Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, just not enough pages
Don't be fooled by the title - this is not just a book for fighters. It is a book for characters who get involved in combat (and in D&D that is basically everybody).
Most of the book is taken up with prestige classes. They have a martial flavour - the vast majority of them get +1 base attack per level. The prestige classes are well thought out and interesting, and I...
Published on 7 Feb 2004

versus
12 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars waste of money
if you've been playing D&D for any lenght of time then you wont find anything of interest here,a lot of the information is taken from other books and whats new is boringly familiar and just not enough.the only people who will appreciate this book are new players and die hard collectors.a huge disapointment
Published on 25 Feb 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, just not enough pages, 7 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Complete Warrior (Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 Accessory) (Dungeons & Dragons) (Hardcover)
Don't be fooled by the title - this is not just a book for fighters. It is a book for characters who get involved in combat (and in D&D that is basically everybody).
Most of the book is taken up with prestige classes. They have a martial flavour - the vast majority of them get +1 base attack per level. The prestige classes are well thought out and interesting, and I can't wait to offer them to my players (and my NPCs!) There are plenty of prestige classes to interest wizards, clerics and rogues.
There are also 3 "new" character classes - hexblade, samurai and swashbuckler (the samurai already appearing in Oriental Adventures) and numerous new feats.
There are feats enabling you to convert a use of turn undead into something else (for instance temporary hit points) and even a feat allowing you to sacrifice arcane spell slots for a bonus to melee hit and damage. There are also feats allowing variations on a monk's stunning attack or a rogue's sneak attack.
As somthing of an afterthought, there are some new exotic weapons.
My only gripe is that the book is quite expensive per page when compared to, say, the players' handbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smash, Bash and Tumble...., 6 Jan 2004
This review is from: Complete Warrior (Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 Accessory) (Dungeons & Dragons) (Hardcover)
It's another good one from Wizards', vertiably bulging with goodies for any campaign.
Focusing on the martial character classes in D&D 3.5 (though it could easily be used with 3.0), this book features plenty of brand new material, as well as a goodly lump of updated stuff gleaned from the likes of Dragon magazine and earlier books (like "Sword and the Fist").
There are entire new character classes, such as the Hexblade (nasty fighter type who wields weapons and magical curses with equal ease) and the Swashbuckler (leaping, smart-talking silky trouser wearer with some great moves), as well as a huge assortment of prestige classes, new rules (non spell-casting variant paladins and rangers for example) and (of course) a gigantic pile of feats.
It's well arranged, well written and some of the art is staggering (just check out the dude on the front cover in his heavy plate armour.....sooooo goooood).
I loved it (the four stars rating is because of the huge amount of recycled older material in it - even if it has been updated to the newer rules), and before my last game, my players were thumbing through it, giggling and making unpleasant "Ooooooh" noises (I assume this means they share my appreciation).
Not essential, but certainly of great use to DM's and to players alike.
Buy it, read it, and unleash steely hell in your campaigns....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not exactly a slashing success, 18 April 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Complete Warrior (Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 Accessory) (Dungeons & Dragons) (Hardcover)
This is quite a good book for those wanting an extra focus on their martial characters. It has plenty of Good, Bad and OK parts.

First the Good, it is laid out pretty well although the Fantasy Warfare section could probably be split into some smaller chapters but that's just a minor problem. The introduction is clear but isn't anything special.

The standard classes are actually pretty good. the Hexblade stands out by far. A great addition to the classes, it represents a character who blurs the line between a sorceror and a fighter. Starting with the fighter's BAB progression and HD he gains several hexes until finally at 4th level he gains spells which mostly strengthen his fighting ability. One of my PCs is a multiclass Druid/Hexblade hoping to become an Arcane Hierophant (Races of the Wild). The samurai and the swashbuckler are quite good but not perfect, in my opinion, it is much better to progress as a fighter than a samurai. The swashbuckler is a bit better and it is understandable why it was added but apart from a its special abilities it is a less armoured fighter. The prestige classes are extremely good and open up a lot of great possibilities (such as a Drunken Master/Tattooed Monk combo). Other notables are the cavalier, spellsinger, knight of the chalice, kensai, halfling outrider, hunter of the dead and bear warrior as well as many others found in the book. The feats are pretty good especially ones like the Flying Kick, Improved Toughness and some of the Barbarian-themed feats.

Next, the Bad. The thing that jumps to mind is the art. Although not all bad, the quality of the art came as a big surprise to me. They are most prominent in the prestige classes section. I just did not like the art for the Halfling Outrider, Dervish, Dark Hunter, Mindspy, Occult Slayer, Nature's Warrior, Master of the Unseen hand, Hulking Hurler and Warshaper. However, there are some diamonds in the rough such as the Thayan Knight, Hunter of the Dead, Order of the Bow, Eye of Gruumsh, Cavalier and Frenzied Berserker. In my opinion, the rest are ok.

Finally, the OK. The Fantasy Warfare's content is a mixture of good and bad. The start where it suggests either Historical Warfare or Modern-Inspired Warfare when introducing war into the game. This put me off it a bit as I would like to have used both if it hadn't set them poles apart without even mentioning a medium. The mercenary campaign section is pretty good although if you want to put war into your game I would suggest Heroes of Battle instead. The Sporting Combat, Magic Items, Epic Warrior and the Weapon sections are all pretty good but the Warrior Campaign section and variant rangers and paladins (found at the start of the book),although interesting, seem redundant since they describe a setting where magic doesn't exist. It seems, to me, that it takes away the variety of the game if every player is a variant of a martial character.

To conclude, I think that this is a great book to use in conjunction with other Dungeons and Dragons 3rd and 3.5 edition supplements and introduces a lot of interesting ideas to be incorporated into the game by both players and DMs. All in all, I would give this book a 4/5 rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood for the Blood god....., 6 Feb 2005
This review is from: Complete Warrior (Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 Accessory) (Dungeons & Dragons) (Hardcover)
This book contains new classes(3), prestige classes(36), new variant rules as well as new weapons, equipment, feats (Weapon,Tactical,General and Divine), and even a few spells. An invaluable aid to all DM's and players of D&D 3.5. To top it all of there is even a small section to aid a DM in designing or shaping a Martial D&D world. The main bulk of this book is the Prestige classes which all have an example character and some very special, special abilitys. Some of this work has been printed elsewhere before, but it is now 3.5 tweaked and should be a boon to any campaign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars waste of money, 25 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Complete Warrior (Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 Accessory) (Dungeons & Dragons) (Hardcover)
if you've been playing D&D for any lenght of time then you wont find anything of interest here,a lot of the information is taken from other books and whats new is boringly familiar and just not enough.the only people who will appreciate this book are new players and die hard collectors.a huge disapointment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done!!!!!!, 31 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Complete Warrior (Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 Accessory) (Dungeons & Dragons) (Hardcover)
When you think of d&d you think role playing now being a dungeon master i know what to do but this time i was amazed about how good and how well this book helped the players and me i didn't know how well these books have come along so ireally recomend this book to any one who is interested by d&d or even if your a starer at the game i'd definatly go out and get this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done!!!!!!, 31 Dec 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Complete Warrior (Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 Accessory) (Dungeons & Dragons) (Hardcover)
When you think of d&d you think role playing now being a dungeon master i know what to do but this time i was amazed about how good and how well this book helped the players and me i didn't know how well these books have come along so ireally recomend this book to any one who is interested by d&d or even if your a starer at the game i'd definatly go out and get this book. If you're sitting there and thinking that this is just another book in the series well your wrong well half wrong because it is another book in the series but you also get a lot more like all the updated infoation on all the rules and also you get the whole of the new creature information and if your charater is good with that wepeon or if it can't carry it and if it is bad against that type of creature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Complete Warrior (Dungeons and Dragons 3.5 Accessory) (Dungeons & Dragons)
Used & New from: £12.57
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews