Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant for a beginner, 10 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Backyard Blacksmith: Traditional Techniques for the Modern Smith (Hardcover)
I bought this book, along with a few others for my husband who is starting up a blacksmithy business. Although all were helpful in their own way, he found this one in particular to be the best. It is very user friendly, has superb photographs and instructions on how to do various things and will, he says, be his bible in the beginning. If you are thinking of doing the same, I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this book as a beginners guide as it is jam packed with invaluable information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Backyard Blacksmith, 7 Nov 2010
Although an American Publication, U.K. buyers don't be put off(Imperial/metric conversion problem?-not really). A really good book with loads of practical information. Lorelli Simms' gives the budding new blacksmith some really great tips and information. I'm new to blacksmithing myself, have crossed referenced this with other publications and have found that this book fills a unique gap about making tooling for yourself, on your quest to becoming a blacksmith. I really like her style of writing its easy and relaxed. I like the highlighted boxes in green throughout the book, notifing the reader to take note of her advice on that particular page. Definately a must to have on your reference bookshelf!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Backyard Blacksmith, 4 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Backyard Blacksmith: Traditional Techniques for the Modern Smith (Hardcover)
Lorelei Sims book The Backyard Blacksmith is an excellent starting point for anyone who has a passing intrest in the art of smithing.

It's laid out in commonsense fashion starting with the basics where and how to set up your forge, then what tools and how they're used, onto metals how to recognize the different types of steel.
The next step your shown is how you heat and forge the metal, tapering, scrolling and twisting through to forge welding and making your own tools.
The last section is a series of projects that start easy and get harder.

Throughout the book is well illustrated with line drawings and superb photographs and the instructions for the projects in the book are clear and concise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Backyard Blacksmith: Traditional Techniques for the Modern Smith (Hardcover)
This is a great book for ideas and techiques. Great pictures and drawings, really inspirational. I thoughly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the backyard blacksmith, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Backyard Blacksmith: Traditional Techniques for the Modern Smith (Hardcover)
couldn't wait to read the book and get started. but it lacked the making of some basic tools to tackle I.E. how to make Tongs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear guide to the Art, 18 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Backyard Blacksmith: Traditional Techniques for the Modern Smith (Hardcover)
From start to finishe, this was an excellent guide to setting up through to the more complex procedures involved in working with steel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Its a great book., 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Backyard Blacksmith: Traditional Techniques for the Modern Smith (Hardcover)
I brought this book for my son at christmas. He loves it. As a metal worker he cant fault the advice stated and is currently putting together a forge. Its a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value @ just £7.62 including shipping for this high quality, beautifully formatted, and colourful hardback book, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Backyard Blacksmith: Traditional Techniques for the Modern Smith (Hardcover)
I am not a blacksmith but as a greenwood carver I wanted to learn more about the processes involve in making the tools I use. This book seemed like a good place to start. While this book does not cover everything that I want to read about (such as axe, gouge, adze & knife making), it covers the basics of blacksmithing in an exceptionally well presented HARDBACK book . It is beautifully laid out, with good sized fonts, lots of clear headings and plenty of colour photographs, as well as some good, clear line drawings - reminiscent of (but different to) the exceptional DK books. Other publishers could learn a lot from this excellent book.

This is an American book, so the references, terminology and equipment (such as large mechanical hammers) available to you might be a little different. But the I find the Americans tend to get to the heart of things without getting too hung up on tradition.

For me personally, I would give the content 3* because there are some quite specialist areas that I am particularly interested in that are not covered here (see above). But the fantastic job they have made in presenting/formatting/laying out this book, that it is a high quality, well bound, hardback book, with lavish use of colour and tasteful use of decoration and colour and the exceptionally reasonable price require the full 5*s.

The other 2 books on this subject that interest me are far more expensive:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/0964399989/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1634&creative=19450&creativeASIN=0964399989&linkCode=as2&tag=various02-21
And the other is not available from Amazon: Swedish Blacksmithing - Lars Enander, Karl-Gunnar Norén ISBN 978-9197563482
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent starting point, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Backyard Blacksmith: Traditional Techniques for the Modern Smith (Hardcover)
This is a excellent starter book if you are new to Blacksmithing. Very informative and useful reference book. highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect well written, 27 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. C. W. Clemerson (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Backyard Blacksmith: Traditional Techniques for the Modern Smith (Hardcover)
I'm going ahead now I have read the book and aim to use it as a teaching aid. It's very good value when you look at the price of training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Backyard Blacksmith: Traditional Techniques for the Modern Smith
£7.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews