Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Maxwell's basic manifesto on leadership, 18 Jan. 2007
By 
Rolf Dobelli "getAbstract" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
In this early work, leadership expert John C. Maxwell lays out 10 principles of leadership and team building. According to Maxwell, leaders are not born; instead, they develop their skills throughout a lifetime of practice. Perhaps because he was a minister for 25 years, Maxwell is somewhat overly fond of well-worn anecdotes and even ditties, but some readers will find that his charts, pull-quotes, bulleted lists and cartoons help make his ideas easily accessible. We recommend this book to beginning managers who want to learn leadership and to experienced ones who want to progress farther.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent, in-depth look at leadership., 22 Jun. 1998
By A Customer
This is an inspiring and motivating book. Maxwell includes many quotes and stories that make for very enjoyable reading. Developing the Leader Within You hits directly on the crucial areas necessary for all leaders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars everything you wanted to know about becoming a better leader, 27 Jun. 2004
By 
Larry Hehn "Christian in the Rough" (Toronto, ON Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Whether you are an established leader or just getting started, there is something in here that will benefit you. By clearly defining leadership and its five levels, Maxwell starts you off with a strong understanding of the type of leader you can become, and how close you currently are to achieving it.
He then brings clarity to the obstacles that may be in your path and shows you how to clear them out of the way. He helps you to set your priorities, check your integrity, learn how to initiate positive change, and become a problem solver. He stresses the importance of attitude, people, vision and self-discipline. In the end, he shows you not only how to develop your own leadership ability, but how to start developing others as well.
Though sometimes choppy in its presentation, with maybe a few too many quotes and cliches, the content here is top notch. If you are a Maxwell reader, you will see repeats of this material in his other books. But then, some things are worth repeating.
Larry Hehn, author of Get the Prize: Nine Keys for a Life of Victory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Putting Leadership In Action, 26 Nov. 1998
By A Customer
This a Good book it serves it's purpose. This book describes in action what a leader should be. A must book to read for anyone who is in leadership from CEO to Pastor. Apply it to your circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The way to Get More of You., 17 Mar. 2010
As said on Larry Hehn Review (read it please) I just add that not matter which stage you are now,
even on the pre-stage, this book will Help you to Become THE LEADER with The Guidance of GOD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maxwell's Solid Introduction to Leadership is Inspiring!, 23 Mar. 2004
Maxwell has a gift for helping people to advance in their leadership skills. This book is full of practical insights and helpful explanations. Good leaders are people with good attitudes and the right skill sets to motivate others to get the job done. Maxwell helps us to improve our leadership skills by understanding the details and philosophy of leadership. This book is helpful for everyone from pastors to business leaders.
Paul Heier, author of Leading Out of Love
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There is so much wisdom in this book., 11 Mar. 2002
John Maxwell has definitely done the Leadership arena much good in writing this book. I personally suggest that anybody who leads in any capacity must read this book. It is not a volume you read once and put on your bookshelf. It is to be re-consulted over and over again. I beleive it brings an air of change to the era of non-relational leadership that is all around us which tends to focus more on principles rather than people. I still can not get over the depth of knowledge in the book. It definitely has started me off wanting more and more of Dr. Maxwell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent book on leadership., 16 Sept. 1998
By A Customer
In four years I have read this book many times. My original copy is dog-eared and tatty from repeated readings. We bought hundreds of copies for our clients, all of whom are now becoming better leaders. I sent a copy to the General Manager of a resort hotel. He bought a copy for all his heads of departments. I have never met a person who has read 'Developing The Leader' who did not love it. Every aspiring politician should receive a copy and be tested on it before being allowed to hold office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - a real doing book, 2 Nov. 2010
By 
P. A. Caruana "ChristianProgger" (Dunstable, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Developing the Leader Within You (Maxwell, John C.) (Paperback)
I have read quite a few books on leadership now, all high quality. What impresses me about this book is that nearly every principle is backed up with practical examples or insights making it digestible and more understandable for the lay person. Maxwell also writes in a very warm style which is excellent for such subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Direct and inspiring, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I chose five stars because of the easy to read writing style and excellent quotes, stories and anecdotes that drive each point home. I liked the areas of leadership and how it applies not only to CEO 's and directors bug you can apply it to your home, business etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Developing the Leader Within You (Maxwell, John C.)
Developing the Leader Within You (Maxwell, John C.) by John Maxwell (Paperback - 6 April 2012)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews