Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book from Mr Kabat-Zinn
This book focuses less on practical issues on how to meditate, and puts more emphasise on the reasons why people should meditate, what changes meditation can bring into anyone's life, and how it can transform the world. I think anyone who liked 'Wherever You Go, There You are', or the 'Full Catastrophe Living' will probably like this book, too. On the other hand, I would...
Published on 13 Dec 2011 by Tom

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Four books trying to be one...
I'm going to be harsher in this review than I should be, since I think the message of the book is essential. I have read Kabat-Zinn's other books, and have the same ambivalent feeling about his first, Full Catastrophe Living, though his second, Wherevery You Go There You Are is much more to the point.

The problem is this: there are four books in here,...
Published 11 months ago by Kirk McElhearn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Four books trying to be one..., 2 Sep 2013
By 
Kirk McElhearn (Near Stratford-upon-Avon) - See all my reviews
I'm going to be harsher in this review than I should be, since I think the message of the book is essential. I have read Kabat-Zinn's other books, and have the same ambivalent feeling about his first, Full Catastrophe Living, though his second, Wherevery You Go There You Are is much more to the point.

The problem is this: there are four books in here, struggling to break out of a single binding and become individual. Unfortunately, while Kabat-Zinn has great ideas, he is not the best writer, and he rambles. Oh, does he ramble... This 600-page book would have made a great 200 page book, with a great deal of editorial guidance to give it direction. As it stands, it is a mish-mash of unrelated essays about three different subjects: meditation; stress reduction and neuroscience; living in the present; and finally some ramblings about politics.

The meditation parts are well-written, concise instructions on how to meditate, why we want to do so, what sort of techniques to use, etc. The stress reduction and neuroscience parts should be a separate book, where the author could exercise his penchant for wordy sentences and references to studies and tests (and citing his stress reduction clinic over and over). As for the rest, the "living in the present" part, there is a great deal of waste. He says the same things over and over - not necessarily a bad thing, since it gives you different ways of reading similar ideas - but after a while his wordiness gets to you. He can't say something simply; he has to use too many words to say something that could be more poetic. Example: "Our bodies, quantized condensations of vital protoplasm, the most complex and differentiated conglomerations of matter and energy we know of in the universe, arise and pass away." That second clause could be nuked, leaving a more pithy: "Our bodies arise and pass away." Or, with a few modifiers, "Our bodies, complex and uncomprehended, arise and pass away."

In a way, this book seems to be a "toss it all at the wall and see what sticks" collection. There is some internal organization, but not enough. There is no macro-editing (that is, selecting what is really worth saying, and getting rid of the rest). While it is full of good ideas, you need to wade through a lot of chaff to find the wheat. And that is a shame, because Kabat-Zinn is one of the most perceptive authors of books on meditation in a non-religious context.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book from Mr Kabat-Zinn, 13 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book focuses less on practical issues on how to meditate, and puts more emphasise on the reasons why people should meditate, what changes meditation can bring into anyone's life, and how it can transform the world. I think anyone who liked 'Wherever You Go, There You are', or the 'Full Catastrophe Living' will probably like this book, too. On the other hand, I would not recommend it for a quick introduction or for people who are completely new to meditation. The reason is that while it is excellent for practising meditators, its length and language may discourage people who have never heard about meditation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hopeful handbook for healing through meditation, 22 Oct 2007
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Coming to Our Senses: Healing Ourselves and the World Through Mindfulness (Hardcover)
At 600-plus pages, this deeply philosophical book may challenge some readers. But Dr. Jon Kabat-Zinn, an accomplished scientist, thinker and author, imparts his wisdom in short, easily digestible chapters. He says you can have a more peaceful, contented life if you are open to exploring the spiritual realm and the practice of mindful meditation. Kabat-Zinn, who cites studies and personal experiences, presents convincing evidence that meditation reduces everyday stress, and can help treat depression and fear, chronic pain, cancer and other serious illnesses. We believe that everyone can benefit from reading this mindful treatise - even those who are already healthy, wealthy and wise. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overload, 28 Dec 2008
There is a wealth of information contained in this book. Mercifully its divided into eight sections and each section is sub-divided into very readable chapters.

Anyone looking for a comprehensive guide to meditation or mindfulness practice could do a lot worse than read this book. However I found it quite tiresome in parts and the temptation to just plod along was ever present.This being the antithesis of mindfulness then maybe the point of the book is lost. I firmly believe that the material contained in this book is quite good but Jon Kabat Zinn lets it down with his long windedness and unnecessary self indulgence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All of Kabat-Zinn's books are inspirational but this is by far and away my favourite. Every page imparts wisdom that you want to savour over and over. This is one of the wisest books about mindfulness that I've read. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent stuff, 3 Dec 2011
K-Z is a delightful, rational man; Mindfulness Meditation has improved my life for the better like nothing else over the last 6 years. Read his other stuff too and Tolle's 'The Power of Now'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too wordy, 22 Jun 2014
There is some great stuff in this book but, unfortunately, you have to plough through so much drawn out, wordy stuff to get to it that, although I have loved his previous books, I had to give up on this one.
Tricia Button
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mindfulness review, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book arrived in perfect condition. It is well written and very engaging. The topic of mindfulness is covered from many different angles and is very thought provoking. As a student to mindfulness I am finding this publication a seriously useful addition to my reading and knowledge base.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A rather epic book, both gentle and confrontational. No one writes about modern mindfulness practice quite like Jon Kabat-Zinn and this is his best work in my humble opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mindfulness from a great teacher, 16 July 2014
Wonderful words from an inspirational teacher. A deep exploration of mindfulness and its relevance to everyday living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coming to Our Senses: Healing Ourselves and the World Through Mindfulness
Used & New from: 3.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews