Customer Reviews


320 Reviews
5 star:
 (147)
4 star:
 (79)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As much fun as eating a whole tub of Cookie Ice Cream alone.
Following the familiar Dan Brown relentless chasing formula, this book zips the reader through all 360 pages with ruthless vervour around some particular tight blind corners even by Mr Browns standards.
The story revolves around the events both political and personal surrounding the discovery of an alien meteorite, but even at the political level it's the personal...
Published on 7 Jan 2002 by R. Finney

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent romp...
A decent book that kept me interested enough to read in 3 sittings.
Does fall away somewhat at the end, but still a fine read.
If you enjoyed Dan Brown's other books, then you'll enjoy this one.
Published on 15 Feb 2006 by BR


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kept me hooked the whole time, 5 Dec 2008
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
I recently listened to the Audio CD version of this book and I give it 10 out of 10. The whole story unravels just like a movie. I recommend anyone to buy the Audio version as it is great for putting it on your ipod or in the car whilst driving. Makes time go by really quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars His weakest book, 22 Oct 2008
By 
chuckles "barnie884" (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
I disliked this book less than the other reviews on here, but I would say this is definately the weakest of his 4 novels. However it for me was still a good read, and if you enjoyed his others I think you will still enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant .. just brilliant, 3 Sep 2008
By 
H. O'BRIEN "kizmax" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
another brilliant dan brown book, grabs you from the first page,excellent characters,fabulous plot I enjoyed the twists turns and it was so gripping I couldn't put it down an absolute must read...I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Red hot action in sub zero Antarctica., 3 Aug 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
Deception Point

Dan Brown gives us his most action packed and fastest paced novel to date, at the same time retaining all the complexity of his plots and the continually shifting suspicions of the main characters.

However there are some flaws, too many very short two page chapters, cliff hangers at every switch of the action becoming a mannerism, and with four main strands of plot this is a little too much.

Having said that as always with Dan Brown his research is first class and we are drawn into some fascinating technology and in this case high tech weaponry of a particularly nasty Special Forces unit.

A really great page turning read, don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another pageturner, 21 July 2008
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
"Deception Point" is Brown's third novel, written between his two (so far) Robert Langdon books (Angels and Demons and The Da Vinci Code). Like all of his books, it's a quick read despite being over 500 pages.

The heroine is Rachel Sexton, daughter of a senator/presidential candidate. She's recruited by the president to help examine a meteorite found by NASA, which seems to contain proof of extraterrestrial life. Brown successfully mixes political intrigue, action and science into a page turning thriller. Brown is a teacher and he has the rare ability to educate and share information with his readers without slowing down the pace of his novels. If you can suspend your disbelief for some of the more fantastic sequences, "Deception Point" is a good pageturner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Page Turner, 7 Oct 2007
By 
M. A. Ramos (Florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
I was lent this book last night and finsihed it this morning. Could not put it down. This is an excellent thriller. Filled with non-stop action and intrigue. Expect a movie.

This is a political thriller with high tech advetnure mixed in. The book is written around a Presidential campaign. The incumbent is pro NASA, and is being bashed by his opposition for NASA budget overruns and mission failures. Just when it seems the President will lose the election because of his support of NASA. Then NASA finds a meteor which contains a greater discovery.

The President sends civilian scientist up to the meteor site in the artic to confirm NASA's findings. He wants to make sure the public believes that this is a real find, and the independent scientist will do that. Everyone is excited by the great find and confirm the meteor is as NASA claims.

Then a little too late, the civilians uncover that the whole thing is just scientific hoax. But before the President can be briefed, the scientist become targets to a team of assassins. At this point two of the five civilians have been terminated and three are on the run across the Artic ice. Everyone our heros caome across and tell about this trickery end up dead. While running they not only need to get the truth out, but they need to determine who orchestrated this plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than his other books, 11 Sep 2007
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
For my money this is his best book, and is certainly a far better read than the much lauded Da Vinci Code. It's better paced, has good edge of the seat thrills and an interesting (if not unique) location in the Arctic Circle. Its a shame the one or two minor characters who were more entertaining than the derivative main characters didn't have bigger parts. The end, as others have mentioned, was not a surprise if you have read his other books first, but overall its a good holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read!, 25 Jun 2007
By 
Seamus Martin (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
Set in mainly in Washington DC and the Arctic Circle, all the action in this gripping thriller take place within 48 hours. The good guys among the principal characters never know whom to trust.

A pulsating read with umpteen turns, this novel will make the time fly in airport lounges, on planes and on trains. Unputdownable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Reuse of the Dan Brown formula., 2 Jan 2007
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
Dan Brown seems to have this template when writing his novels;

A couple of protagonists; one beautiful and intelligent girl, the other a learned professor or intellectual

A grey character as intelligent as the intellectual. Usually, he is mistaken as the secondary character but then turns out to be the baddy.

Lots of 'dishum dishum' action packed near death defying moments.

A lot of sexual tension between the protagonists but no real 'kissy

kissy.'

A 'two fingered' salute to either the Catholic Church or American institutions

Lots of non stop action

Deception Point in my opinion is the most exciting of Dan Brown's 4 novels, difficult to put down and if you haven't read the other 3 novels (I get the impression that Deception Point is a a popular '4th Dan Brown novel' read after Da Vinci, Angels and Digital Fortress'

It has a parallel to Erich Von Daniken's 'Chariots of the Gods' which was eventually exposed as a fraud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than the Da Vinci code - This has everything, 6 Sep 2005
This review is from: Deception Point (Paperback)
This is by far Dan Brown's best novel. The story has the pace and suspense of the Da Vinci code but with far more detail, better characters and a more complex story It knits together science, politics and action adventure seamlessly. Buy it now and ignore these other reviewers who must have been unable to follow the brilliantly observed American political webs. A captivating read !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deception Point (Thorndike Americana)
Deception Point (Thorndike Americana) by Dan Brown (Hardcover - 6 Jan 2006)
Used & New from: 17.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews