Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crisis on Infinite Earths!
The story running through the New Avengers issues #1-6 is collected as New Avengers - Volume 1: Everything Dies (Marvel Now). In this story, the Black Panther discovers, and captures, someone blowing up parallel-world Earths. Despite having once walked out on them – see New Avengers: Illuminati Premiere HC - he calls for the Illuminati to assemble to investigate the...
Published 9 months ago by Mr. Mice Guy

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To Infinity and beyond...
There may be spoilers ahead...

Jonathan Hickman takes the New Avengers in a different direction from the recent rosters, bringing back the Illuminati to face the threats that other teams cannot.

The Illuminati are a secret team of superheroes, originally consisting of Iron Man, Dr Strange, Professor X, Black Bolt, Namor and Mr Fantastic. One or two...
Published 11 months ago by Culleton


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crisis on Infinite Earths!, 12 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: New Avengers - Volume 1: Everything Dies (Marvel Now) (Hardcover)
The story running through the New Avengers issues #1-6 is collected as New Avengers - Volume 1: Everything Dies (Marvel Now). In this story, the Black Panther discovers, and captures, someone blowing up parallel-world Earths. Despite having once walked out on them – see New Avengers: Illuminati Premiere HC - he calls for the Illuminati to assemble to investigate the threat, as it turns out the entire multiverse is doomed, or at least the Earth’s in them are. Long story short – parallel-Earths are colliding, causing destruction of their universes, and shortening the life of the multiverse. Therefore one of the colliding Earths in each event has to be destroyed to save both universes and keep the multiverse going. This story is the Avenger’s equivalent of the author’s big cosmic threats from his recent (and most spectacular) run on the Fantastic Four, with the Infinity Gauntlet being assembled to help stop the threat – an action that draws the attention of the Watcher, Galactus and Thanos – and an encounter with a parallel-world Galactus and his herald Terrax on an Earth where a statue of Magneto stands on Liberty Island:
Stark: “Many worlds. All of them cannot be ours.”
Just to complicate things, there are races of mini-Galactuses that attack Earths that are in the process of collision and loot them, and would you believe it, our Earth is about to collide with a looted Earth, so although the Illuminati can destroy the other Earth with a less-murky than usual conscience – oh, while I remember, they zapped Captain America a while back so he has forgotten that the club exists – but unfortunately, the Blue Meanies from the ravaged Earth are attacking ours, and the collision point of the Earths would just happen to be Latveria. Only in a comic book, hey?

Anyway, this is definitely a cosmic level story, and, although in the Black Panther’s opening segment at the beginning there is a very human-level story, after that it is all very epic and widescreen, despite much of it taking place in small secret lairs. The story is masterfully told, with superb artwork switching from lots of little panels at the personal-stuff level to widescreen when the big stuff happens. And I’m sure they have hommage’d an old JLA/JSA crisis cover along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Political Avengers, 9 Sep 2013
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: New Avengers - Volume 1: Everything Dies (Marvel Now) (Hardcover)
There is a damn fine reason as to why Johnathan Hickman took over the main Avengers titles. Unlike Brian Michael Bendis, Hickman can deliver and boy does he deliver. Not only that, he has a sound history of building stories, layer upon layer and this is the first chapter. If you prefer the usual Avengers tales of fighting, explosions and thin plot then give this a miss.

Some may complain about this being dialogue heavy but they miss the point. When you gather together the Illuminati, you gather secrets and lies, rivalries and mistrust. Tony Stark's witty banter will not cut the mustard as this is serious stuff. So if you want something light-hearted and formulaic then now is the time to get off. The Illuminati is an interesting dynamic. Within their grasp are the Infinity gems which should be the hint you need to know things are not going to end well. Paranoia and suspicion is rife amongst the group and for good reason. Its no secret than both Namor and Black Panther hate one another. Will the weakness of man succumb to the power of the Infinity gems? Alas they barely have time to think about such matters due on a galactic wide threat which only raises it's head in this first volume.

Steve Epting does a grand job on the art whilst the cherry on top see's Jock continue his fine tradition of eye catching covers. So for those of you who grew tired of Bendis's failure to deliver, get on board the Hickman express. Sure its a slow build but it has a lot more to offer than wham, bam, thank you maam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars New Illuminati, 8 April 2014
Hate that they insist on calling this ‘New Avengers.’
This is the Illuminati as they should have been written since their introduction.
This is beautiful, intelligent and grown up storytelling at it’s best.
Art wise it’s classy and atmospheric with each character a well defined consistent figure.
I really like that Reed Richards actually has a fairly normally proportioned body and face, not a ridiculously thin faced sliver of a man looking old enough to be his own grandfather. This is much more how I think Reed should be.
Namor comes over very pompous which seems to be Marvel’s default position on him these days, the Black Panther is proud and intelligent whilst Black Bolt gets little to do but nevertheless has presence.
Iron Man is played a little too much for laughs – although someone needs to break the tension.
The Beast replaces Prof X and the idea of Captain America fitting into this group is addressed in an…interesting…way.
The Infinity Gauntlet spent a few decades being the Galactic-Weapon-of-Mass-Destruction coveted by the biggest bad guys and here it is put in it’s proportionate place.
These are high stakes being played for here and the players know it, how they deal with those stakes retains the humanity that I didn’t think might be on show.
The ‘New Avengers’ label suggests much that is thankfully no longer applicable.
This is the ‘new’ way at looking at Marvel Now.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars In this case, New does mean better, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: New Avengers - Volume 1: Everything Dies (Marvel Now) (Hardcover)
T'Challa aka Black Panther makes a startling discovery - parallel universe Earths are crashing into one another and one is headed to crash into our Earth! With an INFINITE number of EARTHs all destined to be destroyed, the Illuminati are in a CRISIS. What would be a good title for this story? Everything Dies!

T'Challa convenes a meeting in Wakanda with the Illuminat to decide what to do next. The Illuminati are the biggest brains in the Marvel U (sans Bruce Banner), Reed Richards, Tony Stark, Black Panther (left but returned for this book), Namor, Doctor Strange and Black Bolt, Beast as Professor X's replacement, and the bizarre addition of Captain America. The only reason Cap might be on the Illuminati is because this book is pointlessly called New Avengers and apparently every freakin' iteration of the Avengers has to have this dude regardless of whether he fits or not.

Anyway, T'Challa captures an alternate universe character called Black Swan (Hickman's character names are just the worst) who has a device that literally blows up planets! Everything Dies is a morality story as the Illuminati must decide how far they will go to protect their world and how many must die to save many more.

After reading Hickman's other Avengers title and the Infinity mini-series and utterly disliking both, I was surprised that his New Avengers book was really good, especially as it's yet another Hickman story about the end of the world (a tired cliché of Hickman's you'll notice if you've read a few of his books). Part of why this book is better than the others is because Hickman's managed to keep the cast to a reasonable level rather than the sprawling mass of costumes he's got in Avengers and Infinity, and kept the crazy new characters to a minimum as well. Though calling this New Avengers is a bit misleading as it stars the Illuminati, and Cap, but the title Avengers has more recognition than Illuminati, so here we are.

The story sounds like gibberish and yet you can follow what's happening and more or less understand the story, a damn near miracle when it comes to a Hickman book these days! Because the Illuminati are the holders of the Infinity Gems, they predictably choose to assemble the Infinity Gauntlet to deal with this new problem but what's unpredictable is the way that plan plays out. I won't tell you exactly what happens except that watching someone as un-technical as Cap handling the Gauntlet is like watching your gran trying to figure out how an iPad works.

This isn't a very action-heavy story with a lot of scenes featuring the Illuminati sitting around a table talking but Hickman's got such a great handle on the characters that it's never boring. Little scenes like T'Challa speaking bitterly to Namor, referencing the events of AVX show that the characters have history, while Cap is his usual idealistic and somewhat stuffy self, and Reed and T'Challa come off the best as conscientious participants in what is essentially genocide on a scale that dwarfs anything Hitler or any of history's villains could ever accomplish. So are the Illuminati really good guys - or the worst villains of all time? It's an interesting situation.

A lot of cool villain characters show up like Galactus (yay!) doing his usual planet-eating stuff and his alternate universe herald Terrax (ol' stone face) has a throw-down with the Illuminati. There's even a scene in Latveria at the end where Doom is single-handedly taking on the parallel universe baddies and you find yourself rooting for the guy! So while there's little fighting going on, when there is, it's pretty damn good.

Steve Epting's art is what I really love about this book. His page layouts are always amazingly cinematic and well-placed, lending the story an appropriately dramatic gravitas. The characters all look amazing and every panel looks beautiful, finding the perfect balance between realism and cartoonish-ness. The way he presents the parallel worlds is really atmospheric where the characters step through a portal into what looks like the middle of a red eclipse.

New Avengers is a well-written, engaging story that also features Hickman's ambitious storytelling without missing out the characters - if only Hickman wrote this well in all of his Marvel titles! Steve Epting's art is as absolutely blinding as it always is. Great Illuminati story all round! If you didn't like Hickman's main Avengers title, give this one a shot - it'll remind you why he's in the top tier of Marvel writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars To Infinity and beyond..., 9 Aug 2013
By 
Culleton (Winchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: New Avengers - Volume 1: Everything Dies (Marvel Now) (Hardcover)
There may be spoilers ahead...

Jonathan Hickman takes the New Avengers in a different direction from the recent rosters, bringing back the Illuminati to face the threats that other teams cannot.

The Illuminati are a secret team of superheroes, originally consisting of Iron Man, Dr Strange, Professor X, Black Bolt, Namor and Mr Fantastic. One or two other members have joined the group from time to time, but the most recent addition was Captain America. They are brought together whenever a threat emerges that requires their combined minds and talents.

T'Challa, the Black Panther (who had previously refused to join the group) discovers a threat to the entire Universe so reluctantly requests the assistance of the Illuminati. They all convene in his homeland of Wakanda, just without Charles Xavier, as he died in the fight against the Phoenix Force (see Avengers Versus X-Men.

This threat is explained by Reed Richards; where multiple universes are starting to collide, destroying parallel Earths. T'Challa stumbled across one such event and found a strange female, who we discover is called the Black Swan, in the process of stopping an Earth colliding with hers, by destroying it with some kind of trigger device.

After capturing this Black Swan, T'Challa imprisons her and calls the Illuminati. Together they devise various plans to try and stop these events from happening.

Recruiting X-Man Beast to replace Professor X, their first plan is to use the Infinity Gems (kept by them in a previous Illuminati adventure) to repel the next incursion by a planet. Captain America wields the Infinity Gauntlet and succeeds, but in doing so, destroys the gems.

Despite his success, their immediate means to stop these events happening is taken away from them. They debate on their next move and in the bickering that ensues, it is decided that Cap is off the team.

It is up to the remaining Illuminati then to fix the problem. New incursions are expected, and new players come into the game; such as an alternative universe Galactus, and his herald, as well as Dr Doom, and there are brief cameos by the Watcher and Thanos.

In the meantime, the Black Swan observes silently from her glass cell. Something tells me she has a bigger part to play in this story.

This tale grew on me. I was seriously confused by it all, but it has taken a couple of re-reads to get my head round it all. There is not a great deal of action, it's mostly just our heroes sat round tables discussing their plans. The only action takes place when an incursion happens, which is probably on 3 occasions.

My favourite scenes are between T'Challa and Namor. When Namor was powered up by the Phoenix Force in AvX, he attacked Wakanda and the blood of dead Wakandans are on his hands. T'Challa has obviously not forgotten this, and their chess-move conversations are the best parts of this book. There's clearly more to come from these two.

This is a steady book, but not a great book. The artwork by Steve Epting is great. Jonathan Hickman is also on writing duties in the flagship Avengers title, and I think both storylines are connected, or at least both are leading up to the main event this year; INFINITY.

I would give this 2.5 stars if I could, but I'm perservering and looking forward to the next volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hicks From The Sticks, 7 Sep 2013
By 
Bela Lugosi's Dad "Bela Lugosi's Dad" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: New Avengers - Volume 1: Everything Dies (Marvel Now) (Hardcover)
A bunch of big heads come together to save the Marvel universe from a threat so great that the usual bishing and bashing just won't cut it. Just a lot of talking. An awful lot of talking. So, the Illuminati are back, although they're being sold to you as the 'New Avengers' for obvious commercial reasons. A couple of grudging nods are giving to their previous iteration but here Hickman is doing his usual 'world-building' thing. By all accounts,he attends Marvel retreats with three notebooks full of great ideas for series that he isn't even writing yet and the editiorial bods sink down a bit in their chairs and say, 'Sure thing Jonny-boy, you're very clever, cleverer than all the rest of us put together, you just go for it.' Result, another tedious book. The characters present here are just ciphers, Mr F is pretty indistiguishably from Tony S. Namor has no earhtly reason to even be present other than to wind up the Black Panther and punch Captain America at one point, which is totally out of character if you care about things like that. Doctor Strange, similarly, is totally wasted, apart from the actions of one single panel. Not a Hickman fan. Gave it a try, didn't like it. Let's all move on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If Superheroes Were Politicians..., 11 Aug 2013
This review is from: New Avengers - Volume 1: Everything Dies (Marvel Now) (Hardcover)
I feel I should start this off with an immediate warning. If you are looking for an action-packed book, this is not it. It is not completely without, but the action occasions are few, far between and short. This book is more of a drama. It's about egos, the necessity of necessary evil and aftermaths. I would highly recommend this book to those whom I feel would understand the gravitas of it all. "Hulk Smash"? No. Namor committing near-genocide in Wakanda looking tame. Yes.
Another reason to recommend this book is as building blocks. I'm on issue 8 at the moment and I'm happy to tell you that this book continues to improve.
I would've given this book 5-stars but I don't think it's there yet. Steve Epting's art is good, but it's not my style (Madureira/Ramos/Stegman is more my thing), though it does do the tone of the book justice. Mike Deodato is on art from issue 7 and I would consider him superior. Speaking of which, Superior Spider-Man is 5-star already, so you should definitely get that. Superior Spider-Man: My Own Worst Enemy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Avengers are here, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Avengers - Volume 1: Everything Dies (Marvel Now) (Hardcover)
What a great kick off to this new line of Avengers. As dark and clever as anything I've read in the last year or so. Right up my street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

New Avengers - Volume 1: Everything Dies (Marvel Now)
New Avengers - Volume 1: Everything Dies (Marvel Now) by Steve Epting (Hardcover - 16 July 2013)
12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews