Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The X-Men Reboot That Started It All, 17 Feb 2010
By 
C. Griffiths (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
To begin it's probably best to clarify where this book fits into the ridiculously large and somewhat confusing X-Men bibliography:

The X-Men started with issue #1 in 1963, these comics were written by Stan Lee and Jack Kirby, the comic was not as sucessful as other Marvel comics of the time and was suspended at issue #66 in 1970.

In 1975 the X-Men were relaunched with a new team and a new writer, Chris Claremont. This is where this omnibus picks up, collecting issues #94 to 131 of X-Men (or 'Uncanny X-Men' as the comic was named named from issue 114 onwards) as well as Giant-Size X-Men #1 and the X-Men Annual #3 (in case you're wondering issues 67 to 93 were just reprints of the older stories).

This relaunch is when the X-Men really started to take the shape that is now so familiar. The new members introduced in the first Giant-Size issue are: Storm, Wolverine, Nightcrawler, Banshee, Colossus, Thunderbird and Sunfire - the only 'original' X-man to remain is the leader: Cyclops, though turnover is quite high in the X-Team and a few changes happen within the first few issues. Members of the original team also crop-up pretty regularly, particularly Beast and Jean Grey/Marvel Girl.

This omnibus collects many of the most famous early X-Men stories, including the Dark Phoenix Saga, a plotline which still crops up in modern X-Men comics (as well as all the adaptations, from movies to animated TV shows) and represents a perfect starting point for anyone interested in reading the classic X-Men stories.

Of course there are those earlier issues from the '60s - which now have their own Omnibus: The X-Men Omnibus Volume 1 Hc Ross Variant which collects X-Men #1-31 (presumably another collection covering #32-66 is in the pipeline). I own both and would say that the '70s Claremont issues are probably the best starting point. The story is pretty much re-booted so it's easy to pick up and it's a bit more accessible and fun than its predecessor. That said the orginal Stan Lee comics still have their charm, though they do feel much more dated.

In addition to a few years worth of X-Men stories (this book is BIG) you also get written introductions, sketches, alternate covers, notes, essays and most entertaining of all the original letters pages - all of these add up to make a book that's not only hugely enjoyable but that also serves as an interesting document in its own right. If you're going to take the plunge and buy a Marvel Omnibus then you certainly can't go wrong by starting with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dated fun, 26 Jun 2014
By 
Alan the Kaz (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncanny X-Men Omnibus Volume 1 (New Printing) (Hardcover)
Going back to something that you loved from your childhood can be a daunting experience. If you've ever tried to re-watch an old episode of 'Thundercats' or 'Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles' (and you're not deluding yourself into thinking that they're still good), then you'll know where I'm coming from. As such, it was with some hesitance that I approached this Marvel Omnibus. Chris Claremont's legendary 20 year run on 'Uncanny X-Men' is considered the most influential period in the franchise's history but, at the same time, Claremont is a writer whose notoriously verbose style is pretty much synonymous with the word “dated”. The black & white reprints of his early stories, from Marvel's “Essential” line, were some of the most defining reads of my teenage years, so perhaps I'd be best of leaving the cherished memories, instead of risking another “Thundercats”. However, against my better judgement, I read this book and, frankly... I had nothing to worry about.

Let me get the glaring problem out of the way first. Yes, Claremont's writing has undeniably dated. There are many instances where, for example, a character will go into a big monologue to explain something that a modern writer would never explain when the art expressed it perfectly. Also, the story-lines aren't quite as “epic” and “deep” as I remember them being as a teenager. As such, I would never recommend this collection to a new adult comic book reader. However, these are, nonetheless, some pretty excellent superhero comics, and they definitely represent the X-Men at their most quintessential. Of course, I don't expect (or want) the X-Men to remain like this 40 years later, but when I read this I really did feel pangs of nostalgia for when the characterisation was just so spot on, when Storm was an amazing character, and Wolverine was still mysterious (and small and ugly!). The only character I didn't really care for was the clichéd Russian strongman, Colossus, the only X-Man in here that I think it took later writers to flesh out. Similarly, Magneto was a pretty bland super villain within these pages, and it would be a few more years before Claremont himself would turn him into the three dimensional character he is now.

Another problem is that, with Claremont being a newcomer just taking over the reins of the series, it takes a little while for the book to really hit its stride. The first issue, 'Giant-Size X-Men' #1 by Wein and Mantlo, while of great historical value to the X-Men and pop culture in general for introducing the “all new, all different” X-Men to the world, is a pretty average 1970s superhero comic. The quality improves when Claremont joins as co-writer in 'X-Men' #94, and then shoots up again when he's free to do whatever he likes as sole writer from #96. However, it isn't until John Byrne joins Claremont as regular artist and co-plotter at #108 that the series really begins to shine. Without wanting to detract from Claremont's unbelievable contributions to this franchise, it's not really fair to look at his entire 20 year run as a homogeneous entity that single-handedly redefined comics. In reality, the truly stand-out moments of that run were from the Claremont/Byrne partnership, of which the cream of the cream doesn't happen until vol. 2 of this Omnibus series (which re-prints most of “The Dark Pheonix Saga”, which begins in this volume, and all of “Days of Future Past”).

The way I'm glowing over this book probably makes me sound like I'm reviewing a dated 'Watchmen'. No. The level of sophistication in here is nowhere near that, nor is it even close to the likes of Grant Morrison's 'New X-Men' run, or Joss Whedon's 'Astonishing X-Men'. However, what this book reprints, in a beautiful and worthy hardcover, are some absolutely solid 1970s and '80s superhero comics. If you're into the X-Men, and you can look past its many flaws to appreciate it for what it is, then you can't do much worse. But, if you're new to the series, perhaps after watching the movies, I'd recommend starting off with something a bit more modern (like the Whedon run), and then maybe working your way back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Essential X-Men, 18 July 2010
Could form a suitable alternate title for this volume.

Documenting the (then)new team's early days, the reader can trace the origins of the book from its admittedly humble beginnings and witness the fertile ground that was laid to produce the mega multi genre franchise that it remains to this day.

The early issues sparkle with ideas and visual flair ( largely due to the late Dave Cockrum's masterful character and costume design).

The early Claremont (and Len Wein )/ Cockrum stories climax nicely in the "Starjammers" saga when - shock- the artist changes mid story. John Byrne and Terry Austin took on the artistic chores and the book soared to heights surely never envisaged at the time?

From that point the reader can enjoy some of the slickest, most enjoyable comics ever produced. An almost perfect meshing of talents. Each creator has done great things since leaving the title but none have ever been better than during this period together.

Excellent storylines take the X-Men around the globe mixing character with fast moving action. Looking back each issues contains an almost impossible amount of story, certainly compared to todays much slower paced comic books.

The volume is beautifully produced, archive quality with beautifully restored colours. A thoughtful addition is the inclusion of the original letters pages allowing the reader to track fans opinion through the saga.

Despite the other reviewers comments, the volume does NOT contain the "Dark Phoenix" saga which you will have to purchase separately in either softback or "Marvel Masterworks" Vol 5 format ( follows on directly from the omnibus in numbering) and is well worth your time and money

All in all well worth tracking down as an essential purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Run On The Uncanny X-Men Begins Here, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncanny X-Men Omnibus Volume 1 (New Printing) (Hardcover)
Been a fan of the x-men for many years,This is what started the obsession with them.I do own some of the original comics in this collection but you can't go wrong with this omnibus.A total of forty issues in one massive book featuring fantastic writing & art from two legends of the comic book industry Chris Claremont & John Byrne also the late great Dave Cockrum does art duties on issues Giant Size X-Men 1-Uncanny X-Men 107,108-131 are by John Byrne.

With over 800 pages of X-men action YOU can't go wrong with this book. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Uncanny x-men kmnibus, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Bruno P. L. Figueiredo (Belo Horizonte, MG Brazil) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncanny X-Men Omnibus Volume 1 (New Printing) (Hardcover)
Very good stories!! I grew up with the animated series, and i am loving seeing where everything came from!!! Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars UNCANNY X-MEN OMNIBUS VOL 1 NEW PRINTING, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncanny X-Men Omnibus Volume 1 (New Printing) (Hardcover)
Brilliant! Claremont at his magical best. Great to see the old covers and remember how great and innovative these stories really were.
A fantastic trip back though time.
Just unsure how much I rate the new thinner paper.
Will it stand the test of time or will it fade like the original comics.

J.U.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New printing review, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Uncanny X-Men Omnibus Volume 1 (New Printing) (Hardcover)
As mentioned above, this is a review of the new printing of the omnibus that I received just last week. I haven't read it yet so will only be able to comment on the book itself, not its contents.

As always, Marvel have done very well with this omnibus. It looks and feels like a premium product. My one observation is that I suspect the paper stock for this reprint is a bit thinner than that used originally. Obviously (as I don't buy multiple copies of these things), this is speculation on my part but, when compared with my Amazing Spiderman omnibus which I think came out at roughly the same time as the original printing, the paper is noticeably thinner and less rigid. Although this may draw criticsim from some due to a less "high end" quality of paper, it does make the book much more easy to read. By way of comparison, the reprint could be read in a similar way to a relatively standard size hardback (albeit with bigger pages), whereas the Amazing Spiderman omnibus is so thick and heavy it almost has to be read at a table (which isn't all that covenient unless you live in a library).

The (presumed) shrinking in thickness does, however, highlight one of this collection's more confusing and frustrating aspects. Whereeas other omnibus collections have had a natural end point, this one ends mid-way through the Dark Phoenix Saga. As a result, the reader is either best advised to stop reading before the end (to avoid the sudden cliffhanger) or go buy another book collecting that story to see how it ends (I fortunately already own just such a book, so bully for me). I see that volume 2 of this omnibus set is due sometime in April 2014 and so should finish the story (so, if you can bear to wait a bit, do so, while feeling empathy for those that have been waiting since the original printing for the conclusion to this tale), but it just seems odd that they would either not put the whole thing here or leave it for that future edition.

On the whole then, another cracking Marvel omnibus. I have sadly become a bit addicted to these and appear to be buying them at a rate quicker than I can read them. Giiven the notable discount that a pre-order attracts and the ridiculous mark-up on these things once out of print, I don't see that trend stopping anytime soon. They really are the best (and most cost-effective) way to build and keep a collection of some of the most significant comics and stories from the early days of the medium and I for one applaud Marvel for their efforts. DC/Warner are still lagging a bit but at least are starting to move in the right direction now. Truth be told, though, I've always tended to make mine Marvel so I'm much more likely to be getting these than those from the Distinguished Competition.

In summary - a great reprint of some of the most iconic comics from the 70s and a must-have for any fan of the X-Men.'Nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Being Reprinted!!!!, 19 Mar 2013
By 
L. Poole - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This enormous tome is coming out as a new edition on 4 September 2013!!!!

Hold on tight.

Written by Chris Claremont with Len Wein and Bill Mantlo, pencilled by John Byrne and Dave Cockrum With Bob Brown, Tony Dezuniga and George Perez, featuring cover artwork by Gil Kane; collecting Giant-Size X-Men #1, X-Men issues #94 to 131 and also Annual #3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Good, the Bad and the All-Old, All-Boring X-Men Have Left The Building, 4 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
THE GOOD: This is one hell of a collection. Collecting Giant-Size X-Men #1 (that brought us Nightcrawler, Storm and Collossus, as well as having Sunfire, Banshee and Wolverine join the X-Men), we get #94 to 131 and Uncanny X-Men Annual #3 which takes us through the Cockrum and Wein issues and well into the classic Claremonet and Byrne run. We get the first appearances of the Shi'ar, Dazzler, the Hellfire Club, Emma Frost, Phoenix, Shadow King, Kitty Pryde and Alpha Flight. This truly is the classic X-Men era. So... why not give it five stars...?

THE BAD: If someone wanted to read X-Men now, I wouldn't start them here. I'm not a fan of Cockrum's art and Chris Claremont was finding his feet for the biggest chunk of this part of his run on the title. Sure when John Byrne enters the fray, things pick up. His art is still beautiful to this day and I don't think that will ever age, but the story-telling has. The Proteus issues are still cool, though, and we get the first three parts of the Dark Phoenix Saga which is just a chunk of the true highlights of the Claremont/Byrne run. I alsmot wish Proteus, Dark Phoenix and the Days of Future Past issues made up volume 2 and that would be a perfect book. If I was trying to get a non-comics fan into comics, I wouldn't start here. All due respect to this run, but it's not for newbies.

THE ALL-OLD, ALL-BORING X-MEN HAVE LEFT THE BUILDING: Let's face it, the X-Men were dull as hell and nobody really cared about them. They'd had their own series since 1963, yet there was always a footnote when someone made reference to them in another title, explaining who they were until the early 80s. And the change in the X-Men, the thing that made them great was the introduction of true diversity to mutants in GSXM#1, followed by Claremont & Byrne. For a Marvel fan and DEFINITELY for an X-Men fan, this is essential. All we need now is Volume 2...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Uncanny X-Men Omnibus Volume 1 (New Printing)
Uncanny X-Men Omnibus Volume 1 (New Printing) by John Byrne (Hardcover - 17 Sep 2013)
48.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews