Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weis and Hickman score once again!
This book is just as well written as the first book, and never has a sequel been written as well as the first since J.R.R. Tolkien's THE HOBBIT. Dragonlance's most popular adventurers continue in their journey, this time in search of the dragon orbs, and the long forgotten dragonlances in which to destroy the evil dragons with of course. It makes you more familiar with...
Published on 6 Sep 1999

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars weak follow-up to classic book...
In the movies, sequels - with a handful of exceptions - are never as good as the first film, and unfortunately this rings true in books with Winter Night being a pale comparison to Autumn Twilight. The story picks up 6 months after the end of the first book, and references to the events during this period only lightly touched on. In fact - and probably due to - this gap...
Published on 1 Nov 2011 by R. L. Judd


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weis and Hickman score once again!, 6 Sep 1999
By A Customer
This book is just as well written as the first book, and never has a sequel been written as well as the first since J.R.R. Tolkien's THE HOBBIT. Dragonlance's most popular adventurers continue in their journey, this time in search of the dragon orbs, and the long forgotten dragonlances in which to destroy the evil dragons with of course. It makes you more familiar with Laurana, Gilthanas, and a handful of new characters, and I do suggest a box of tissues for the conclusion of the novel you're going to need them. I highly recomend this book to lovers of fantasynovels. To the Ignorant: Nobody thinks this is better than Tolkien, it's merely something to read besides the king of all fantasy's novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't know what everyone's complaining about, 21 Jun 1999
By A Customer
I don't know why everyone seems to think this is the worst of the Chronicles Trilogy. I always thought it was the best, since I first read it over 10 years ago. It has some of the best scenes of the whole series- Tas and Fizban at Mt. Nevermind, the Whitestone Council Meeting (with Tas at his best), and a climactic and heartbreaking ending. And throughout it, Laurana really shines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another goodie, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet another very thought provoking book, very excellent series, and could be a great trilogy of films to rival LOTR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars for those who laugh at the adult readers dave j, 6 May 1999
By A Customer
this book is a shining glory to what good writing can be. the book was amazing. I will first admit that i am not an adult so i cannot vouch for them but i will say that this book allowed for an almost inhuman amount of story telling and character scope. I have enjoyed the DL series for a good amount of time and i have only good words for this book, first of all those considering to buy this book do not even think twice you will not be dissapointed and i emphasize NO MATTER WHAT YOUR AGE. thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dragon Series, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a wonderful series, a great follow on to the original.
It looks to me that this could be the end of these tales....or am I wrong...I mean death is such an easy thing for Margaret and Tracey (I hope you don't mind my use of your first names {I seem to know you so well}). And anyway there is a lonesome dwarf sitting under a tree waiting for his friend, I hope to find out if they meet again, if so I feel so sorry for the Gods who will then have to suffer these wonderful adventurers.

Thank you Margaret and Tracy

Jimmy Sipson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars as good a read as it was nearly two decades ago, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read the dragonlance novels over twenty years ago, although my tastes have changed slightly in that time, the care and dedication taken in the storytelling of this book still shines through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dragons of winter night, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Second book in the trilogy, delving deeper into the war. Fantastic follow on from the first book, exploring further the relationships between the characters, and gripping the reader with a more deeper story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars War is here, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The second part gives moves us quickly to war over Ansalon. The characters develop further and there are tears to be shed as not all of them make it to the last pages.
A fantastic fantasy read. The first book must be read before this to fully enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast & reliable!, 13 Oct 2010
This review is from: Dragons of Winter Night: 2 (Dragonlance Novel: Dragonlance Chronicles) (Mass Market Paperback)
Am very pleased - books were in good condition and delivery was very quick. Would recommend and will use again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More Dragonlance, just a bit weaker than the first book, 9 Sep 2009
This review is from: Dragons of Winter Night: 2 (Dragonlance Novel: Dragonlance Chronicles) (Mass Market Paperback)
and it suffers slightly from a slow first half.

For those who have read Autumn Twilight there is no question that it is essential reading, for anyone who hasn't it won't mean much at all.

With the main party split I consider the first half rather slow, with my least favourite characters taking the limelight. By the middle of the book it picks up as the threads of the remaining character's exploits return and there are storyline revelations that restore the momentum lost in time for the final book.

I first read this book 23 years ago and I have no reason to believe I will not be reading it again in 23 years time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dragons of Winter Night: 2 (Dragonlance Novel: Dragonlance Chronicles)
Dragons of Winter Night: 2 (Dragonlance Novel: Dragonlance Chronicles) by Tracy Hickman (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Feb 2000)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews