Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best.
I've read many books and essays on the JFK assassination over the years, and I can happily recommend this as one of the better ones. It does side with the conspiracy theorists who reject the Warren Commission Report and a couple of the ideas reflected here have since been explained away. However, the overall text is one mans compelling eye witness account of an infamous...
Published 8 months ago by Andrew Clayden

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If at first you don't succeed,..... just keep lying!
This abysmal pile of garbage represents the third attempt of J. Gary Shaw and Jens Hansen to get people read about their childish fantasies.
Originally published in 1992 as `Conspiracy Of Silence', it rode the crest of Stone's `JFK' wave for quite a while. It was given a new title in 2001 - `Trauma Room One'. It acquired a new cover, a new forward - by Oliver Stone -...
Published 7 months ago by Barry Ryder


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gripping, 26 Dec 2013
This review is from: JFK Has Been Shot: A Parkland Hospital Surgeon Speaks out (Mass Market Paperback)
This book is so well written a day in the life of a surgeon who tried to save the president.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JFK Has Been Shot (Kindle Edition)
It was a very good read and I would thoroughly recommend it. It made a change reading what happened at Parkland Hospital
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JFK Has Been Shot (Kindle Edition)
Excellent insight into what happened in the ER that fateful day.
Hopefully one day the USA will do the right thing and investigate this fully, not as in the Warren Report.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kennedy Assassination, 12 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. S. R. Harris "rosina" (west sussex, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JFK Has Been Shot: A Parkland Hospital Surgeon Speaks out (Mass Market Paperback)
I thought this book very interesting, because it covered a different side to the assassination, the medical notes and what went on in the trauma room, I don't think this has been widely discussed before, it may have been, but I have never heard much about it till now. So many anomalies in this whole sorry saga but left me with the opinion of a definite cover up. Also this was such a terrible event, nothing was in place to deal with it, as there would be fifty years later. Charles Crenshaw, I believe would not have fabricated anything of a medical nature, it was just how he saw and dealt with what went on as his professional ethics demanded. Poor President Kennedy, whatever the politics did not deserve such a cruel end to his life and it is a real scandal that no one has been brought to justice for it. Maybe in a hundred years time, the truth will come out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If at first you don't succeed,..... just keep lying!, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JFK Has Been Shot (Kindle Edition)
This abysmal pile of garbage represents the third attempt of J. Gary Shaw and Jens Hansen to get people read about their childish fantasies.
Originally published in 1992 as `Conspiracy Of Silence', it rode the crest of Stone's `JFK' wave for quite a while. It was given a new title in 2001 - `Trauma Room One'. It acquired a new cover, a new forward - by Oliver Stone - and contributions from D. B. Kizzia, JD, Gary Aguilar, MD and Cyril Wecht, MD, JD.

Now, in 2013, comes yet another attempt to make some more money out of the late Dr Charles Crenshaw and his twenty-year-old ramblings. (Crenshaw died in November, 2001).

This time around, the book appears as `JFK Has Been Shot'. Gone are the contributions of the previous `theorists' and, in their place, we can read the conspiracy musings of Robert Tanenbaum instead.

Incredibly, the `Crenshaw' segment which forms the core of the book retains all of the conspiracy-buff whining of the previous two editions. But, far worse, Crenshaw's two most outrageous claims, which were shown to be false within minutes of the first book being published, remain in the text! Neither of the surviving authors or the publisher has made any attempt to remove them. Chutzpah, or what?

If I were to offer my own, lengthy criticisms of this awful publication it would amount to little more than bombing just to make the rubble bounce. This book has long-since been exposed as the product of committed conspiracy disciples who have no regard for historical or legal truth.

In a nutshell, Crenshaw never saw the unaltered throat wound and he never took a call from LBJ. These two claims alone, were disproved long ago.

The WC testimony of Carrico, Perry and McCellend shows that Crenshaw entered TR-1 after the tracheostomy incision had been made through the throat wound. Crenshaw writes (p 77 paperback edition) that he and McClelland entered TR-1 together. McClelland agrees that they did. McClelland's WC testimony includes these two, key exchanges:

Mr. Specter: And who was present, if anyone, at the time of your arrival?
Dr. Mcclelland: At the time I arrived, Dr. Perry---would you like the full names of all these?
Mr. Specter: That would be fine, I would appreciate that.
Dr. Mcclelland: Dr. Malcolm Perry, Dr. Charles Baxter, Dr. Charles Crenshaw, Dr. James Carrico, Dr. Paul Peters.
Mr. Specter: Were they all present at the time you arrived?
Dr. Mcclelland: They were not present when I arrived.

And

Mr. Specter: What did you observe, if anything, as to the status of the neck wound when you first arrived?
Dr. Mcclelland: The neck wound, when I first arrived, was at this time converted into a tracheotomy incision. The skin incision had been made by Dr. Perry, and he told me---although I did not see that---that he had made the incision through a very small, perhaps less than one quarter inch in diameter wound in the neck.
Mr. Specter: Do you recall whether he described it any more precisely than that?
Dr. Mcclelland: He did not at that time.

Crenshaw never saw the throat-wound before it had been cut through. He lied.

He also lied about taking a call from LBJ whilst attending to Oswald.

Firstly, LBJ's location and movements for the crucial `time-window' for the call are known and provable.
On page 186 (paperback edition) we read of LBJ phoning Parkland to enquire about the condition of the dying Oswald on Sunday 24th November.

Crenshaw relates the dialogue that was exchanged between he and the new President. On page 188 (paperback edition) Crenshaw writes that when he returned to the theatre after taking LBJ's call, he told Dr Shires, "You won't believe who I just talked to". Shires says nothing so Crenshaw goes on, "President Johnson would like for us to allow that man over there [in the theatre] to get a statement from our patient". Shires is reported as saying nothing.

There are four, huge problems for Crenshaw and his scenario.

From the moment that Oswald was shot - 11:21 am - until the moment he was pronounced dead - 13:07 pm - the locations and actions of LBJ were known, monitored and recorded back in Washington. At the very time that Crenshaw claims to have spoken to LBJ, it is known and can be proved, that the President was in the midst of the ceremonies for moving JFK's casket from the White House to the Rotunda.
The new President travelled to the Rotunda by official limousine which was equipped with a radiotelephone. Any call made from the limousine would have been routed via the WH switchboard. The WH logs show no such call ever being made.

Additionally, Crenshaw claims to have told Dr Shires of the call as soon as he re-entered the theatre (p.188, paperback edition). Shires never corroborated the claim.

On page 255 of the paperback edition, Shaw offers a 1992 newspaper interview that was given by Dr P. Williams who was quoted as saying, " "I vividly remember someone said, and I can't say who it was, the White House is calling and President Johnson wants to know what the status of Oswald is."

This is no corroboration at all. Williams states that, `The White House is calling..'. He does not say that LBJ is. The `Times' article further reports that, "Dr. Williams said he had never heard that Johnson wanted to get a confession. He also said he did not know whether it was Johnson or an aide who spoke on the phone." J. Gary Shaw leaves this awkward little bit out of the book, of course.

And, finally, Shaw offers the `recollections' of Phyllis Bartlett (p. 255, paperback edition), who was a telephone switchboard operator at Parkland, as confirmation of the LBJ call.
Bartlett - along with all other Parkland staff - was required to write a full report of her activities whilst on duty at the hospital during the four day assassination period.
Her report contains no mention whatsoever of receiving a call from the President of the United States of America! She didn't mention it. Nobody else mentioned it in their reports either - not even Charles Crenshaw.

The failure of the authors to remove the key components of Crenshaw's bogus tale shows that they are reliant on the ignorance of the reader for the success of `JFK Has Been Shot', just as they were for `Conspiracy Of Silence' and `Trauma Room One'.

barry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars jfk, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JFK Has Been Shot: A Parkland Hospital Surgeon Speaks out (Mass Market Paperback)
Again as I am interested in all thigs kennedy this book is very interesting to me and I have enjoyed reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Every little bit helps, 16 Feb 2014
This review is from: JFK Has Been Shot: A Parkland Hospital Surgeon Speaks out (Mass Market Paperback)
It is no coincidence the top political murders of the twentieth century involved left wing liberals: 1) the American president John Kennedy, 2) Italian prime minister Aldo Moro, and 3) the 33-day Pope who taunted right wing curial cardinals: "We have made of sex the greatest of sins, whereas it is nothing more than human nature and not a sin at all."

This book does little to get to the bottom of the 1963 Kennedy murder. Yet, every little bit helps. For the best investigation of the JFK murder try They Killed Our President: 63 Facts That Prove a Conspiracy to Kill JFK

The Vatican Murders: The Life and Death of John Paul I proves the hypothesis of Avro Manhattan of South Shield England: The conspiracy that planned the Great Vatican Bank Scandal was the same conspiracy that plotted the murder of Aldo Moro and John Paul I in 1978.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JFK, 21 Feb 2014
By 
David Brown (Oswestry, Shropshire Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JFK Has Been Shot: A Parkland Hospital Surgeon Speaks out (Mass Market Paperback)
I have a passion for 'all' history, none more than the controversial history of the Kennedy Assassination. This book is excellent value for money and gives an alternative perspective of what happened elsewhere on that day. From the surgeon attending to Kennedy at Parkland Memorial Hospital on November 22nd 1963, this book is written to explain the events that have previously been kept hidden from the public.

There is a lot of truth about the Kennedy Assassination that we will never know about, ever! But this book helps to inform us of some of those events. Conspiracies aside, the author has put himself on the line to tell us what really happened at Parkland Memorial Hospital.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JFK has been shot, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JFK Has Been Shot (Kindle Edition)
What the doctors did to try to save JFK's life. There was no chance of saving him as his brains had been blown out. But he was the President, so they had to try, without any success. It has left scares on the medical team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars HAD ME FOOLED!, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: JFK Has Been Shot: A Parkland Hospital Surgeon Speaks out (Mass Market Paperback)
Ignore the hyperbole surrounding its first publication - it is yet another conspiracy theorist who colluded with others of like mind to cash in on the tragedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

JFK Has Been Shot: A Parkland Hospital Surgeon Speaks out
JFK Has Been Shot: A Parkland Hospital Surgeon Speaks out by J. Gary Shaw (Mass Market Paperback - 1 Nov 2013)
4.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews