Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proof that a role-playing game can evolve and improve.
Well, the 3rd edition of the DMG is a turn-up for the books! Firstly the layout of the book is a big improvement ove the 2nd edition issue. The artwork is more 'gritty' than before, and certainly more entertaining; see page 9 for an example.
The authors have obviously taken opportunity to polish-up the rules, which makes buying the 3rd edition worthwhile. Rules about...
Published on 11 Oct. 2000 by M. Ansell

versus
6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother
I have to say this was a real disappointment.
Perhaps two stars is a little harsh, but after the excellent Players Handbook this came back to earth with a bump. There's nothing in here worth buying the book for and the artwork is limp. Maybe, if you've never DM'ed before and you don't already have the 2nd edition DMG (which is better) it might be worth considering if...
Published on 25 Nov. 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Proof that a role-playing game can evolve and improve., 11 Oct. 2000
By 
M. Ansell (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dungeon Master's Guide CORE RULEBOOK II (Dungeons & Dragons 3rd Edition) (Hardcover)
Well, the 3rd edition of the DMG is a turn-up for the books! Firstly the layout of the book is a big improvement ove the 2nd edition issue. The artwork is more 'gritty' than before, and certainly more entertaining; see page 9 for an example.
The authors have obviously taken opportunity to polish-up the rules, which makes buying the 3rd edition worthwhile. Rules about Player Character (PC) monsters and the new prestige classes, mean that creating and playing PC's is now more unique to each player.
The rules for creating magic items has been standardised, meaning that the variety of magic items is greater. For example, a Holy Composite Longbow anyone! Making characters spend experience points in creating powerful items should balance the game.
Overall I feel it's worth buying the 3rd edition. Having first bought the original red D&D boxed set in 1979, I am pleased that the game is evolving and improving over time. It's a pity that you just know the publishers will soon be bringing out dozens of the thin books about Elves or Dwarves...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 3 Oct. 2000
This review is from: Dungeon Master's Guide CORE RULEBOOK II (Dungeons & Dragons 3rd Edition) (Hardcover)
The book is what you would expect from a DM manual but what I like best about it is that it takes away a lot of the ambiguity out of things like Energy Drain, Darkvision, Ethrealness etc. Most gaps left open in previous editions seem to be plugged so not even the most troublesome player is able to find a way to beat the rules.
The campiagn ideas are useful as well as the adventure ideas. I noticed that the map they used was the same from the original 1st edition AD&D DM manual. This brought a smile to my face.
Prestige classes look good and I like the idea of distinguishing between adventure classes and non remarkable classes such as the warrior and the adept. Included also in this chapter is an excellent system for rolling on-the-spot NPCs.
Overall a good book. I only give it four stars because I'm mean....which is why I'm DM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I've been looking for!!, 18 Mar. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dungeon Master's Guide CORE RULEBOOK II (Dungeons & Dragons 3rd Edition) (Hardcover)
this is incredibly useful and easy to read. the systems inside are easy for first time gamer's(such as me)to under stand and allow a more complex and imaginitive view of the game than what is given in the player's manual. The priestege class's are brilliant giving more and more complexity to my characters (my shadowdancer for example) and the characters of the other playersm, this book is class!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW! Fabulous, 6 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dungeon Master's Guide CORE RULEBOOK II (Dungeons & Dragons 3rd Edition) (Hardcover)
This, whilst not being all I thought it was going to be, was brilliant. What I found was a bit dishapointing is the constant referal to look things up in the Players Handbook, but the Tables for choosings what traps or what the NPC'S chould do are just amazing and worth the book itself. Also the detailed information such as door's HP, although even in the DMG 1st ED are brilliant, also the incorparation of alot more of variety in the equipment in the Appendix, though again some descriptions are only found in the Players Handbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait...back then, 18 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Dungeon Master's Guide CORE RULEBOOK II (Dungeons & Dragons 3rd Edition) (Hardcover)
Writing a belated review, but I found the 3rd Ed Core Books (DMG, PHB and MM) to be excellent quality and a very justified upgrade from AD&D 2nd Ed. The releases and schedule since then are to be questioned of course but in terms of quality, these 3 books were very good and Amazon service great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thank you, 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dungeon Master's Guide CORE RULEBOOK II (Dungeons & Dragons 3rd Edition) (Hardcover)
thank you for the product it came on-time and in the conditioned it said i was i will recommend you to my friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - Must have! Even for the players..., 12 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dungeon Master's Guide CORE RULEBOOK II (Dungeons & Dragons 3rd Edition) (Hardcover)
The Dungeons Masters' Guide is a must have by every player in the world that is Dungeons and Dragons. You can learn so much of the game by just reading this book.
The artwork is fantastic, the help for traps, rooms and monsters is live-without-able!
All my friends have it even though I'm the Dungeon Master. They can't live without it.
To create their characters they use the D&D Players Handbook and the Dungeon Masters Guide.
I'm definately going to have the Monster Manual. No doubt. All three Manuals (Monster Manual, Dungeon Masters Guide and the D&D Players Handbook) are a must for all players and Dungeon Masters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, great update to the old game, 3 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dungeon Master's Guide CORE RULEBOOK II (Dungeons & Dragons 3rd Edition) (Hardcover)
The 3rd ed DMG is well worth getting... The only major lacks over 1st ed are: no monster stats index, and no harlot encounter table...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother, 25 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dungeon Master's Guide CORE RULEBOOK II (Dungeons & Dragons 3rd Edition) (Hardcover)
I have to say this was a real disappointment.
Perhaps two stars is a little harsh, but after the excellent Players Handbook this came back to earth with a bump. There's nothing in here worth buying the book for and the artwork is limp. Maybe, if you've never DM'ed before and you don't already have the 2nd edition DMG (which is better) it might be worth considering if you've got money to waste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful but no badly required, 9 Oct. 2001
By 
Heiki Eesmaa (Tartu, Estonia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dungeon Master's Guide CORE RULEBOOK II (Dungeons & Dragons 3rd Edition) (Hardcover)
3rd Edition Dungeon Master's Guide is a book that every DM is supposed to buy. Actually, an experienced DM can easily get by without it.
One thing that has been greatly improved over the previous edition is that it actually has chapters to teach new DMs. This is a big plus.
Otherwise, you can also find some pretty strange tables: dungeon encounters by level, dragon generation etc. I found them disturbing, but YMMV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dungeon Master's Guide CORE RULEBOOK II (Dungeons & Dragons 3rd Edition)
Used & New from: £2.54
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews