Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining anecdotes from a movie stars life
Peter Falk turns out to have a talent for writing in much the same way he talks.. in wry commentary, with no small amount of wit.
He sets out his stall early on - he has no intention of telling you his life story, but instead wants to write a book that you can pick up for 10 minutes before bed, or in the bath, and enjoy a few entertaining stories. Nonetheless, in...
Published on 13 May 2008 by Mr. Stephen Kennedy

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just Not Long Enough!
I'm not sure if I enjoyed this or not...as I think I blinked and missed it!

I love Columbo, he's one of my all-time favourite tv characters. So I was eager to read Peter Falk's autobiography. Unlike other examples of this genre, Falk doesn't go into mind numbing detail about his early life. Instead he opts to chat with the reader in a friendly, colloquial...
Published on 14 Jun 2009 by Femmielala


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining anecdotes from a movie stars life, 13 May 2008
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just One More Thing (Paperback)
Peter Falk turns out to have a talent for writing in much the same way he talks.. in wry commentary, with no small amount of wit.
He sets out his stall early on - he has no intention of telling you his life story, but instead wants to write a book that you can pick up for 10 minutes before bed, or in the bath, and enjoy a few entertaining stories. Nonetheless, in doing so (and in no particular order), we do learn much about his life, just little about what he thinks about the important events in his life - only some of what he enjoyed or found funny in it.
The end result leaves you much with the feeling of having sat down and had a chat with the man over a beer, swapping stories of people and places. Subjects covered range from his admiration and friendship with John Cassavetes, his role of Columbo (of course) and some of his leading ladies, to his wife, his early travels and quite a few of his favourite ad libs from other stars. Basically it feels like it is whatever came into his head on the day he sat down at the typewriter.
As such, this is a quiet success.. he uses much space on the page with different fonts and sizes of font to break up the text and make his point, so that there actually is very little reading in the book. There are plenty of photos and drawings (we find out he has a passion for sketching and drawing).
Entertaining as a light frothy read, although if you want more on his inner thoughts and life story, or an exposé of Hollywood, best look elsewhere. As a work of literature this may not rate highly, but for its intended audience (the folk who want that 10 minute read in the bath or before bed) it fits the bill nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just Not Long Enough!, 14 Jun 2009
This review is from: Just One More Thing (Paperback)
I'm not sure if I enjoyed this or not...as I think I blinked and missed it!

I love Columbo, he's one of my all-time favourite tv characters. So I was eager to read Peter Falk's autobiography. Unlike other examples of this genre, Falk doesn't go into mind numbing detail about his early life. Instead he opts to chat with the reader in a friendly, colloquial style and tell short snappy annecdotes about a career that has spanned over 50 years. You could almost imagine that you're sat with him, in a diner, enjoying a bowl of chilli and listening to his stories. Some of them are very amusing, some are a little odd, and some fall a little flat (or maybe I just didn't get them?). On the whole this was an enjoyable book, just too short. I wanted to hear more and I wanted a little more detail. All in all though, a must for any Columbo/Falk fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Falk's For the Memories, 23 Oct 2010
By 
Neutral "Phil" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Just One More Thing (Paperback)
In 2008, following a series of dental operations, Peter Falk was diagnosed with Alzheimers disease, an horrendous condition which takes away the individual personality while leaving the body intact. It can last for years until the body closes itself down. Although he is physically fit, the 83 year old former actor can no longer remember Columbo, the television series from which the title of the book is taken. He has round the clock care from his second wife and supervised visits from his adopted daughters (which were only permitted after a court case). This brilliant autobiography, written in 2006, is a permanent reminder of the talent he had and a record of how an actor with a glass eye captured the imagination of television audiences. Unlike the average self-serving stories of Hollywood stars Falk's tale is episodic, under-stated, amusing and an absolute joy to read. Whereas stars are usually awarded at the end of a review, on this occasion Falk's five star status is in the first paragraph.

Falk became an actor in 1955 at the age of 28. He had previously spent a year in the merchant navy working his way down from third cook to mess boy, was turned down by the CIA and was a civil servant specialising in efficiency. For four years he worked in the off-Broadway theatre, earning $10 a week rehearsal and $30 a week when the show opened, which didn't leave much to dine at the Waldorf. He got a small part in the film Murder Inc in 1960 and was nominated for an Oscar. He was rising from his seat when he heard the winner in his category was "Peter.." but sat down when "Ustinov" was announced. He immeidately fired the agent who had managed to get him nominated in the first place. Falk's late entrance into the acting profession was based a lack of belief that he had "the required combination of talent and personal magnetism" to be one. It was only when he realised the required combination was a myth created by his imagination that he made the effort.

Eventually he made it on to Broadway in Eugene O'Neill's The Iceman Cometh. It cut no ice with Harry Cohan who turn Falk down for a TV part because of his "disability". Having lost his eye because of cancer at the age of three Falk never gave it a thought, Cohan did. Falk returned to off-Broadway. When Falk told his father he was going to be an actor the response "You mean you're going to paint your face and make an ass of yourself for the rest of your life?" shook Peter's hand and wished him good luck. Several years later Falk told his father he had a part in a movie earning $500 a week. Falk senior couldn't believe it when his actor son mentioned that during the first week he played golf every day because he wasn't needed on the set but still received $500. The film (Wind Across the Everglades) was directed by Nicholas Ray (best known for Rebel Without a Cause) who was fired before it was completed.

Falk often departed from the script, as in Murder Inc., which launched his movie career. In Anzio he rewrote his own part. In the early days of Columbo he was barred from the movie lot for allegedly interfering with the producers' work. There's hosts of funny stories some of which would be suitable for an episode of "Movie Blunders". He was offered a small part in the film The Godfather. Having had no response his agent rang him urging him to accept. Falk responded by saying he needed a day or two to hire a private investigator as he couldn't find the part!! There are words of praise for others in his profession especially Patrick McGoohan who appeared on Columbo. "He wrote, directed, acted and he did them all brilliantly. He single-handedly lifted the show to new heights." McGoohan became the first actor to win an Emmy as "Best Performance by a Guest Star in a TV series". He also has good things to say about independent director John Cassavetes, who died aged sixty in 1989 and Neil Simon whose comedy Murder By Death included Falk in the cast.

Over the years Falk has developed a love of drawing. It's perhaps significant that he's currently living a guesthouse at his home in Beverley Hills. The guesthouse has been converted to living quarters and an art studio. Perhaps he may find solace in drawing which is no longer available in memory or conversation. He concludes by thanking his readers with, "I love you for staying with me until the end." An excellent insight into the life of an actor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Peter Falk doesn't quite tell all, 2 July 2007
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just One More Thing (Hardcover)
Peter Falk has written an amusing collection of anecdotes from his long and ineresting life. Although this is not an autobiography, there is much fascinating information about his life here, and mostof the stories are very amusing.

I particularly liked the story about how he was persuaded to appear on Roumanian television in the early 1970s, to convince the people of Roumania that the government was not witholding episodes of 'Columbo' from them (since they were only getting six episodes a year, they were convinced they were being deprived of other episodes). And it's fun to read why he didn't appear in 'The Godfather'. And I was pleased to learn that the ancient raincoat he wears in Columbo is his very own, and still hangs in his closet.

You may wish that this book went into more detail about his life, but there is plenty to amuse you in this book, so forget about the missing details, and just enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just some more things., 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just One More Thing (Paperback)
Easy to read and very interesting. Feels just like listening to Peter Falk telling stories while drinking a good bottle of wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like the man himself, 25 July 2012
By 
R. WALKER (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just One More Thing (Paperback)
I think Coloumbo is the best of all the TV detectives, his style is unique, is manner is brilliant, his sense of humour is legendary, when you read this book, it is like Peter Falk is taking directly to you, he is telling his story, but right to you, there is no pretention, he seems like a nice reasonable guy and he is a good story teller.

The book covers his early life as you would expect, and his ambition to become an actor, he is really funny when he tells a story about being considered for a part in a film, the producer looks at Falk and it obvious he has only one eye, looks at what he has to pay him for the part, and say's for this money I could get a guy with two eyes, he lost his eye as a boy, through disease.

The book is a light read and enjoyable, tells you about his wardrobe especially his choice of raincoat for Columbo. He is the kind of guy you would like to meet not because he was a big star, but he seems like good company, a nice down to earth guy and I am sure that you dont come across many of those in Hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As you wish!, 1 April 2010
By 
C. O'Hare "Paris Writer" (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just One More Thing (Paperback)
I enjoyed the anecdotes of Peter Falk's life. He is a very good snippet story teller, and gives you small, snappy stories. The book does jump around a bit at times, and he never gives too much information about his wives, and gives no information about his children. You never learn about the Falk family life, but he does give you a few wife stories.

For any fan of 'Princess Bride', beware that he mixes up the best line in the film with the title of a Shakespeare play. Given that he has done so much in cinema, stage, and television, I suppose it's normal. He hasn't watched 'Princess Bride' as many times as I have. He's been getting arrested in foreign countries and hanging out with other interesting people. It was nice to read about his memories of his friend, John Cassavantes.

The book is an enjoyable, breezy read, but don't expect it to get too personal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Falk, 12 Jan 2009
By 
Chris Waywell "cjwaywell" (Warrington) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just One More Thing (Hardcover)
A must for all Peter Falk and Columbo fans. I found the book to be entertaining, educational and funny. I read it in one sitting as I was enjoying it that much that I didn't want to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memories of a reluctant actor, 7 July 2010
By 
T. Bently "tbently" (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Just One More Thing (Paperback)
For once the cover blurb has it right. This paperback is indeed humorous, episodic and likeable, with the stamp of a true original. Just One More Thing is pure Peter Falk and reads like he's sitting next to you, chuckling as he recalls his remarkable life. It's also choc full of photos of family members and paintings (he's a talented artist) and altogether is perfect as a light summer read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
This review is from: Just One More Thing (Paperback)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Just One More Thing: Stories from My Life
Just One More Thing: Stories from My Life by Peter Falk (Hardcover - 23 Aug 2006)
Used & New from: 0.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews