Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geniuses and Demons
This is the fifth installment of the Artemis Fowl series, with reportedly just one more to go. Most of the surviving characters are back, including of course Artemis, the teenaged criminal genius and Butler his bodyguard, as well as Holly, the former female LEPrecon official, Foley the Centaur and Mulch the amazing digging dwarf, but this time there are also new and...
Published on 28 Sep 2006 by Amanda Richards

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its Artemis, but not as we know him
Having simply adored the previous Fowl books, my anticipation was at Fairy-pitch for the latest addition to this fantastic series.

Colfer has great ability as a story-teller; he can beautifully craft a narrative in a succinct, concise and hilarious style - what he does in a few pages takes most other fantasy authors chapters apon chapters.

But the...
Published on 18 Dec 2006 by O. C. Bryant


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Geniuses and Demons, 28 Sep 2006
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is the fifth installment of the Artemis Fowl series, with reportedly just one more to go. Most of the surviving characters are back, including of course Artemis, the teenaged criminal genius and Butler his bodyguard, as well as Holly, the former female LEPrecon official, Foley the Centaur and Mulch the amazing digging dwarf, but this time there are also new and exciting characters. There's Minerva Paradizo, a twelve year old French child genius who can give Artemis' brain cells a challenge, Doodah Day, a thief who's the Michael Schumacher of the Pixie world, Imp No. 1 the non-warping demon, and the megalomaniac Leon Abbot, but that's not all folks.

Way back when humans and fairies were fighting over the island of Ireland, the eighth fairy family, the Demons, refused to go live underground with the others, instead choosing to take their island home of Hybras into another time dimension until they were ready once again to attack the humans. Unfortunately, something went wrong with the transfer, and the whole island, demons and all ended up in Limbo. However, even time spells don't last forever, and as it unravels, demons begin appearing in the present, and even Foley can't work out exactly where the next one will pop up.

As you may have guessed, Artemis has already figured it out, and starts staking out the sites where demons are due to appear, but is thrown for a loop when he realizes that someone else has done the math, and that the demon he's been stalking has been demon-napped under his very nose. To make it worse, his new rival is a girl, albeit a very pretty one.

Book five has all the elements for an exciting read, including time travel, volcanoes, mercenaries, magical creatures (including a Yoda-like Warlock), and weapons - lots of weapons. There's also the code that runs along the bottom of each page, and I can tell you that it has to do with scrolls, demons and the slapping of rude body parts, but the rest is up to you to find out.

Another great addition to the Artemis Fowl series from Eoin Colfer, certified genius.

Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best one yet!, 2 Sep 2006
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Averaging one a year, Eion Colfer's Artemis Fowl series is no rush-job, I am increasingly enjoying and looking forward to every entry more than the Harry Potter series. Colfer's magical world just seems more accessible and imaginative. And he is constantly changing the type of story rather than just another labored part of a single massive arc.

Slightly longer this time around, the book has Artemis tracking demon activity on the time-displaced island of Hybras. The time spell which keeps Hybras stuck in oblivion is beginning to unravel and Artemis is busy investigating how to fix it when a 12-year-old French female rival (and love interest) kidnaps an insecure, classically educated demon, just as he manifests on Earth, right under Artemis' nose. Not knowing what trouble she has started, Artemis must break into her chatau, travel to Taiwan and match wits with her psychotic security in the Taipei 101 Tower to get the demon back before travelling to Hybras to fix the time spell with Captain Holly in tow.

I especially like the relationship between Artemis and Holly. Once enemies but now close friends. And the ending, not only including an imaginative and pretty damn cool twist, in which they become a part of each other forever (not giving anything away) was a nice touch.

As usual it's packed with ultra-technology that always seems realistic now matter how far-fetched, the typical amount of globe-trotting and the right amount of humor.

Artemis Fowl is definitely the best fantasy boy-hero. Harry Who?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can Artemis save the world again, 30 July 2006
By 
Simon Kebble "atuinsrk" (Filtwick, Bedford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw this book splashed all over a table in a local bookstore and had to buy it - I didn't bother looking at the sleeve notes as any Artemis Fowl story is loaded with action from humans and fairies alike. Another rollercoaster ride for the Irish genius - dealing with another child prodigy, a new race of the people and battling with puberty. Has Artie met his match? Eoin Colfer does it again - and as an adult who finds it difficult to understand grown up books it gives me a chance to be whisked away into a new reality, like "the Discworld" or "the Edge". The plot twists and turns as Artemis thinks on his feet to avoid another disaster - with the aid of Butler, Holly and Mulch along with some new characters.

Keep up the good work Eoin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 23 Oct 2006
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Artemis Fowl is back (finally)! I was terrified that my favorite Irish billionaire genius teenager was gone for good because author Eoin Colfer has been publishing a variety of books in the last couple of years that had nothing to do with good old Artemis. But, fortunately, the boy genius hasn't been forgotten. He's back and more brilliant than ever in this fifth installment of the high-tech fantasy series.

As THE LOST COLONY opens, Artemis is fourteen years old and experiencing the uncomfortable pangs of puberty. While that alone is enough to keep most teens busy for a few years, Artemis has to contend with his surging hormones while trying to save an entire fairy race as it teeters on the brink of extinction. But it's that kind of multitasking that has made Artemis Fowl an international sensation.

THE LOST COLONY has all the elements that Fowl fans have come to expect, including a dizzying array of fairy-issue gadgets, danger whizzing past our heroes from a variety of sources, ingenious plans, and a bodyguard who is as loyal as he is lethal. This book also includes a few new characters who were, for the most part, likeable and fun. The one notable exception is a twelve-year-old French girl who could give Artemis a run for his money in the genius category. She is pretty, rich, and highly annoying. I often found myself wishing that one of the other characters would "accidentally" dunk her in a sewer, or shave her head, or something equally unpleasant. Is it wrong for me to have feelings of aggression toward a fictional character? No, I don't think so. And you'll understand what I mean once you read the book.

Fans of the ARTEMIS FOWL series will not be disappointed in this newest adventure. There were a few problems with the story, including some hard-to-follow descriptions of how Artemis and company escape their latest predicament, and an irritating French girl (see above).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but a couple of over-easy plot twists!, 8 Aug 2006
I really enjoyed this book - I always do the Artemis Fowl series - but I was a bit disappointed with a couple of things. Artemis starts off being up against another child genius and it looks like things are building to a real show down, but he wins far too easily and quickly! I think there was a missed opportunity there. The idea of a demon world, isolated in time and space from the rest of the universe was pretty good. I hope it gets explored in later books. The idea of a violence-driven male society that despises refinement and represses the females could be pretty relevant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Artemis has come a long way..., 13 Aug 2007
I loved it, just as I loved the other three books in this series. It's fun for children and adults: great story, funny and with "lessons" for the kids...

Artemis had come a long way from the money-obsessed teen kid with questionable morals we met in the first book: he's getting a bit of sunshine, making friends, alsosome enemies, but hey, nobody's perfect :-)

Next to Holly and Artemis we have a new main character, Number One, who I found really great: his comments were very funny at times, the characters is well develloped and will speak to kids who don't fit in well with the "in croud" or, maybe if they are part of the in-croud, make them understand kids who aren't...

Can't wait for a the next book to come out ! With the ending this book has, the next one should be fun !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in the series!, 25 July 2007
Having enjoyed all the 'Artemis Fowl' books for their originality and humour, I was delighted to see yet another offering 'The Lost Colony' available on Amazon. It did not disappoint!
In fact, in my opinion, this was the best yet.
Great for kids & adults alike - even my eldest son (who hates reading anything other than Harry Potter) has enjoyed Artemis & the 'techno fairies' incredible antics.
More please!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit too much backtracking..., 5 Aug 2006
I really enjoyed the previous Artemis Fowl novels, liking the creativity and the interesting portrayal of characters. This book seemed to be a bit weaker as there is a lot of going over previous ground covered in the earlier books. Artemis still speaks in his typically arrogant and self assured manner but the whole "puberty" gag gets a bit tiresome.

However the demon race is very interesting but just seemed so far removed from Holly's world and Artemis's, making them seem far too secondary. in addition, I miss Julius Root!

The story is still very enjoyable and the creativity is still there in abundance, maybe it'll take a few more reads to settle next to the other books in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fowl back and form, 8 Aug 2006
By 
L. Hogan (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Eoin Colfer does it again. Great fun, great locations and great gadgets. The perfect book for any fan of young adult fiction (aged 9 or 90!), its an irreverent take on many facets of Irish culture from our image of the green "oirish" to the Celtic Tiger and more. Artemis is almost becoming a nice likable young man in this book, Butler develops a sense of humour and you are left with a big smile on your face. What more could you need? The movie version perhaps?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its Artemis, but not as we know him, 18 Dec 2006
By 
O. C. Bryant - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having simply adored the previous Fowl books, my anticipation was at Fairy-pitch for the latest addition to this fantastic series.

Colfer has great ability as a story-teller; he can beautifully craft a narrative in a succinct, concise and hilarious style - what he does in a few pages takes most other fantasy authors chapters apon chapters.

But the Lost Colony seemed very padded for a Artemis Fowl book.

Firstly, there was alot of character building, especially within the Imp/Demon world of Hybras. Normally Colfer's characters (old or new) have a vibrancy and charisma, but I was left cold by the pre-pubescent No.1 and his bullying tribe.

Secondly, Colfer never really got to grips with Artemis' supposed nemisis, Minerva Paradizo and her place in the story. I was looking forward to someone who could give Fowl a run for his money, but this never really materialised. Although there were fleeting moments of this, I felt Colfer missed an opportunity to beguile Artemis for a change.

The passages with Diggums & Short were brilliantly crafted, and the introduction of Doohdah Day was Colfer at his finest - the small pixie driving a nuclear suped-up child's car around a French Chateau was worth the admission fee alone.

Perhaps the development of Artemis, the fact his criminal past is seemingly behind him has taken some of the bite out the story. And I'm worried that Artemis' new-found magical abilities will make writing another Fowl book even more difficult.

But I have faith in Colfer's undeniable genius. The background to the Battle of Talite was superb and I am desperate to know how on earth the Mud-Men forced the Fairy's underground. There is plainly much more to come from this series.

When you have so much to live up to, it must be extremely difficult to re-produce brilliant sequel after brilliant sequel - but that is what I have come to expect from Eoin Colfer and his case-study genius, Artemis Fowl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Colony (Artemis Fowl)
The Lost Colony (Artemis Fowl) by Eoin Colfer (Hardcover - Oct 2006)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews