Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to trad irish fiddle, 16 Nov 2009
By 
J. Truesdale (N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Learn to Play Irish Fiddle (Mel Bay Presents) (Spiral-bound)
Covers all you need to develop a real irish technique. Well worth the money. CD's are a great bonus.

jt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great way to get into the tunes, 22 Oct 2012
By 
Amanda Lowe (yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn to Play Irish Fiddle (Mel Bay Presents) (Spiral-bound)
if you were a complete beginner, the first few pages of this book will get you on your way. I'm not a beginner, but nowhere near proficient, and the combination of gentle progressive exercises (one finger tunes, two finger tunes), all in the irish mode have improved my playing considerably. there is an accompanying cd, which plays the tunes so you know how they are supposed to sound, as well as a useful tuning section so you know you are in tune. tunes are played through twice, the second time with an accompaniment.
Enjoying working my way through it.
Would recommend it as a great starting point for anyone who wants to take their fiddle and play in a session, as once the proper tunes kick in, they are all popular session tunes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for the beginner!!, 18 Jan 2012
This review is from: Learn to Play Irish Fiddle (Mel Bay Presents) (Spiral-bound)
As a music teacher, I thoroughly recommend this book. It's clearly and unambiguously laid out, and the exercises and tunes are cleverly graded to easily guide a beginner through the rudiments of Irish fiddle playing. If you're prepared to stick at it, work through this book and you will get results!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide Book, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn to Play Irish Fiddle (Mel Bay Presents) (Spiral-bound)
I bought this book as I needed one that would build up my playing skills bit by bit. I have 'Irish Music for Fiddle Made Easy' from the same range but that one just has the music and although I have had lessons I still needed a few tips on music reading and the ways of the fiddle! Learn to Play Irish Fiddle has really accomplished this and is a great book for beginners - I think I could have taught myself the basics using this book if I hadn't had lessons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Must-have for anyone keen to get into Irish fiddling., 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn to Play Irish Fiddle (Mel Bay Presents) (Spiral-bound)
This is an excellent introduction to Irish fiddle music. Techniques are clearly explained in considerable detail, and the CDs are a great help - tempos are nicely judged, so that the pieces are easy to play along to.The tunes selected to illustrate certain embellishments and bowing tricks are good examples of Irish music at its best, and all are well worth learning, as they are part of the standard session repertoire.
My only slight carp is that there are not enough tunes to get your teeth into in the final section, hence four rather than five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great learning tool, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn to Play Irish Fiddle (Mel Bay Presents) (Spiral-bound)
This book with excellent CDs is very carefully graded - suitable even for those who do not read music. When I've finished it I intend to move on to Berthoud's second book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 19 Mar 2013
By 
Romany Ravenflame (Nottinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn to Play Irish Fiddle (Mel Bay Presents) (Spiral-bound)
A really excellent resource.
Positives
*I love the way the book assumes no prior knowledge of music or fiddle playing which makes it excellent for the complete beginner.
*I also like how the book is graduated in steps so you start from learning how to hold the instrument, basic music notation and fingering through to slurring, cuts, rolls and triplets. Each chapter is graded in this way with exercises to practice and traditional repertoire tunes, some of which the author has composed especially. Even those who aren't beginners can dip in and out for any ornamentation they are working on.
* The CD is great and comprehensive and most importantly at a pace so that you can play along with the tunes.
* The book is spiral bound which makes it easier for practice or on a music stand.

Negatives
*This item took along time to come from Amazon. Amazon if you are reading this you really should make it more readily available. I don't want to resort to a second hand copy from marketplace sellers for great reference material such as this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and easy to follow for the complete beginner., 27 Jan 2013
By 
P. Ferbrache (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn to Play Irish Fiddle (Mel Bay Presents) (Spiral-bound)
I bought this book for my partner who wanted to learn to play the Irish fiddle. Although she plays the piano to quite a high level she has never tried the Irish fiddle until now.
The author starts by setting out the basics such as, holding the fiddle, tuning, tensioning the bow etc.
The lessons then move on to creating the basic notes and then to playing simple tunes moving slowly to more advanced tunes.
The book comes with 2 compact discs that accompany the lessons in the book.
I would say that this book is excellent for anybody wanting to learn to play the Irish fiddle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for beginners who want to learn folk, 28 Sep 2012
By 
Danish Guy (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Learn to Play Irish Fiddle (Mel Bay Presents) (Spiral-bound)
As an absolute beginner interested in folk music I found this book perfect.
It has custom made little exercises tuned to folk lovers and builds up skills gradually.
I have not found any similar book for the self-taught beginner, it is superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Learn to Play Irish Fiddle (Mel Bay Presents)
Learn to Play Irish Fiddle (Mel Bay Presents) by Philip John Berthoud (Spiral-bound - 26 Feb 2008)
14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews