Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary!
Without question Kieron Gillen is one of the most talented comic book writers of the last decade. His voice is unique and his name stands for innovation and odd storytelling methods. For me personally the outcome was not always to my expectations. His "Journey into Mystery" run was outstanding (one of the best runs on any comic in the last years), his "SWORD" mini pure...
Published 11 months ago by Boris

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor
I read all the reviews for this story and I must say the story isn't good enough. It really comes across as a comic for kids and not all age ranges. It seems to focus a lot on love and sexuality throughout volumes 1-3. Why? Is that why this story has got so many good reviews, because it's different and more applicable to today's society of super power children haha...
Published 1 month ago by dave


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary!, 17 Sep 2013
This review is from: Young Avengers - Volume 1: Style > Substance (Marvel Now) (Young Avengers Graphic Novels) (Paperback)
Without question Kieron Gillen is one of the most talented comic book writers of the last decade. His voice is unique and his name stands for innovation and odd storytelling methods. For me personally the outcome was not always to my expectations. His "Journey into Mystery" run was outstanding (one of the best runs on any comic in the last years), his "SWORD" mini pure fun, his run on Thor solid, Uncanny X-Men unexpectedly conventional. So with "Young Avengers" I waited for the trade paperback, this also because the highly acclaimed Allan Heinberg run on this title did relatively little for me.
I am really surprised, and this to my pleasure. "Young Avengers" is "Phonogram" (Gillen's independent critics success) meets "Generation Hope" and it is intelligent storytelling and a lot of fun.
In an interview the author said that together with penciller McKelvie they wanted to tell a super hero story as no one had been told before and they really did it. The panel structure is nothing you have seen before, nevertheless the pages are clear and crisp and you have no problems following the story. The one scene in which one member frees another one by working on the panel frames is a piece of art. Gillen and McKelvie cooperate in a way where you cannot say where writing ends and penciling begins. The art has a silver age feeling in the character presentation and nevertheless is timelessly modern.
The choice of characters is very interesting. Outstanding for me are young Loki (the re-reformed one, worse than the reborn one from Journey into Mystery, but still more tricky and cunning than pure evil) and Miss America, a mysterious young Hispanic woman with little Marvel background until now. They are completed by the couple of Wiccan and Hulkling, Kate Bishop (substitute Hawkeye) and young Kree warrior Noh-Varr. Gillen has said that this book is about "being eighteen", and so the themes are related to building relationships and parent issues. And of course a lot of super heroing.
The book collects #1-5 and the preview from "Marvel NOW" and is highly recommended by me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Young Loki and his pet Avengers!, 1 Mar 2014
By 
No More Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Young Avengers - Volume 1: Style > Substance (Marvel Now) (Young Avengers Graphic Novels) (Paperback)
The story running through issues #1-5 of the Marvel Now! series of Young Avengers is collected, along with an introductory story from Marvel Now! Point One, as Young Avengers - Volume 1: Style > Substance (Marvel Now) (Young Avengers Graphic Novels). This is an excellent story, which I fond vastly entertaining, but it does feature some of my favourite characters, such as Young Loki and Noh-Varr (“Don’t call me Marvel Boy”). Now, Earth is currently off-limits to all Galactic civilisations, but despite that and being exiled by the Kree and sacked from the Avengers, Noh-Varr’s passion for 1960s pop music has brought him back; and he’s got a new girlfriend – Hawkeye! The female one, as he is careful to point out in his voice-over; he does a lot of voice-over work on his segments of the story. He has also given up wearing shorts, as Kate (the female Hawkeye) observes at one point. However, in exchange, we do get to see him dancing to 1960s pop music in his underwear, shortly before the Skrulls attack him and Kate while they are in his ship in orbit.

Meanwhile, Young Loki is back, despite being dead or something last time I read Mighty Thor, The: Everything Burns. However, you know what Asgardian immortals are like. (However, all I will say on the subject is – watch the milkshakes, and remember the Dog in the Night.) Anyway, Loki finds a new Miss America – she really is a Miss America Chavez - on a parallel world, and tries to hire her to kill Wiccan. She naturally punches Loki through a window and comes looking for Wiccan, who has caused a bit of a problem by using his reality-warping powers to find Hulkling’s dead mother in a parallel universe where she is alive, and brought her to this one. Unfortunately, she turns out to be a [spoiler], and a long complicated, entertaining, and fun story escalates from there.

If you liked Young Loki’s Journey into Mystery series, then this is the book for you; especially as Young Loki is up to all his old tricks, and several new ones. And if you never read it, so what! This really is a superb story, artwork and scripting, and I really cannot do it justice in my review!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Young and the Bestest, 1 Nov 2013
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Young Avengers - Volume 1: Style > Substance (Marvel Now) (Young Avengers Graphic Novels) (Paperback)
You know how certain stories feature kids or teens in them because the storyteller somehow thinks that kids/teens won't identify with the grown-up heroes and need someone relatable? That's generally bogus - nobody wants to be Tom Cruise's whiny kids in War of the Worlds, they want to be Tom Cruise. Nobody wants to be Jar Jar Binks or kid Anakin, they want to be Obi-Wan! Young Avengers somehow subverts that rule by making their teen characters the characters teens - and adults! - would want to be. Part of this success is how well Kieron Gillen's captured what it feels like to be a teenager - turbulent mood swings both up and down, along with the exciting potential of the future, and the screw-it-all attitude that powers you through anything.

The Young Avengers are: Wiccan and his boyfriend Hulkling, Kate Bishop/Hawkeye and her boyfriend Marvel Boy, Kid Loki, and Ms America. Hulkling (and I love the character but what a stupid name!) doesn't have parents and is living with his boyfriend Wiccan and his family who're super-cool with the setup and their kid's sexuality. But he misses his mum, so in an ill-advised scheme, Wiccan conjures up Hulkling's mother from a parallel dimension only for Kid Loki to interfere and the Mother that steps out turns out to be some kind of shape-shifting/Agent Smith-like replicating crazy monster! Young Avengers Assemble!

In a book starring teen heroes, Gillen's choice to make the antagonist an authoritarian figure literally called Mother is pure genius because who do kids rebel against? Their parents! This is my first Young Avengers book so I have no idea how or why Loki is suddenly a 14 year old but he's definitely the best character in the group. Besides his good taste in breakfast food (bacon roll with ketchup - yummers!) he has a great scene where he tries to explain to the sceptical group that he's a bad guy-ish but he's also kinda good: "You guys read/watch Game of Thrones? Who's your favourite character?" Everyone: "Tyrion" Loki: "I'm Tyrion!".

Jamie McKelvie and Mike Norton's art is damn near perfect. The lines are clear and smooth (which is the one thing that I felt was uncharacteristic of our teenage heroes - none of them had spots!) and the presentation is awesome. Teenagers - especially teen superheroes - are bound to swagger a bit and this book reflects that, opening with a cinematic title/scene switching opening sequence showing Hawkeye and Marvel Boy fighting Skrulls in space after boning. You can almost hear the power pop melodies of Green Day's American Idiot playing as they launch into the Skrulls, smiling, as Kate says, with the kind of arrogant bluster teenagers tend to possess, that "being a superhero is amazing - everyone should try it!". It even ends the same way with that self-important "you have been reading - Young Avengers!" title card sequence which is terrific, perfectly presenting the way teenagers see their lives, as the most interesting movie ever made. The flipside is, if you're not enjoying the book it could come off as supremely annoying.

There's also an amazing splash page where Marvel Boy explodes into a nightclub to save the rest of the Young Avengers from Mother and her brainwashed cohorts where we see the whole layout of the club, following his actions with numbers and close ups outside the layout drawing for details - I'm not doing it justice describing it, but it's really something to see. They even go abstract in this book as Wiccan finds himself trapped within the panels of the comic, acting as a jail cell, as Loki and Hulkling bust open the panels to break him free, and skip over the panels like it's a platform game to get back into their story. Again, the best Marvel books out there right now are incorporating elements you'd see in indie comics rather than superhero comics (Hawkeye is doing this the best) and it works so damn well - this sequence was unexpected and brilliant.

I don't know any teenagers but I think if you gave them both Young Avengers and Teen Titans to read, they would go with Young Avengers - it's a better book on every level and seems more appealing and convincing to a younger audience by being more identifiable, especially as Teen Titans is currently written by a guy in his 50s wearing a Hawaiian shirt! I'm not making this a Marvel/DC thing because I enjoy (and dislike) books from both, but I feel like Marvel have achieved audience range with this book while DC's New 52 titles remain aimed at a certain kind of person in their 30s who only want to read "dark and gritty" tales.

This book is called Style>Substance which describes the attitudes of the characters but definitely not the characters or the book itself which has plenty of both. Young Avengers - what an unexpectedly great book! Gillen and co. capture the spirit of youth in Young Avengers, when all you needed was your favourite song and your best friend and you were unstoppable. The characters are balanced really well, at times confident and clear-sighted, other times vulnerable and suddenly realising their limitations, and they also seem like real teenagers - there's even a scene where they get carded at a club! Young Avengers is a really fun superhero book that's easily one of the most impressive Marvel NOW! titles out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Style abundant, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Young Avengers - Volume 1: Style > Substance (Marvel Now) (Young Avengers Graphic Novels) (Paperback)
I was in two minds about this after getting accustomed to the Young Avengers line-up but I was pleasantly surprised. The new characters bring an interesting plot and endless possibilitys. Im ecstatic most of all about Kid Loki, since Loki has been a major character across numerous titles and story lines. Kid Loki brings both mystery and humour to the Young Avengers and is fast becoming my favourite. I would recommend this to any Young Avengers and/or Loki fan. Will soon be ordering the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good series..., 12 Aug 2014
This review is from: Young Avengers - Volume 1: Style > Substance (Marvel Now) (Young Avengers Graphic Novels) (Paperback)
This is a very good run on 'Young Avengers' and I'm only sorry that it ended so quickly. I must say that this isn't for everyone and it is quite a different take to the older run, although many of the characters return. The artwork is wonderful and the story is very good, quite succinct I feel. Kieron Gillen seems to have quite a definitive story in mind when he writes this and this is played out very nicely but with frequent sub-plots and character exploration throughout. You don't have to have read the former series and I might even recommend that you don't in order to see this series with an open mind. Its a fun and colourful narrative and I feel that it is something very fresh and often absent from the rest of the marvel universe, I would recommend it to any fan of the marvel universe and the young avengers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 31 July 2014
This review is from: Young Avengers - Volume 1: Style > Substance (Marvel Now) (Young Avengers Graphic Novels) (Paperback)
I read all the reviews for this story and I must say the story isn't good enough. It really comes across as a comic for kids and not all age ranges. It seems to focus a lot on love and sexuality throughout volumes 1-3. Why? Is that why this story has got so many good reviews, because it's different and more applicable to today's society of super power children haha?

The characters have a lot of potential, but you are not given any background to who they are and why they have these powers. I was very interested in 'America', she has some brilliant powers, but a terrible attitude.

The villian is called 'Mother' i mean come on. This comic is for teenagers.

Avoid otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Young Avengers - Volume 1: Style > Substance (Marvel Now) (Young Avengers Graphic Novels)
9.89
Usually dispatched within 12 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews