Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ditko Sets the Spidey Style
Be warned: you'll need both hands to lift this mighty tome. Here we have the first ever appearance of everyone's favourite wall-crawler in Amazing Fantasy # 15, as well as the first 38 issues of The Amazing Spider-Man, plus the first two AS-M Annuals and, as a bonus, the meeting between Spidey and the Human Torch from Strange Tales Annual # 1.
Artist, Steve Ditko,...
Published on 7 July 2009 by Greywolf

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars AS Omni
The corners of the cover were slightly bent/ damaged.
I expected this to be in a better condition since it is a collector's item
Published 14 months ago by Konstadinos Vasileiadis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ditko Sets the Spidey Style, 7 July 2009
By 
Greywolf (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Be warned: you'll need both hands to lift this mighty tome. Here we have the first ever appearance of everyone's favourite wall-crawler in Amazing Fantasy # 15, as well as the first 38 issues of The Amazing Spider-Man, plus the first two AS-M Annuals and, as a bonus, the meeting between Spidey and the Human Torch from Strange Tales Annual # 1.
Artist, Steve Ditko, and scripter, Stan Lee, created Spider-Man in 1962. From the first issue it was clear that we were in for something different. Peter Parker, a.k.a. the Amazing Spider-Man, was not your average super-hero. He was a weedy kid with glasses, a socially inept science geek who lived with his aged aunt. He spent as much time worrying about school bullies as about super-villains. Heck, we even see him sewing his own Spidey costume. He was, as Stan Lee described him to his readers, "The super-hero who could be you." Ditko, with his moody, film noire lighting, strange, jarring perspectives and emotionally expressive figures, was the perfect choice to bring this off-the-wall character to life. And the rest, as they say, is history.
These stories set the tone for Spider-Man in ways that are still obvious across the Marvel Universe to this day. In them, Ditko created a gallery of rogues who remain staples of the MU: The Lizard, The Scorpion, Kraven the Hunter and, of course, the Green Goblin and Doctor Octopus.
Many of these tales stand the test of time remarkably well, combining great characterisation and snappy dialogue with Ditko's unique, highly stylised art and brilliant gift for visual storytelling. All these elements come together in the story arc that runs from issue 31 to 33. This remains one of the high points of graphic storytelling, including the legendary sequence in which Spidey is pinned under a ton of machinery for 7 straight pages. I doubt that any other artist would even have thought of trapping his hero, immobile, for 7 pages, let alone turn it into one of the greatest tours-de-force in the history of the comics' medium. And then he caps it off with an 8th page which rates as one of the most awesome splash pages ever. Ditko in 1965 was at the top of his game, and what a game it was.
Wonderful stuff then, with the usual caveats about the shiny paper, over-bright inks and artwork that is copied from Ditko rather than original. That said, it's still a collection of must-have tales that you'd need a serious bank loan to buy in their original format. A copy of Amazing Fantasy 15, published at 10 cents, sold in 2007 for $227,000 dollars!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 27 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Amazing Spider-Man Omnibus - Volume 1 (New Printing) (Marvel Omnibus) (Hardcover)
First things first, some serious bodybuilding is going to have to be in place before you can begin reading. This thing is HEAVY. But what a treat you have in store. I have been a fan of Spiderman since the 70's when my friend and I used to make the weekly pilgrimage to a comic book store in New Cross called Weird Fantasy. I remember so clearly the huge picture of spiderman they had over the door as you walked in. I still have many of those comics all these years later, and have been looking for an anthology that does justice to such an iconic figure ever since.
This book is it and it really is difficult to convey just how good it is. You need to have it, see it and read it,to appreciate the quality and attention to detail that has made this, in my humble opinion, the definitive account of everyone's favorite webslinger. First up it is printed on superb quality paper that does justice to the faithfully reproduced artwork of Ditko who to me was the seminal Spiderman artist, never surpassed. I was gobsmaked to discover that the iconic cover of AF #15 was drawn not by Ditko but by Jack Kirby apparently because Stan Lee felt that Ditko's cover did not convey enough action in it! And guess what....Ditko's original never used cover is reproduced in this volume (which for the record I actually prefer to Kirby's but then I never was much of a fan, favoring Ditko's quirky unique style every time)
It is these little nuggets that make this book such a delight, you will find every issues letter pages reproduced which breathes life into the stories and provides a slice of 60's Americana which is fascinating and adds to the overall experience.
The quality of the binding in this new reprint can't go unmentioned. The ability to place this book on a flat surface, which you will invariably have to do unless you require muscles like Schwarzenegger, and be able to leaf through it without fear of splitting the spine cannot be overstated.
Ultimately this is a book to read and reminisce. It certainly took me back to a kinder gentler time when life seemed somehow less complicated.
Recommended without hesitation.
Nuff said!
Excelsior!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Reprinting of the Ditko Spider-Man as of 2013, 4 Oct. 2013
By 
J. Gill (Derby,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazing Spider-Man Omnibus - Volume 1 (New Printing) (Marvel Omnibus) (Hardcover)
Paper is good, binding is good and the colours are good.
Far better than the rubbish effort of the Masterwork edition.
Better layout means that its easier to read than the first printing.
If I had to own 1 Spider-Man book - this would be it.
The only alternative could be a future Panini reprint, and that would be much cheaper - but smaller, and perhaps preferable for some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gonna be reprinted!!, 19 Mar. 2013
By 
L. Poole - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
New edition due out 28 August 2013.

Worth waiting for...a thing of beauty and a joy forever. Ditko was THE Spidey creator never matched before or since. He also created the look, the villains and plotted most of the stories too.

If only he'd stayed another year...or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Ditko, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazing Spider-Man Omnibus - Volume 1 (New Printing) (Marvel Omnibus) (Hardcover)
I bought it to revisit the best comic artist of all time, Steve Ditko. I used to buy these comics when I was kid. My dear Dad, who didn't understand, made me get rid of them when I was around 17, saying I was too old for them. If I'd kept them I'd be a little richer than I am now, haha. Long live Steve Ditko!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Old Early Days when they knew how to write Spidey..., 17 Nov. 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In the wake of events which have probably ruined the character of Spider-Man like One More Day (Spidey doesn't make deals with the devil, people! He isn't Ghost Rider!) and its follow-up in Brand New Day, its refreshing to be able to read and buy such a fantastic collection of Spidey comics. Whilst certainly bunky and liable to take up a lot of your bookshelf, the Marvel Omnibuses like this one feature fun, if perhaps slightly dated, tales of Spider-Man's early days. This booklet features no less than...

- The Origin of Spider-Man!
- The Origin of some of his deadliest enemies, including Doctor Octopus, Green Goblin, Sandman, Lizard, Electro, Kraven the Hunter and more!
- Both of Peter's main girlfriends before a certain redhead made her first appearance, Betty Brant and Gwen Stacy, plus beloved supporting characters like Aunt May, Flash Thompson and the ever enraged J Jonah Jameson!

In short, if you're enraged at how badly Peter's been writen lately in the comics, pick this up. If nothing else, the characters were all original and yet to be riped off a thousand times over in the years to come. If you pick any two Omnibuses for your Marvel collection, get this one and the Fantastic Four one, another great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easily the best purchase I've made in years, 31 May 2014
This review is from: Amazing Spider-Man Omnibus - Volume 1 (New Printing) (Marvel Omnibus) (Hardcover)
This is the definitive collection of Spider-Man. I am not going to say who parker is, other reviews that done that. You could even, if you were insanely rich, by the individual comics but you shouldn't. GET THIS!!! This volume holds all the stories, check, the variant art and rough sketches, check, letters to the editor, check, letters and newsletters from Stan Lee to his fans, check and finally a list of all the first appearances so you can find your favourite villain easily without searching through pages and pages. This is one of the best buys you can get as a comic collector, it was so good by fiance who doesn't like spider-man was peering over my shoulder to glimpse the first battle with scorpion or the icon Final Chapter artwork.

This is £45 so the price of three normal volumes and for that you get at least 5 volumes worth of comics plus everything else I mentioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 11 Feb. 2014
By 
Neil H. Smith (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazing Spider-Man Omnibus - Volume 1 (New Printing) (Marvel Omnibus) (Hardcover)
Glad to see this back in print and in a much better bound volume too!!!!!!!!! The best of the best really.....buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing !!, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazing Spider-Man Omnibus - Volume 1 (New Printing) (Marvel Omnibus) (Hardcover)
My expectations were high for this graphic novel (omnibus) , and they were 100% met when it was delivered , everything was perfect i.e the condition the weight and the sewn binding is amazing and allows flexibility and enables the pages to lay flat . The story is phenomenal and vintage and unbeatable - i would highly recommend this Omnibus to every comic/graphic novel/history lover . . . MIND BLOWING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Fans and the Curious, 13 Jun. 2007
By 
C. Giles (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Spiderman is a well known character, the villans and the cast of players are well known to the casual reader and the avid watcher of the cartoons and films. So going over the stories I will not do for my capsual review. What I can talk about, is what a beautiful book this is to own. The binding and printing is second to none. The artwork has all been cleaned and really stand out from the page. For the real fan you get insights to many aspects of the character and his history, and some lovely unpublished art. To Sum up, the Fan gets the definitive edition to stories we have read thousands of times. And for the curious, you get a beautiful book with all the wondeful stories written and drawn by Stan Lee and Steve Ditco in one collective volume. I feel this is a must have for just about anyone wanting to know more about Spidey. Roll on the John Romita Era :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amazing Spider-Man Omnibus - Volume 1 (New Printing) (Marvel Omnibus)
£61.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews