Customer Reviews


2 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for fans of Perry Mason & Ironside
I have been a fan of Raymond Burr since watching countless episodes of Ironside, but have never found much information on this wonderful actor. The book covers his childhood beginnings his doomed relationships, and his rise to fame. It tells of the many tragedies in his life, his love of travel and gives plenty of information on his acting career ending with his death...
Published on 6 Oct 2000 by Mrs. A. J. Higham

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing the point!
If you are interested in the late Raymond Burr, but lack the time or desire to do the research, then this book may well suit you. A large amount of information from around the world is gathered into one neat, little package. On the other hand, if you are looking for an intelligent insight, which goes beyond the old studio biographies and publicity material, then you...
Published on 29 Nov 2003 by Vanessa L Arnold


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing the point!, 29 Nov 2003
This review is from: Raymond Burr: A Film, Radio and Television Biography (McFarland Classics) (Paperback)
If you are interested in the late Raymond Burr, but lack the time or desire to do the research, then this book may well suit you. A large amount of information from around the world is gathered into one neat, little package. On the other hand, if you are looking for an intelligent insight, which goes beyond the old studio biographies and publicity material, then you will be disappointed.
The author has produced a good framework on which to build a book - and then fails to write it! Her affection for her subject is obvious, but she takes it no further than a collection of information, some of which was dubious in its original form.
This lack of personal insight far outweighs the better parts of the book. I was disappointed to note that there are a number of people missing from the work. One person in particular, who formed an integral part of Raymond Burr's life for over thirty years, is relegated to three brief mentions. Other people have a slightly better time, and manage the odd paragraph.
Ona Hill is a good writer, who has sold herself short. Instead of producing an excellent personal insight into an intriguing man, she has distanced herself just a little too far from her subject. Objectivity in this type of work is an admirable thing, but get too far away and you miss the fine detail. The book shies away from any intimacy with its subject, preferring a non-controversial rehash of some originally doubtful material, than a thoughtful study of a complex individual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for fans of Perry Mason & Ironside, 6 Oct 2000
This review is from: Raymond Burr: A Film, Radio and Television Biography (McFarland Classics) (Paperback)
I have been a fan of Raymond Burr since watching countless episodes of Ironside, but have never found much information on this wonderful actor. The book covers his childhood beginnings his doomed relationships, and his rise to fame. It tells of the many tragedies in his life, his love of travel and gives plenty of information on his acting career ending with his death from cancer in 1993.If your a fan it's well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Raymond Burr: A Film, Radio and Television Biography (McFarland Classics)
27.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews