Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ever judge yourself on your failures not successes?
John Maxwell once again writes as the reader wants to read. Failing Forward is the perfect book for anyone looking to achieve in their life time. Maxwell, in his first three chapters, will have you hooked as he get you, the reader, to realise that initial failure is the natural process in any successful result. Far to often individuals, groups or teams are cast onto the...
Published on 8 Oct 2000 by mark.holland@breathemail.net

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Failing to hit the spot
This book is often regarded as a classic and is certainly very quoteable as it stresses the undeniable importance of the right attitude to failure. However, this is a bestseller and not a cult book and so it needs to address its audience. We all of us fail and better authors would be able to identify with the hurt, the loss of confidence, the criticism and isolation and...
Published on 5 April 2010 by Stephen Green


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ever judge yourself on your failures not successes?, 8 Oct 2000
John Maxwell once again writes as the reader wants to read. Failing Forward is the perfect book for anyone looking to achieve in their life time. Maxwell, in his first three chapters, will have you hooked as he get you, the reader, to realise that initial failure is the natural process in any successful result. Far to often individuals, groups or teams are cast onto the scrap heap because of failing first time. We must learn Maxwell's teaching if we are to understand ourselves more. This book will be a best seller! It will replace the infamous Magic of Thinging Big as a must read of anyone wanting to practice PMA. Enjoy the read, enjoy the failing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Use Setbacks to Overcome Your Stalled Thinking, 28 May 2004
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Failing Forward is one of the best stallbusting books I have ever read! It focuses on how to handle our emotions when things aren't matching up to our expectations. Dr. Maxwell identifies dozens of stalls that delay progress for those who are experiencing setbacks in their lives.
While most people see setbacks as a negative, Dr. Maxwell points out that there is an important lesson that we can use to accomplish more in the future. Building on that appropriate and valuable perspective, Failing Forward postulates 15 principles that can help you apply the lesson.
Each chapter covers a separate principle and is filled with self-diagnostic questions, as well as heart-warming examples of how people went from apparent failure towards great success.
The work is very consistent with the philosophy of Anthony Robbins. If you are a Robbins fan, you will find this book to be a good complement to Unleash the Power Within.
I strongly recommend that you read this book, and reread it the next time you are feeling sorry for yourself or have a setback. If you care about others, be prepared to loan your copy to the next person who looks morose after having a problem.
Dr. Maxwell also offers a self-diagnostic test on the book's Web site ([...] I took that test and found it helpful to cement my understanding of the book. I recommend that you do this as well.
Unlike most books about self-improvement that are scaled to a level of sophistication, this book should appeal both to those with lots of experience and education as well as those who have yet to develop those perspectives.
The only people who will be confused will be those who have yet to experience any significant setbacks. They will wonder what all the fuss is about. To fill in that point, progress is seldom smooth. It usually looks more like 1 or 2 steps forward, and them some backward. In essence, we are talking about a zig-zag, even when things go well. At other times, the zig-zag can be downward.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How To Use Failure As The Best Thing Ever!, 13 Dec 2008
This review is from: Failing Forward: Turning Mistakes into Stepping Stones for Success (Paperback)
John C Maxwell is a master of taking uncomfortable topics and turning them into benefits. This user friendly, easy readable manual on the wisdom in failing and how to use it creatively for your own and others development is a must read if you happen to be human! To be able to mess up, dust yourself down, take the learning and move forward without the nonsense of shame and with a whole bundle of new skills and abilities is the gift it offers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Self help, 26 Dec 2009
This review is from: Failing Forward: Turning Mistakes into Stepping Stones for Success (Paperback)
Good material recommended for those who seek a productive change in their personal and professional lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Failing Forward: Turning Mistakes into Stepping Stones for Success (Paperback)
The book gives you the opportunity to see failure in a new light and turn it to your advantage.
If you allow it, it can change your view of yourself and of those around you.
Nicely written and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved love highly recommend everyone read this

Implement learn and use this to learn from failure and move through the tough times to reap the rewards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good concept, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Failing Forward: Turning Mistakes into Stepping Stones for Success (Paperback)
A very good book. I like the theories and concepts within. I am now collecting the series.
Its a must for all business minded people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful book, 19 Dec 2012
This review is from: Failing Forward: Turning Mistakes into Stepping Stones for Success (Paperback)
Really i like this because it is useful and helpful for me to leader my life and my company i recommand this book for reader and smart people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for an attitude adjustment, 18 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm really enjoying FF - I read a few chapters a week to savour it as the ideas it puts forward need a bit of attention. Maxwell makes excellent points about how perception of failure works against us and puts up solid arguments for rethinking your attitude to failure, to adjust your understanding of how success is attained. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Failing to hit the spot, 5 April 2010
By 
Stephen Green (Uttoxeter, Staffs. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Failing Forward: Turning Mistakes into Stepping Stones for Success (Paperback)
This book is often regarded as a classic and is certainly very quoteable as it stresses the undeniable importance of the right attitude to failure. However, this is a bestseller and not a cult book and so it needs to address its audience. We all of us fail and better authors would be able to identify with the hurt, the loss of confidence, the criticism and isolation and support us into achievement. The author gives us a number of steps which are well described but isolated in the text of the book. The book gives some very strange examples and often talks about the thin line between success and failure. He cites examples of people who in science have laboured years to make a discovery only to then spend decades more getting it proved. How many readers are going to persue an obsession for all their lives at tremendous cost to everything else in their lives? The book is pitched at the level of heroic do or die success which, while inspirational, is too distant from the reader who wants only to get from useless to ok or fairly good to very good. It could also inspire stubborn pig-headed people who want to be right whatever it costs. This is by no means a bad book but you are reading reviews to check out the rights books for you. By all means read my other reviews to satisfy yourself that I am trying to be objective for the benefit of the reader not the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Failing Forward: Turning Mistakes into Stepping Stones for Success
£7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews