Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well written and clear tab
This is a great book. There are 22 songs to learn, with each played with just a solo ukulele on the CD so you can hear exactly what it should sound like.
The sheet music is coupled with ukulele tab for those of us who don't read music fluently. It ranges from Hawaiian waltz with strums to more solo fingerstyle playing.
Songs:
Loke Lani, Haele, Hone A Ka...
Published on 16 Aug 2009 by Sheepstar

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great pieces but incorrect notation lets it down!
This is a great collection full of lovely pieces aimed at the intermediate player. Unfortunately, almost every single piece contains mistakes as the notation misses out pretty much every single accidental. This is highly frustrating for a musician but TAB readers will be unaffected as the tablature is correct. I've since corrected my copy and have enjoyed learning the...
Published on 15 Aug 2011 by Jess


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well written and clear tab, 16 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: Famous Solos and Duets for the Ukulele (Mel Bay Presents) (Paperback)
This is a great book. There are 22 songs to learn, with each played with just a solo ukulele on the CD so you can hear exactly what it should sound like.
The sheet music is coupled with ukulele tab for those of us who don't read music fluently. It ranges from Hawaiian waltz with strums to more solo fingerstyle playing.
Songs:
Loke Lani, Haele, Hone A Ka Wai, Polka Mazurka, Ka Wehi, Funiculi-Funicola, Henem Ahi Wela, Spanish Fandango, The Blue Bells of Scotland, Leilani, Banjo Schottische, Lauia, Wailana, El recuerdo, Hawai'i Pono'i, Ei Nei, Aloha O'e, Serenade of the Ukuleles, Timothy at the Husking Bee, Aloha Quickstep and Petite Valse.
Not really a beginner book as it's fingerstyle-orientated, but great progression once you've mastered the basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great pieces but incorrect notation lets it down!, 15 Aug 2011
This review is from: Famous Solos and Duets for the Ukulele (Mel Bay Presents) (Paperback)
This is a great collection full of lovely pieces aimed at the intermediate player. Unfortunately, almost every single piece contains mistakes as the notation misses out pretty much every single accidental. This is highly frustrating for a musician but TAB readers will be unaffected as the tablature is correct. I've since corrected my copy and have enjoyed learning the majority of the music so would recommend it. Without the errors, I would have been torn rating the book between 4 and 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious ukulele, 22 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Famous Solos and Duets for the Ukulele (Mel Bay Presents) (Paperback)
The late John King is my hero, so I can only write good things about this book.

This book has excellent arrangements for classical, traditional and hawaiian music, in the manner that has made Mr King famous as an ukulele player (if you don't know what I'm talking about check out Mr King playing his arrangements for Bach on YouTube). This is for advanced beginner onwards I would say. I don't know anybody who regrets having bought this book.

Tabs are for GCEA tuning and there is standard notation too.

John King's work is changing the aspirations of those of us who love the uke!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential. Buy it., 4 Jun 2011
This review is from: Famous Solos and Duets for the Ukulele (Mel Bay Presents) (Paperback)
I don't like to exaggerate but I dare say this is the greatest Ukulele book of all. It features a generous amount of pieces and the important point is that they are all of Hawaiian origin. Playing pop songs on the Uke is great fun but this is where the music comes alive. Prior to purchasing this, I didn't know any of the pieces but now I know them all by heart. John King has chosen a wonderful selection of pieces and each is arranged to perfection. My favourites include 'Hene', 'El Recuerdo' and every single other piece! There are many different strumming techniques to attempt, and although I think they could be explained more clearly, they still offer a great challenge. The included CD is very good but the pieces simply loop when they've finished. However, it's up to you to put your personal slant on them. It does have some flaws. The strums are not explained well enough and the musical notation features some mistakes. These don't detract from teh overall impact though.

It also includes a very interesting Ukulele history which you can memorise and bore your friends with for years.

Buy this book. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have book, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Famous Solos and Duets for the Ukulele (Mel Bay Presents) (Paperback)
Excellent book with some enchanting melodies. I am recommending it to all my ukulele students. Yes there are some errors in the music accidentals but they are obvious as the tablature in accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Famous Solos and Duets for the Ukulele (Mel Bay Presents) (Paperback)
Quality shines throughout....obviously he plays himself...as a result he knows what works and just includes what he knows with his experiance works . A great result Reccomended all his books this is my third of his.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaba33f30)

This product

Famous Solos and Duets for the Ukulele (Mel Bay Presents)
Famous Solos and Duets for the Ukulele (Mel Bay Presents) by John King (Paperback - 18 May 2004)
11.21
In stock but may require up to 2 additional days to deliver
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews