Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What happens when a company combines coffee and culture.
Part corporate autobiography, part refutation of objections from Starbucks' detractors, this history of this successful coffee company details the ideas and values that helped Starbucks become what it is today. Schultz's enthusiasm for coffee (and for life) percolates throughout the book, providing a high-energy and seemingly caffeinated read.
Most interesting in the...
Published on 16 Dec 1997

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could do better
I thought this book may be a bit different to all the other stories of fast growth companies, but was left feeling a little disappointed. A lot of factual information was included about Mr Howard Schultz, who is without doubt an interesting businessman, but it reads more of a biograohy of his life than an account of Starbucks. I also think it cuts itself short without...
Published on 20 May 2003 by Adrian Coombe


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What happens when a company combines coffee and culture., 16 Dec 1997
By A Customer
Part corporate autobiography, part refutation of objections from Starbucks' detractors, this history of this successful coffee company details the ideas and values that helped Starbucks become what it is today. Schultz's enthusiasm for coffee (and for life) percolates throughout the book, providing a high-energy and seemingly caffeinated read.
Most interesting in the book is the sociological analysis of why Starbucks has become so huge. The author suggests that Americans are starving for a "third place" apart from work and home where we can sit, converse, and build relationships. This yearning for community has been met in some small way by local coffeehouses and coffee bars across the country.
Also fascinating are specific episodes such as the creation of Frappucino and the company's forays into markets such as coffee ice cream. In this the company demonstrates its remarkable ability to innovate and adapt its product without losing sight of its core business.
In some parts, the author seems a little defensive, which is not surprising considering the attacks Starbucks has had to fend off in recent years. Schultz does an admirable job of providing the Starbucks side of the story, though many readers may suspect that this is little more than corporate P.R. spin control.
Schultz's unbridled optimism may leave some readers feeling like the rags-to-riches story is yet another pipe dream available only to those rare entrepreneurs blessed with the inspiration, motivation and connections needed to make it in corporate America. What about the average Joe? The Starbucks success story is indeed remarkable, but whether or not Starbucks is the business paradigm for the next millennium is yet to be determined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read, 6 Aug 2004
By 
Steven Reilly (London, UK United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pour Your Heart into it: How Starbucks Built a Company One Cup at a Time (Paperback)
What a surprisingly inspiring and great story. Not being a huge fan of Starbucks, I bought this book with a number of others, just after starting my own small company. After reading a few pages I was drawn into the obvious passion this man has for his brand and the ethics he applies to his business, not to mention the determination to succeed. After I finished reading, I immediately bought a copy for my father who agreed that this is not just a great story but a great read too. I recommend this book to anyone who would like to hear of a commitment and passion I think will inspire others to apply some of Howard's lessons to their own business. Needles to say I'm drinking Starbucks every day...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tremendous - This can be any entrepreneur's life story!, 6 Feb 1998
By A Customer
This book gets to the heart of what can make any well thought out business venture successful. "Pour Your Heart into It." In other words, find your passion, and give it your all.
As a startup entrepreneur, I was truely inspired to learn how a successful business can be built by more than just shrewd negotiation, financial genius and luck. Starbuck's is built around the vision, values and passion of its founders and of Howard Schultz, who shared their goals.
Schultz admits that this book is not a business school textbook. It is, however, a good insight into the personal aspects of building the Starbucks experience. Many companies talk a lot about values and the human side of their business, but are merely talking. Always skeptical, I've spent quite a bit of time talking with local Starbucks employees. Their message is consistent: Howard Schultz does "Walk-the-talk."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing knowledgeable story!!!, 18 Jan 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I still found this book extremely interesting to read. It helped me to understand so much more about how to build a business from a 'vision'. It is not just the normal 'sort of telling you the right way to do business' type of educational book, it is more like a story telling book, written by a very successful Starbucks CEO, telling you how he managed to turn his dream into reality and all the possible risks he faced. This is a very intriguing book to read indeed. It helped me to differentiate a true business dream from just a passing phase type of dream. As long as you are truely passionate about something, you will be able to find a way and to achieve your dream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars most interesting, 17 April 2005
This review is from: Pour Your Heart into it: How Starbucks Built a Company One Cup at a Time (Paperback)
An inspirational read, describing how Schultz pursues his dreams whilst adhering to the values on which the company was founded. The reader learns of his reactions to problems and how he has benefited from these situations. Schultz' ambitious nature and his sensible approach to staff management have helped to create the success that is Starbucks.
I enjoyed reading the book, as a coffee lover (some may argue addict) with a fondness for Starbucks coffee, and from the point of view of learning about Schultz' management strategies.
Motivational and uplifting as this book may be, I felt at times that it was analogous to the celebrated Frappuccino - refreshing and sweet, but sickening in large quantities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enlightening, easy read about an evolving business, 7 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Pour Your Heart into it: How Starbucks Built a Company One Cup at a Time (Paperback)
I am not an entrepeneur, but I am a coffee lover. This book reveals the nuts and bolts of Starbucks' evolution into the huge success that it is today. Howard Schultz describes how an innovative company such as Starbucks caught his interest, resulting in his decision to move across the U.S. to become a part of the Starbucks team. The story about his development as a business man is only matched by the interesting details of the company's people and policies(Which were ahead of their time.) Pour Your Heart Into It was an easy read of an inspiring story about business and the world of coffee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational..., 29 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Pour Your Heart into it: How Starbucks Built a Company One Cup at a Time (Paperback)
If you want marketing tips then this isn't a that relevant but buy it anyway. If you are running a business or are an aspiring entrepreneur then this is a must read. I was captivated with every page, i coulcn't put it down. Genuinely inspiring and motivating. My career has come on in leaps and bounds and i have to attribute a lot of my success to Howard Schultz. Another entertaining read is the book written by Ben & Jerry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich, flavoured, enticing - all you want in a coffee, 9 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pour Your Heart into it: How Starbucks Built a Company One Cup at a Time (Paperback)
As a student studying international business and surving on coffee, this book appealed to me in so many different ways. The truthful and honest way that Shultz delves into his successes and failures kept me riveted until the last page. It has given me hope and encouragement for the future and has taught me to believe in my dreams. This book is an inspiration to entrepreneurs everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In theory great but not the reality in UK stores, 30 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pour Your Heart into it: How Starbucks Built a Company One Cup at a Time (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book of Mr Schultz's Success. The reading was enjoyable and story like and kept me interested from start to finish; unusual for a business book. It impressed me enough to go and visit several starbucks stores in the uk and from those field research trips it is obvious to me that Starbucks is struggling to invest its culture into the UK. Perhaps another chapter is needed to say how starbucks will meet the challenge of intergating the brand into non-american countries. Having said that, it is obvious from the book and my visits to the stores, that there is much passion and where there is passion there will undoubtedly be success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars How much does this get quoted?, 27 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Pour Your Heart into it: How Starbucks Built a Company One Cup at a Time (Paperback)
A great book. Not exactly exciting, but inspirational nonetheless. As a partner with the company this book comes up time and time again. Howard Schultz charts what are still very, very real methods and values used throught the company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pour Your Heart into it: How Starbucks Built a Company One Cup at a Time
£11.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews