Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars FAST PACED AND FUNNY
Fast-paced and funny aptly describes the Lieutenant Jacqueline "Jack" Daniels stories so well crafted by J. A. Konrath. With this, the fifth in the series following Dirty Martini, he ups both suspense and danger.

What begins has an investigation of sniper shootings ends in the worst nightmare Daniels could imagine. Earlier, she received word that her...
Published on 18 July 2008 by Gail Cooke

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars it was ok
After reading all the Jack Daniels books, by the 3rd book I had had enough, but thought they might get better, but they did not. The Jack Daniels storyline could have stopped at book 3...disappointing.
Published 17 months ago by glittergal


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars FAST PACED AND FUNNY, 18 July 2008
By 
Gail Cooke (TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Fast-paced and funny aptly describes the Lieutenant Jacqueline "Jack" Daniels stories so well crafted by J. A. Konrath. With this, the fifth in the series following Dirty Martini, he ups both suspense and danger.

What begins has an investigation of sniper shootings ends in the worst nightmare Daniels could imagine. Earlier, she received word that her psychopathic enemy Alex Kork has committed suicide. It's a relief to have such an amoral, pitiless person gone forever. Not so.

As Jack is pondering the shootings, the work of some weirdo vigilantes who loathe sex offenders and cops, she receives a call from her mother asking her to come home. Jack knows something isn't right and she races home after telling her partner that she'll be back in a few hours.

Home isn't what it once was - she finds her mother and Latham, her fiancé, held prisoner by Kork, quite alive and deadlier than ever. As Jack is largely responsible for Kork's imprisonment, the demented diva is set on revenge in spades. Further the wacky snipers have managed to track Jack's car and they want to join the fun of offing Jack.

How she can combat the bloodthirsty Kork and the snipers is the key question.

Author Konrath has been quoted as saying he wanted to create a series with "laugh out loud humor and enough chills to make the reader lock all the doors." He certainly has!

- Gail Cooke
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fuzzy Funny, 2 Feb. 2012
By 
M. Hill "KingKong" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fuzzy Navel is the fifth book in the Jack Daniels series/books. TBH would suggest reading other 4 before hand so you can actually get a good feel for the characters. Jack(Jackeline)Daniels is a cop working with her partner Herb putting the bad men and women behind bars. Well, one escapes, a rather nasty one called Kork, (X Marine(ess) Psychopath) who seeks out Jack for vengence...Vendetta Vendetta! And before you start yawning and thinking,been seen and done, nope you have not, until you have read and digested this little gem of a book! Jack is already on a case, a group of snipers are targeting the naughty peeps in life and killing them off, but Jack gets more than she bargained for as the snipers turn their sights onto her. Add to that Jacks pschotic cat, Latham her fiance, Harry McGlade (PI) and Phin, throw in the mix a group of snipers and a rather peeved off psychotic killer and the fun begins in one house! Its fast paced, very very funny banter between the characters and a few bumps, scratches, bullets and bites that follow. This HAS to be the best Jack Daniels Novel Ive read yet! The humor and dialect kept me glued to each page, not to mention the bullet popping, chainsaw swinging lunatics! Fav part is when the psycho cat starts using Harry as a scratching post......Would recommend this!!! TY JA Konrath! Enjoyed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agreat read, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's one of the kind of books you really cannot put down it's fast paced from start to finish I will be reading more of this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast pace read, 2 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Written in 'real-time', the action is fast and (almost!) possible. I particularly enjoyed the 'black humour' written into the characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just finished reading the Jack Daniels (detective) series by J A Konrath. They are each written in a different way - timelines/gore/perspective. My favourite line in them all has to be this from Fuzzy Navel: (Herb is Jack's overweight partner)

Jack - "Does your wife know you're snacking between nutritious meals?" I ask. Herb's basset hound jowls are turned down; his serious face. "She suspects. Last night she found some powdered sugar on my tie. I spent twenty minutes trying to convince her it was heroin."

Bwahahaha

Brilliant series!!! Read a couple last month, ended up buying the lot and re-reading some so I could read them all order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as ever.., 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have enjoyed every Jack Daniels book I have read and this one was no exception. I even found myself laughing, despite the fast paced action and the high tension. Loved the cliff hanger. Which one is next?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 27 Jun. 2013
By 
E. Coleman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this. As some others have mentioned, it was rather far fetched, but frankly I didn't care. It is well written and pacy, and generally good fun. Don't read it if you insist that stories be realistic, but otherwise go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling gun fights, 27 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A thriller erring more towards chick lit, but none the less a good read which will keep you turning pages to find out who kills who and who survives
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best one yet ! A real rollercoaster., 3 Jun. 2013
By 
Mrs. Carla Smith (harrogate england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fast paced but with lots of humour. I enjoyed this book the best out of the series. Just buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Saddle up to the bar for another Jack Daniels thriller!, 16 Oct. 2010
By 
This review is from: Fuzzy Navel (Jacqueline "Jack" Daniels Mysteries) (Mass Market Paperback)
Having read Dirty Martini: A Jacqueline 'Jack' Daniels Mysteryand loving it, I decided to jump into Fuzzy Navel (Jacqueline "Jack" Daniels Mysteries)and was not disappointed. Jack, and just about everyone she loves are pinned down in her mother's home by a group of snipers that call themselves The Urban Hunting Club. If that's not enough, Jack and company must also defend themselves from the maniac Alexandra Kork who is bent on destroying Jack and everyone she cherishes. What's unique about this book is that every "chapter" is told in first person by a different character so it is important to note that when reading this book. After polishing off each book it makes you want to order another round to catch up on more of Jack's adventures.

Keep serving them up J.A. Konrath! Make mine a double!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fuzzy Navel (Jacqueline "Jack" Daniels Mysteries)
Fuzzy Navel (Jacqueline "Jack" Daniels Mysteries) by J.A. Konrath (Mass Market Paperback - 6 July 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews