Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read
I picked this book up as a free download and whilst I have heard of the film have never seen it or know anything about it, so the story was completely fresh to me. I enjoyed it immensely, a light hearted fun story of a forty year old divorcee, Sarah, attempting to enter the dating world by placing a lonely hearts ad. There are some very funny moments in the book which has...
Published on 30 Dec. 2012 by ElaineG

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading
This was a pretty easy, reasonably entertaining holiday read. I read it after Madame Bovary so its maybe not fair to compare this slight piece to one of the great novels about character but to be honest i could have done with a bit more here. I liked the central character but would have liked to know about her motivation and reason for acting as she does. There is one...
Published on 13 Aug. 2012 by Angela Blair


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 30 Dec. 2012
By 
ElaineG (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I picked this book up as a free download and whilst I have heard of the film have never seen it or know anything about it, so the story was completely fresh to me. I enjoyed it immensely, a light hearted fun story of a forty year old divorcee, Sarah, attempting to enter the dating world by placing a lonely hearts ad. There are some very funny moments in the book which has a host of larger than life characters, including some very cute kids who to be honest did seem a little too precocious for pre-schoolers. I liked the way the author kept the story moving with the three "candidates" who had replied to Sarah's ad, as I was never quite sure which one of them she was going to have a relationship with as the plot got quite twisty turny.

To sum up, a good romantic comedy which I enjoyed although I did find the ending to be rather abrupt and unsatisfying, almost as if a couple of chapters of the book were missing at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Feel good book, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Started reading this as I found it in a cabin we rented for the weekend...and couldnt put it down. Had to buy it on the kindle to finish reading.funny, endearing with lots of laugh-out-loud moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Must love dogs, 5 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I particularly liked the supporting characters in this tale. Sarah's family are lovely and eccentric, especially her father. I also enjoyed the scenes in the classroom reading about Sarah at work with the children. Dolly, too, was great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading, 13 Aug. 2012
By 
Angela Blair (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a pretty easy, reasonably entertaining holiday read. I read it after Madame Bovary so its maybe not fair to compare this slight piece to one of the great novels about character but to be honest i could have done with a bit more here. I liked the central character but would have liked to know about her motivation and reason for acting as she does. There is one amusing set piece when all the characters in the book sort of collide which is well done. Everyone seems to dress really badly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars quite different but bad ending. Have to buy next book to find ..., 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting, quite different but bad ending. Have to buy next book to find solution, but will it be in the next book or will it keep going on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant ..., 17 Mar. 2005
By 
SSmith (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this novel. The characterisation is brilliant, and I was sad to close the final page and leave the characters behind. Don't expect a complex, thrilling story, but if you're looking for a light-hearted romantic comedy, this is for you. Chic fic at its best. Can't wait to see the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was a very funny enjoyable read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed this book, 22 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed this book A really good read didnt want it to end a feel good book and it was free too so that was a bonus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Funny and hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Love Dogs, 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Must Love Dogs
Must Love Dogs by Claire Cook (Audio CD - Aug. 2005)
Used & New from: £31.52
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews