Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!
Arived quickly and in good condition. First graphic novel series that i've read for a while. Fantastic artwork and a great story. As with all time travel stories its kinda a bit funky, but knowingly so. The read heart of the story is in the morality the gods themselves and how Thor thinks/feels about what he battles.
Published 9 days ago by Kanachi

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars God of Blunders
Yea and I did look upon thy second tome of Thor, God Of Blunders, and I was not well pleased to see logic and common sense has forsaken this story and Scribe Aaron is determinedly yanking thy beard!

Ok I'm gonna stop talking like that because I can't keep it up. But yeah, this one isn't good. I did read the first volume and had numerous problems with it, but...
Published 2 months ago by Noel


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: God of Thunder Volume 2 - Godbomb (Marvel Now) (Hardcover)
Arived quickly and in good condition. First graphic novel series that i've read for a while. Fantastic artwork and a great story. As with all time travel stories its kinda a bit funky, but knowingly so. The read heart of the story is in the morality the gods themselves and how Thor thinks/feels about what he battles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars “Perhaps this is one of those alternate futures that the X-Men are always going on about”, 25 Dec 2013
By 
Gareth Simon (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Thor: God of Thunder Volume 2 - Godbomb (Marvel Now) (Hardcover)
The story which runs through issues #6-11 of Marvel Now’s Thor God of Thunder comic is collected as Thor God of Thunder: Godbomb. This concludes the Thor: God of Thunder story from the preceding volume, though it somehow lacks something the first half had. Maybe I read the first half expecting less that I got, and so read the second half expecting something much more. There is nothing wrong with this volume, and it delivers quite a lot, as we end up with the young Thor from the Viking age joining then God Squad – we even get to meet Allfather Thor’s granddaughters! I suppose that if you liked the first half of this story, then you will like the second half; and if you loved the first half, then you’ll like the second half.

THE SPOILER ZONE
Issue #6 is the origin of the God Butcher – who appears to have acquired a Venom-like symbiote to become the God Butcher. The rest of the story sees Young Thor kidnapped by the God Butcher and taken to his world where he has enslaved the inhabitants of Allfather Thor’s Asgard and is forcing them to build the Godbomb – a device that will kill all gods in the universe. Young Thor stages a breakout, but fails to achieve anything, but is fortunately rescued by the older Thors, who have sailed from Asgard to do final battle with the God Butcher. There is a bit more to it all than that, of course, as we meet some of the enslaved inhabitants of the future Asgard, as well as discovering the true nature of Shadrak, god of Bombs…

This is an entertaining adventure, with much wit in the scripting, especially in the way the time-travel paradoxes are actually discussed and eventually resolved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars God of Blunders, 20 Jan 2014
By 
Noel - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Thor: God of Thunder Volume 2 - Godbomb (Marvel Now) (Hardcover)
Yea and I did look upon thy second tome of Thor, God Of Blunders, and I was not well pleased to see logic and common sense has forsaken this story and Scribe Aaron is determinedly yanking thy beard!

Ok I'm gonna stop talking like that because I can't keep it up. But yeah, this one isn't good. I did read the first volume and had numerous problems with it, but fans of the series told me, no dude, you're only seeing half of the complete story - you've got to read the second volume to get how awesome it is! So I did - I'm an open-minded guy always on the lookout for awesome comics - but unfortunately no, it wasn't better. In fact it was worse because it made less sense than the first volume!

The story is: a madman called Gorr is killing gods left and right giving him the name The God Butcher. He's built a bomb to kill all of the gods and is determined to set it off, destroying every single god that ever was or will be. Only Thor can stop him - all three of him, past, present and future!

The stuff I liked: as you might expect from having three different Thors showing up, time travel is a factor, and I hate time travel, but Thor does acknowledge the inherent stupidity of time travel as a storytelling concept. I also liked that present Thor and future Thor got drunk and drove their space boat - galactic drunk driving! - which was funny. I liked Thor's granddaughters who're crazy and cool and should get their own series, plus Thor swinging two Mjolnirs is all kinds of awesome. And lastly, I liked the godbomb itself.

The godbomb, when detonated, will explode through time killing every god who ever lived or ever will. While it's so out there conceptually, nuts and over the top, I like that about it. In a story about Thor fighting a time travelling monster through time and space, this doomsday device should be as weird and crazy as it is - it's a Marvel comic after all! It's like Jim Starlin himself came up with it.

That's the good stuff and it's mostly little things. The bad stuff is to do with the bigger aspects of the story. Oh, and fair warning - spoilers ahead.

One of my problems with the first book was that Gorr (Gorr = gore, and he's a butcher, geddit?) didn't have a motivation for doing what he was doing. Well, in the first chapter of this book we see it. Why would a man want to kill a god? It's because he believed in them and they didn't answer his prayers and let his family die. In other words, bad things happening to good people. Oh, boo hoo! Can you get more clichéd? How many times have we seen a man lose his faith and turn against it? Like Jason Aaron's version of Thanos' origin, recasting him with a serial killer mindset, it's unoriginal and deeply unimaginative.

For some reason there's a lot of Christian imagery in a book without any Christians. I get that many people in real life believe in the Judeo-Christian god, but we don't see him (or any Earth deity besides Thor) in the story - so why all the Christian imagery? Gorr crucifies gods left and right (Jesus' death), he allows his god-slaves to rest on the seventh day (the Creation myth), Thor dies and is resurrected three days later (like Jesus), and there are three Thors (the Holy Trinity). It's a contrived idea because these things would mean something to many readers but nothing at all to any of the characters in the book - why is Gorr so enamoured with the Christian religion above all others? We don't know, but we do know he's obsessed with Thor - so why don't we see any references to the Viking religion?

What is a god? Is it just a being with superpowers like Thor who is worshipped by lesser beings - are the X-Men gods? Why do gods need to be worshipped? Why is this concept of a god universal to billions of star systems in the universe? This is inherently a humanistic concept isn't it? And why is there a God of Bombs? Are bombs sentient? Do they worship Shadrak, the God of Bombs? Did he give himself the title? What makes him a god? What makes any of them a god? There must be varying levels of powers, so Thor is obviously a god to humans but what about other alien races to whom he might be less powerful and therefore not a god? In a story where there are literally a billion gods, are they all of the same power level as Thor? If not, why are they considered gods?

If Gorr is able to time-travel whenever he wants to, why not travel to when Thor was a baby and kill him then? Why wait until there are three adult, fully powered Thors to fight (and defeat) him? The god-slaves have somehow secretly built their own bomb without Gorr knowing about it? When past Thor throws this bomb at the Godbomb, he suddenly appears on the ship with present and future Thor - how?!

But probably the most damning plot hole in the book is at the end when present Thor is killed but brought back to life by future Thor. This is why I hate time-travel stories: if present Thor died, future Thor would've died as well, right? They're the same person after all. Future Thor should've disappeared rather than stuck around for three days, giving him the time to raise present Thor back from the dead.

I really tried with this story but I honestly don't know what people love about this comic. Verily it is terribly overrated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For my 9 year old grandson, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thor: God of Thunder Volume 2 - Godbomb (Marvel Now) (Hardcover)
He really liked this one. He lives in Canada and still likes his comics. He is a great reader of Thor, so this did well as a present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The God of Gods, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Culleton (Winchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Thor: God of Thunder Volume 2 - Godbomb (Marvel Now) (Hardcover)
There may be spoilers ahead...

Following on from Thor: God of Thunder, Jason Aaron, Esad Ribic and the rest of the creative team continue the tale of the God Butcher as he faces three Thor's, brought together through time to stop Gorr from unleashing his ultimate weapon of doom, the Godbomb, crafted for 900 years with one intent; destroy all Gods through all time.

This five-part story has the same epic-ness as Aaron's first volume. This time, the younger Thor is enslaved on Gorr's black world, where Gods from across the cosmos have been mining broken moons for Gorr's weapon, which is fuelled by the blood of deities. Thor finds his future self's granddaughters; Atli, Ellisiv and Frigg Wodendottir, the Goddesses of Thunder, and together they formulate an attack on the Godbomd.

Meanwhile, Thor the Avenger and ancient King Thor of Asgard sail through space to join forces with their younger self and face Gorr in one last battle. At each turn though, Gorr is able to thwart the attacks and it seems that he may just be able to carry out his deadly plan and wipe out all Gods from the universe once and for all.

With stunning artwork (including the covers) once more from Esad Ribic, this new era of Thor under the Marvel NOW! revolution just gets better and better. Visually breathtaking, with great scenes, great action and great dialogue, especially between the three Thor's, this story simply must be already among the great classic Thor stories Marvel has ever produced. When you have quality lines such as "Still a few billion light years, but we've got a good solar wind at our backs and ale a plenty." "We've no more ale." "Hela's pale bosom, boy! Go polish thine hammer or practice growing a beard before I cast thy ass overboard!" you can tell this is a Thor script that is NOT from the Stan Lee, Larry Lieber and Jack Kirby era - this is pure 21st century Thor fiction.

And I love it.

If you haven't jumped on the Thor: God of Thunder bandwagon yet, I urge you to do so now. Both volume 1 and this volume (you will definitely need vol 1 before you read this) are utterly brilliant and I thirst for more Thor action by Jason Aaron. I simply haven't got a bad thing to say about this or his first volume. So grab a barrel of mead, buy this, and enjoy the ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae9f11ec)

This product

Thor: God of Thunder Volume 2 - Godbomb (Marvel Now)
Thor: God of Thunder Volume 2 - Godbomb (Marvel Now) by Esad Ribic (Hardcover - 22 Oct 2013)
12.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews