Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars definitely Christian, but possibly not what you'd expect
Bought in an US airport lounge as the speel in the Author's Note at the front caught my attention.

'I never liked jazz music because jazz music doesn't resolve. But I was outside Bagdad Theatre in Portland one night when I saw a man playing the saxophone. I stood there for 15 minutes, and he never opened his eyes.
After that I liked jazz music...
Published on 15 Dec 2007 by Joanne

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Blue Like Jazz
Harder to read than expected. But a good book overall, more something to dip in and out of really I suppose
Published 13 months ago by SGeraghty


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars definitely Christian, but possibly not what you'd expect, 15 Dec 2007
This review is from: Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality (Paperback)
Bought in an US airport lounge as the speel in the Author's Note at the front caught my attention.

'I never liked jazz music because jazz music doesn't resolve. But I was outside Bagdad Theatre in Portland one night when I saw a man playing the saxophone. I stood there for 15 minutes, and he never opened his eyes.
After that I liked jazz music.
Sometimes you have to watch somebody love something before you can love it yourself. It is as if they are showing you the way.
I used to not like God because God didn't resolve. But that was before any of this happened.'

Pretty American but not anything like stereotypical American Christianity. Seems like Generation X with faith. Probably most attractive to the 20's and 30's age group.

Doesn't seem at all pretentious, just a book by and about someone trying to grapple with their faith in God and how that matches or doesn't with what they grew up being taught.

Really easy to read and will definitely throw up some questions for anyone with a christian based belief system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Christian Woody Allen, 3 Feb 2007
By 
TreforW (Aylesbury, Bucks UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality (Paperback)
Got to the end first time round and decided i just had to go back and highlight all the 'cool' things he says!He is like a Christian Woody Allen - all angst and introspection - but not just about girls, about most things in life, especially his Christian faith. Some seriously funny bits, so be warned. He is a new breed of Christian writers, like Rob Bell, who are sort of re-defining the Christian Faith for this generation. So much of what they say resonates with me. It is not so much that they deconstruct the previous Christian worldview, which is fairly obvious and easy for anyone to do. It is that they write from their own experiences and from their own hearts about why that worldview (or perhaps churchview) does not work for them. They then paint a picture of what the way of Jesus looks like to them.

Miller writes from the experiences of his friendships, and disarmingly passes on his friends wisdom, as if he hasn't got his own views. But he has, and they are 'beautiful' as he would say. Oh, and he doesn't want to talk about 'Christianity' anymore 'because what does that mean anyway?' he wants to talk about 'Christian Spirituality' - Whatever term he uses, let him, he does it so charmingly in a way you want to go with him, even if he is a bit 'flaky and all'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 28 July 2005
This review is from: Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality (Paperback)
this is an amazing book. I loved every word and read it over and over, underlining parts I liked best or things that struck me, writing bits in my journal to think upon. It would be a book I'd lend a friend whom I'd been talking about Christ with. It's so approachable and down to earth and Don is not scared to share honestly, which I found really refreshing.
I think I want to read his other books now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolute joy to read, 14 Sep 2010
By 
TM Bradley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality (Paperback)
An absolutely refreshing read of an American writer struggling with his faith. He tells the stories that have shaped what he believes, as well as bringing up all the problems in life that everyone can readily identify with.

Not only does it make you realise you are not alone in your doubts and temptations, it makes you want to be a more loving person. It's liberal, and slightly cheesy in parts, but also very clever, witty and honest, making the author very endearing. I'd highly recommend it to anyone that is a Christian looking to ignite their passion in their faith, or any non-Christians attempting to destroy stereotypes, and get a true perspective on why there are so many people that believe in God in this world.

A very easy read too...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's as if he is talking to you!, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality (Paperback)
I recommend this book to anyone and everyone.
It's not a taxing read although can be a little depressing at times, but persevere and you will be rewarded!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars lternative, 30 Oct 2013
By 
Bonzo (Southampton UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality (Paperback)
Miller is just a tonic for those who hate traditional fundamental evangelical Christianity. Alternative, real, challenging and a great read for anyone really searching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really good!, 6 Oct 2013
This review is from: Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality (Paperback)
Blue like Jazz reads almost effortlessly without loosing spiritual depth or attempting to shove personal doctrine. Great book both for Christians and non Christians. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I Loved the style, honesty and humour. A great and profound book. Looking forward to reading more from the author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Blue Like Jazz, 7 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality (Paperback)
Harder to read than expected. But a good book overall, more something to dip in and out of really I suppose
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant insight, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality (Paperback)
i loved it, makes me want to learn to love the different qualities of people more with the love of christ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality
Blue Like Jazz: Nonreligious Thoughts on Christian Spirituality by Donald Miller (Paperback - 17 July 2003)
7.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews