Customer Reviews


372 Reviews
5 star:
 (182)
4 star:
 (91)
3 star:
 (52)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As much fun as eating a whole tub of Cookie Ice Cream alone.
Following the familiar Dan Brown relentless chasing formula, this book zips the reader through all 360 pages with ruthless vervour around some particular tight blind corners even by Mr Browns standards.
The story revolves around the events both political and personal surrounding the discovery of an alien meteorite, but even at the political level it's the personal...
Published on 7 Jan. 2002 by R. Finney

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
This was the third Dan Brown book I read, after DVC and Angels & Demons.

DVC was pretty poorly written and based on, well, a whole heap of bilge, but there was no denying that it was a page turner and it had me gripped to the end despite characters that were so slight a breeze would have blown them away and a plot that tried so hard to be unpredictable that it...
Published on 19 Feb. 2009 by tiggrie AKA Sarah


‹ Previous | 130 31 3238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another pageturner, 21 July 2008
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
"Deception Point" is Brown's third novel, written between his two (so far) Robert Langdon books (Angels and Demons and The Da Vinci Code). Like all of his books, it's a quick read despite being over 500 pages.

The heroine is Rachel Sexton, daughter of a senator/presidential candidate. She's recruited by the president to help examine a meteorite found by NASA, which seems to contain proof of extraterrestrial life. Brown successfully mixes political intrigue, action and science into a page turning thriller. Brown is a teacher and he has the rare ability to educate and share information with his readers without slowing down the pace of his novels. If you can suspend your disbelief for some of the more fantastic sequences, "Deception Point" is a good pageturner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nasa under fire, 28 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
There aren't as many riddles here as in Brown's Da Vinci Code. Actually, the concept is remarkably different: it's Dan Brown, mixed with a large dose of Allistair Maclean (remember Ice Station Zebra?), some Carl Sagan (Contact) and a lot of X-Files stuff. Lots of action in the Arctic in story line one, and a fascinating story line two of political intrigue in Washington DC.
Face it: Nasa's overspending American tax payers' money and its recent disasters/failures is actually far more relevant and topical than what was revealed in The Da Vinci Code. Dan Brown's detailed writing is very convincing and you won't be able to put this book down until the truth about this mysterious found is revealed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Red hot action in sub zero Antarctica., 3 Aug. 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
Deception Point

Dan Brown gives us his most action packed and fastest paced novel to date, at the same time retaining all the complexity of his plots and the continually shifting suspicions of the main characters.

However there are some flaws, too many very short two page chapters, cliff hangers at every switch of the action becoming a mannerism, and with four main strands of plot this is a little too much.

Having said that as always with Dan Brown his research is first class and we are drawn into some fascinating technology and in this case high tech weaponry of a particularly nasty Special Forces unit.

A really great page turning read, don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
good enjoyed the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining but flawed, 15 Dec. 2005
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
Ok, I finally read a book by the biggest thriller writter of the 21st Century! and it was entertaining but some of the technologies he claims are true simply don't exist. Most of the advanced technologies he refers to only exist as powerpoint presentations being used by some ambitious engineers to justify increases to programing budgets. The technology is simply not as advanced as Dan Brown would have you think. I also found some of the scenerios beyond reality, the action while non-stop is a little to over the top for my taste. All my complaints aside though, it is an entertaining way to spend time on the beach or plane.
If you like this type of thriller but want something a little more grounded in reality, I highly recommend "Tourist in the Yucatan" a thriller set in the ancient cities of the New World.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, 13 Nov. 2009
By 
L. Foster (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
Deception Point is awful; seriously awful. I had read DVC and enjoyed it for the imagination which went into it. Then I read Angels & Demons, and realised that there was a bit of a theme emerging between the two. I delayed reading any more of Brown's stuff as A&D put me off, being so predictable. Then Deception Point came into my possession, and I really wish it hadn't. Absolute rubbish; predictable, cliched, hackneyed trash. I keep thinking about taking the book to the charity shop, but I wouldn't want to inflict it on anybody else. Maybe I will keep it for lighting the BBQ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deception Point (Kindle Edition)
could not put down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review of postage condition, 1 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
I just got this book through the post. I ordered a used one so that i could save some money. when it said it would be in very good condition it was actually in fair condition. I am a little disappointed at the condition because it would of been better if i bought a new one than a used one. I still love Dan Browns books anyway because I got into Dan brown by reading angels and demons and i am now reading the davinci code. Cant wait to read my Dan Brown books but all in all i would recommend the books by Dan Brown because they are absolutely brilliant. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thrilling but implausible, 8 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
I got this book after reading Da Vinci code. This is equally exciting, the author skilfully weaving the action and political intrigue strands of the plot together. However, some of the action comes across as completely implausible, the sort of thing you'd expect to see in a Batman cartoon, likewise the highly trained baddie soldiers come across as bungling incompetents. Nevertheless the plot is consistent, there is an excellent ending and he writes very well for this type of genre, not too much hi-tech gobbledegook but enough to fire the imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Technical Manual, 22 Feb. 2007
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
This is how Dan Brown might review his own books:-

"Dan Brown books contain hundreds of pages, upon each of which are printed hundreds of letters. This means that Dan Brown books contain thousands of letters. These letters are printed in 10-point Times New Roman font on paper created from a combination of pulped spruce and recycled cardboard. The cardboard is collected from the American suburbs and mixed with precisely twice its volume of water to creat the pulp. The spruce is harvested from Alaskan forests before being transported on diesel-powered articulated lorries to the pulping plant. These lorries can weigh up to 50 tonnes fully loaded, and consume a gallon of fuel every mile they travel. The ink used is produced by pigment lab in Nevada, using a special scientific process.

"At the moment this has been hidden from the public, but will soon be exposed by a plucky, intelligent and beautiful scientist/author who, despite their obviously compromised personal situation, has managed to achieve an elevated position in a terribly secret government agency."

I did not like this book at all. It reads as if Brown has cut-and-pasted the technical manual for every scientific instrument or transport device into every chapter, then tried to weave some sort of tale around it. Who cares how many miles of cable the NASA headquarters contains? Is this superfluous bumph meant to impress me or add to the story? Horrible, horrible, horrible.

I read this on holiday: I only read it all the way to the end because I wanted to be able to say I had read at least one Dan Brown novel. I can safely say he is off my list now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 130 31 3238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deception Point (Thorndike Americana)
Deception Point (Thorndike Americana) by Dan Brown (Hardcover - 6 Jan. 2006)
Used & New from: £6.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews