Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world
I'm fairly new to comics and I'm not to be described as geeky or nerdy although I do love a good Film, Game or Comic. If I read, watch or Play something I want to invest heavily into a piece of medias universe and lore, often enough this sort of commitment can let you down with a disappointing ending or bland story telling... But Guardians of the Galaxy does not...
Published 7 months ago by Alister

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Comedy Avengers in Outer Space
Unfortunately I didn't think much of this (and volume 2).
The artwork is by several different artists and is mostly very good, but it is let down by poor plotting which jumps around a lot, and is not particularily believable.
I didn't feel much in the way of sympathy for any of the characters, except for Peter Quill's Mum. There is a vicious furry animal who is...
Published 4 months ago by billbadblack


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of this world, 17 Jan 2014
This review is from: Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 1: Cosmic Avengers (Marvel Now) (Hardcover)
I'm fairly new to comics and I'm not to be described as geeky or nerdy although I do love a good Film, Game or Comic. If I read, watch or Play something I want to invest heavily into a piece of medias universe and lore, often enough this sort of commitment can let you down with a disappointing ending or bland story telling... But Guardians of the Galaxy does not disappoint, it is so gripping you may find the volume quite short when in fact you've just bossed through it.

If you're looking for a new adventure; one with rich story telling, fast paced action and beautiful art, look no further Volume 1 is here and is packed with gripping origin stories for your heroes each with their unique art style. The volume then branches out setting an amazing universe full of interesting characters and settings.

This is a perfect start for a promising series, great things can be done here and I'm certain they will.

Alister
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't set it down., 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After a few delays with the release date this finally arrived yesterday, and I took today to sit down and read through it. This book contains the prologue story, Issue 0.1, and issues 1.0-3.0, which is good for getting a taste of the story and the characters, so if you're wondering about getting excited for the film coming out next year this is worth a read.

I personally loved it, I've been trying to get my hands on the Annihilation series without much luck but this I'm very pleased with. The artwork is brilliant, the writing is excellent, you really get drawn into the world they're creating and the characters you're following. It's also very funny. If I were to compare it to something more widely known it would be TV's Farscape which aired during the 90s, you get a human (well...half human) to relate to, and then a bunch of non-human characters that are extremely like-able, and it's really them vs everybody else. It's exciting, funny, cheesy at times, and absolutely brilliant. Can't wait for the next collection of issues to be released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cosmic Avengers Assemble Again!, 16 Oct 2013
By 
No More Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The story running through issues #0.1 and #1-3 of the new Guardians of the Galaxy comic are collected, along with `Guardians of the Galaxy: Tomorrow's Avengers' #1 as Guardians of the Galaxy: Cosmic Avengers.

The usual suspects are all here again - Peter Quill/Starlord, Rocket Racoon, Groot, Drax, Gamorra and Iron Man - he bumps into the Guardians in issue #1, and goes along for the ride. Issue #0.1 is a retelling of Starlord's origin; Cosmic Avengers is the `getting the band back together again'; and issues #1-3 sees Starlord's father, the King of the Spartoi, and de-facto ruler of the galaxy, up to something, as he gathers representatives of the major stellar empires to declare Earth off-limits to alien interference - since the Agardian All-Mother won't let him destroy it as his first option - so it is declared a site of special interstellar importance - and a very dangerous one, as Galactus, Thanos, the Skrulls and the Phoenix can testify, or would if they were still able to. Naturally, the Badoon take the embargo as a challenge, and the Guardians are soon at work seeing off their attack.

It is not clear if this is going to be an Earth-based series or a cosmic one, as the main plot is a little slow getting off the ground, since we only have three issues of the main title to work with so far, but it could go places, as we have seen from previous outings of the Guardians in the Annihilation series and their successors. However, it is excellently written and illustrated (despite Rocket and Groot practically writing themselves wherever they appear).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Marvel Must, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read right from the get go, the characters and their back stories are effectively conveyed and will definitely win you over even if you've never even heard or read about the Guardians of the Galaxy before.
Definitely recommended for those who are a fan of Marvel's unique humor as there is definitely plenty here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blam murdered you!, 21 Jun 2014
By 
Jose Gouveia "Marco0798" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 1: Cosmic Avengers (Marvel Now) (Hardcover)
yeah god damn right he murdered you, Rocket is magnificent and the addition of Tony to the team is great he fits perfectly into them.

this book is great the writing is great the art is great and a real top quality book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly wonderful, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Perfect condition, good postage. No complaints. And the comic is smashing I've never loved guardians of the galaxy more x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great comic, and very thrilling, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great introduction to the Cosmic avengers. Especially the short introdutions to the characters is very fulfilling, and gives you a great sense of why they act how they do.

The main story is also cool, fast paced, and aesome artwork. However the story could do with a bit more context, as it seems a little bit random at times. Cant wait to see hw the movie version will turn out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice intro to the Guardians of the Galaxy, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Elvira Wynter (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As you all know, there is a Guardians of the Galaxy movie out this year. After hearing about it's release last year I honestly had never heard of this comic, so to get myself a little background to the series I bought this comic.

A chunk of this comic is introductory to each of the main characters, a little back story or what is currently happening in their lives.

There is then a further 3 issues in this book.

I'm not going to provide any spoilers but I enjoyed it enough to purchase the other TPB to continue with Bendis' work.

Highly recommend this comic to those wanting to read about Guardians of the Galaxy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great starter for those anticipating the movie, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought Guardians after reading a number of Avengers comics. It was my first comic outside the Avengers and I wanted to learn more about the Guardians because the movie is round the corner. It was a fundamental guide to how these characters and the team unite although they have nothing in common. Iron Man's presence was a welcome addition also. All in all, a good read for anyone just starting with Guardians!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As I remember purchasing the original 'Star Lord' one-off in black and white oversized by Claremont and Byrne, more years ago than I like to remember (I still have it somewhere, though) and longer ago than the writer and artists on this mag were born, I wasn't sure what to expect here, though I had been hooked by the appearance of the Guardians in a recent 'Avengers Assemble' collection.. Well, the re-written Star Lord origin it didn't have the impact of the original, but this book does have Rocket Raccoon (who I didn't expect to love as much as I do) and extra Tony Stark (always a bonus) and the interaction between the pair, which is gorgeous. The arc in the comics collected here is pretty much complete, which makes it a very satisfying read, and I like the art a lot, though, again, it isn't Byrne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 1: Cosmic Avengers (Marvel Now)
Guardians of the Galaxy Volume 1: Cosmic Avengers (Marvel Now) by Steve McNiven (Hardcover - 10 Sep 2013)
Used & New from: 80.26
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews