Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book but only for people who are prepared to do some work
Excellent book, it covers many topics. Basically this is for the person who wants to build a defence for his/her faith and with this book you are able to pick a topic you wish to defend and find notes, articles, essays on that particular topic.

Then with that you can make up your own defence with the materials provided. So this is not a book where you read it...
Published on 23 May 2011 by Carl Brandice Gayle

versus
15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of reference
My wife found this fascinating, but in my opinion more of a reference book that makes you really put the bible as a document in context. Frankly I was surprised to learn of the meticulous care that has been taken over millennia to ensure the accuracy down to the letter of the bible and the lengths that have been gone through to ensure the meaning of each word is never...
Published on 21 April 2010 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book but only for people who are prepared to do some work, 23 May 2011
By 
Carl Brandice Gayle (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent book, it covers many topics. Basically this is for the person who wants to build a defence for his/her faith and with this book you are able to pick a topic you wish to defend and find notes, articles, essays on that particular topic.

Then with that you can make up your own defence with the materials provided. So this is not a book where you read it from front to back (though you can) and then repeat things in parrot fashion. you have to put some work in and make up your own defence and as a result you make it your own and you actually remember things because as i said before.. its not all parrot fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for the Christian Who Likes to Witness, 4 Mar 2012
By 
Traffic (Kiruna, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am still making my way through this book but have read enough that allows me to make an informed opinion.

It's a fairly large book (I have the hardback version) with a lot of information held within. It can be read either from start to finish, by subject, or simply be dipping in and reading randomly. It contains a lot of different information ranging from the reliablity and origin of the Bible to the evidence put forward for not only the existence of Jesus as a person but also as the divine son of God. Most of the questions that those who either do not believe but are genuninely interested ask, or those that maliciously attack the Christian with questions of a nature in which they try to make out they have studied the Bible and all the evidence from a philosopical bent (you know the type I mean) ask to try and catch you out, can be answered from within the pages of this book.

I sometimes found it hard going but overall a vary easy book to get on with that contains a lot of useful information that will help the Christian witness even agaisnt those malcious types mentioned above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great reference book as well as an interesting one., 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book stands on the shoulders of the previous work with much more than the word NEW added.
The previous phenomenal; this one is also!
The number of researchers alone are impressive, and the amount of detail is too.
It is broad as well as deep in it's coverage, and I'm sure it will be recommended by emminent Christians.
People who aren't Christians shold read it if they are looking for answers.
This work is serious, and should be read by those who are serious about truth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of reference, 21 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict (Hardcover)
My wife found this fascinating, but in my opinion more of a reference book that makes you really put the bible as a document in context. Frankly I was surprised to learn of the meticulous care that has been taken over millennia to ensure the accuracy down to the letter of the bible and the lengths that have been gone through to ensure the meaning of each word is never misinterpreted no matter the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Detailed Book, 15 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As I write I am still working my way through this excellent & detailed book. It covers a wide variety of biblical topics laying out the Christian as well as the skeptics view points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evidence that proves the case, 29 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well researched and logical book that helps you to understand the way people think. I have a greater insight into modern thought and the way people think about Jesus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict
The New Evidence That Demands a Verdict by McDowell Josh (Hardcover - 22 Oct 1999)
Used & New from: 5.35
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews