Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars18
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 May 2010
This book is well illustrated and informative although the cover is deceptive as it suggests a stone sculpting book and that was what I wanted; the picture on the front is obviously just that. I wanted a book on all the different methods of sculpting in stone, letter carving, cushion carving, 3d sculpting. Inside however, there are many and varied subjects in sections, including making moulds, working with resins, casting, making armatures and sculptures from all manner of materials including drinking straws and coat hangers. Some of these perhaps would be better in a crafts book and the cover redesigned to reflect the actual contents.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
A great little book for the beginner, covering everything that you need to know to get started, but also gives you an appreciation of the techniques that you'll never get around to trying. Spiral binding is great too - except that there were about 20 pages missing from the first copy that I got. Replaced by Amazon with no quibble.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2011
I ordered this book in the hope of getting a tutorial on the basics of making sculptures. This book covers the basics really well from tools, materials, techniques, finishes.
I found it a great help for understanding the basic principles of sculpture. At the back there is also a good section on completed works of artists.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2011
A very poor book, poor photos , doesnt really go into each topic , just a skim over each topic , dont waste your money like me ..
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2013
Spiral binding and thick covers makes it reliably sturdy for students and studio use. Choice of contents has a nice range of examples, both achievable and aspirational
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
This guide is a really useful text book - taking you through the fundamental processes. It would have been useful in some cases to delve deeper.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
This is very nicely presented. The pages are easy to turn while you work, which is important. The various forms of sculpting are covered with the essential tools and methods, clearly illustrated. The problem I have with it is its title 'Bible'. When I buy a 'bible' for any subject I expect it to be comprehensive. This gives a page or two to each sculptural approach. It just isn't detailed enough for any of them to be considered a 'bible'. It's a little introduction, useful for an art teacher's bookshelf, perhaps, but of very limited use to anyone working or intending to work in one of the sculptural methods. It needs lengthening by about x 10 to be considered a bible. It would be far better to concentrate on one form or material for sculpting.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
Started Art and Design and used this for the sculpture unit for NC and it's got most things needed for the unit!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2009
All you need to know to begin sculpture. Clear comprehensive advice on different methods, tools, clays and associated equipment.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2014
Although a very informative book, I found the pictures rather dull and very hard to actually see what they represented as a finished work or work in progress.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)