens moments *before* the last left off, seen this time through the eyes of Palin in the Tower of High Sorcery, but doesn't linger there long before moving off to other territories, exploring what happens with Mirror and Skie, how the Qualinesti cope with their losses, and Mina's inexorable march on Sanction. Successes and failures carry the feeling of being influenced by the unopposed will of the One God, and the heroes of the story always seem to be fighting a losing battle against hopeless odds. Which is, of course, the stuff of heroic fantasy.
Unfortunately, the scope of the tale requires more than a trilogy. The story simply seems to lack focus, and jumps about between Palin, the Qualinesti, the Silvanesti, Mina, Silvanoshei, the Great Dragons, Sir Gerard, and so on without lingering on any one of them long enough for the reader to really _care_ about any of them. Crises of faith that could be explored in depth are solved almost immediately after having arisen, monumental battles dissolve in a single chapter, and the feelings of the characters involved seem like a distant concern. Instead of feeling their emotion at their triumphs and failures, the reader is left feeling like nothing more than an observer passively wondering how the heroes will get out of this one rather than fearing for them.
This aside, there's no escaping the grandeur of the tale being being told. Weis' and Hickmans' style remains fluid and graceful, and they've certainly lost none of their flair for bringing on the shocks. The final chapters of the book are absolutely amazing, bringing the story to a neat, complete end but leaving much to be explored later.
All in all, this is an excellent, well written piece of work, but with a breadth of material that should have covered a trilogy of its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solinari, Liunitari, Nuitari are magic!!!!, 7 Oct 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragons of a Vanished Moon: 3 (War of Souls Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
I was shocked, stunned and not to say a little bit amazed at this novel. We are all familiar with what has gone before and this book just throws alot of new ideas out. The main that any true dragonlance fan should read this book is that RAISTLIN appears in it. Enjoy and pray that Weis and Hickman will keep producing such fantastic fantasy. P.S. Flint is still at his forge!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Jun 2014
This review is from: Dragons of a Vanished Moon: 3 (War of Souls Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
very good purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining enough, 17 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. G. Battle (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragons of a Vanished Moon: 3 (War of Souls Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
Vanished Moon could almost be read standalone rather than a tumultuous end to a trilogy. New ideas blossom in to central themes with strands from the previous two entries becoming almost background story and plausibility is stretched somewhat with the time-travelling McGuffin, which removes any predictability at the cost of suspension of disbelief. Such weaknesses are absorbed by the strengths of the narrative, it's engaging characters and the epic scale of the trilogy. Entertaining from start to finish, the story of Mina and her One God is riveting stuff. It could have been great, however it is still good enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dragons of a vanished moon : 3 (war of souls trilogy), 5 Aug 2009
By 
D. Marsden "bookworm25" (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dragons of a Vanished Moon: 3 (War of Souls Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
The Dragonlance series has a good range of characters and plot twist, ensuring a good read the whole way through, this final book in the series ended on another unexpected turn. This ensures that you would be looking for more books under these authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Funny ending, 29 Mar 2008
By 
Dmitri M. A. Hubbard (Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dragons of a Vanished Moon: 3 (War of Souls Trilogy) (Mass Market Paperback)
I think this is a quality series in the Dragonlance canon, but not matching chronocles, legends, or The Soulforge. I found the ending to resolve a lot of issues, but quite "jarring" in its sudden presentation and use, once again of magical "deux au machina" to resolve all the plot strands. Would have rated it 4 star if not for the jarring ending, but probably you had better read this if you have already got this far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderous End to a historic saga, 27 Jun 2002
I've waited long and hard for this book, and was it worth the wait... yes. The intricate story of Mina and the One God could not have ended on a better note. If I had sat for months at a time I could not have wrote a better finale. Weis and hickman are not the litery genius like Tolkien, Tad Williams and Jordan but the way they can draw you into their books remains unbeaten to this day. The unkillable Kender Tasselhoff burrfoot is at his best and the tales of compasion, love and the search for something to believe in had me on the edge of my seat for hours.
So if your thinking should I buy this book I would say without a doubt YES... by the whole trilogy, they take the work they started back in the early 80's and finish it in style.
I hope they continue...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor climax to otherwise good series, 11 July 2002
I read this book in the hope that it would be as good as all of the previous books in the series. The new adventures of Taz and Gerard were entertaining and well written in the previous volumes of the series, as the interaction between the main characters was as good as we expect from Weis & Hickman.
This book is still as well written as the others for the majority, but towards the end it starts to loose the thread and the finale made me go "WHAT JUST HAPPENED???" it was so odd that I had to read the last 50 pages again just to sort what all of the main characters were doing.
Overall I was disappointed at the ending of what was otherwise a good series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragons of a Vanished Moon: 3 (War of Souls Trilogy)
Dragons of a Vanished Moon: 3 (War of Souls Trilogy) by Tracy Hickman (Mass Market Paperback - 15 May 2003)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews