Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clean. Slilck. Awesome, 6 Sep 2013
By 
A. Robinson (Telford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye Volume 2: Little Hits (Marvel Now) (Paperback)
I've got a lot of time for Hawkeye (and for any unpowered superhero) but this book (and volume 1) exceeded my expectations. They show the human side of Hawkeye, kind of off duty and actually portray an engaging, somewhat flawed hero.
The artwork is simple, clean and striking really matching the stripped down, clever, funny storylines. Really impressed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The continuing adventures of Hawkguy on his days off from saving the world, 2 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hawkeye Volume 2: Little Hits (Marvel Now) (Paperback)
The stories from issues #6-11 of Hawkeye's Marvel Now series are collected as Hawkeye Volume 2: Little Hits (Marvel Now). I described the first volume of this series - Hawkeye - Volume 1: My Life As A Weapon - as "a hilarious comic (with serous bits) which is excellently written with suitably supportive artwork". This volume is a serious comic (with hilarious bits) which is excellently written with suitably supportive artwork. The stories in the first appeared to be made up of random adventures, but now we start to see that they were not so random, as some of the stories in this volume start to fill-in connections, and we see the return of the girl in the car, the track-suited gangsters, and the big criminal mastermind convention; more of the women in Hawkguy's life start to get involved in the stories (Black Widow, Mockingbird, Spider Woman), and Young Hawkeye becomes a almost a permanent fixture in the stories; even Lucky the dog gets to be a major player in the storyline. We also get a new mystery European assassin joining in the random chaos (though thanks to Lucky's nose, I suspect that the dead brother may not be as dead as we are supposed to think).

This really is an exceptional comic book (and not just because of the retro-60s dresses and hair).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little hits, BIG payoff, 27 Aug 2013
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye Volume 2: Little Hits (Marvel Now) (Paperback)
Hawkeye is an amazing comic, pure and simple. It might be THE Marvel comic to be reading at the moment over other current greats like Mark Waid's Daredevil, Jason Aaron's Wolverine and the X-Men, and Brian Michael Bendis' All-New X-Men. And it's about Hawkeye of all characters - Hawkeye!

Well, it's about 2 Hawkeyes actually, Clint Barton and Kate Bishop. Both are kinda human car crashes. Clint can't seem to get his life together, has all sortsa women troubles (including his protégé, Kate), as well as self-confidence issues, while Kate is a headstrong young woman trying to find her own identity despite also being called Hawkeye and wielding a bow and arrows in her team the Young Avengers. And it's also about Pizza Dog aka Lucky - but more on him later.

The structure of the series is episodic so nearly every issue is self-contained like a sitcom and might be why the book is called Little Hits. However things happen towards the end of this book that splits the story from New York to California, and one of the new characters gets iced by a clown killer, so longer plot threads do emerge and take shape. Also - and this is to the comics' credit - the stories tend to have very little resembling usual Marvel superhero comics.

Issue #7 for example is set during Hurricane Sandy, the natural disaster that laid waste to America's East Coast last year, as Hawkeye helps his buddy Grills out at his elderly father's place in Queens, preparing for the flood. Meanwhile Kate does the only real superhero-ing by setting out in the midst of the storm to get medicine from a nearby pharmacy only to see it being looted. A failed confrontation later and ordinary people show up to help Kate and stop the thieves in an excellent scene showing the camaraderie and decentness that is brought out in people when faced with epic disasters.

Without going into why I loved every single issue in the book, I'll just say that there's a great scene where Clint gets Tony to try and hook up his VCR in his new flat (yup, Clint still uses a VCR) and there are more shenanigans with the Russian tracksuit wearing toughs who use the word "Bro" like audible punctuation. But one issue towers above the rest and MUST be talked about - I'm talking about the Pizza Dog issue, #11.

This is the issue told from the perspective of Lucky, the dog eating pizza in the first issue in this series, who is saved by Clint from abusive owners, the Russian track suit bros. As this is the dog's perspective, there is almost no dialogue, except for the occasional word that Lucky understands like pizza, Hawkeye, and Good Boy (which is followed by the best panel ever). Dialogue and actions are interpreted through symbols in an attempt to show how dogs think through images, smells, sounds, and we see a day in the life of Pizza Dog. It too is a self-contained comic with some scenes in it that at first appear cryptic but that are explained in later issues - I know this because I've gotten to the point now where I can't wait for the trade paperbacks, I've got to buy the single issues as soon as they come out. Yes, it's that good.

It's artist David Aja that makes the Pizza Dog issue work so well. In fact, every issue Aja has done has been gobsmackingly gorgeous, unlike anything that you would expect in a Hawkeye book. Aided by colourist Matt Hollingsworth who brings a minimalist colour palette to the pages and you've got among the best art in a mainstream superhero comic ever seen. Aja deservedly won an Eisner this year for his work on this series and the Pizza Dog issue might well wind up winning best single issue at next year's Eisners - it's certainly got my vote.

And of course Matt Fraction - what else is there to say about this guy, except Hawkeye is his unexpected masterpiece. I'm not the world's biggest Fraction fan but after his work on this and Fantastic Four/FF, I'm all about this guy's work now.

Who knew that what a superhero does when he's not being a superhero could be more interesting than when he is? Fraction, Aja, and Hollingsworth did that's who. Hawkeye x 2 + Pizza Dog = this book rules.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great volume of Hawkeye by Aja and Fraction, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye Volume 2: Little Hits (Marvel Now) (Paperback)
I bought myself the first volume a few months back and loved it so much I had to get the second volume once I had the money. Great story, especially for fans of Hawkeye.
Also, for anyone interested in art, loved the fact that there were little bits in the back of the book with step by step drawing of pages as well as a comment by Matt Hollingsworth about how he does the colouring for the comics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday present – well received, 7 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye Volume 2: Little Hits (Marvel Now) (Paperback)
This was a present for my brother, who I had already purchased Vol. 1 for Christmas. It arrived promptly and in great condition (obviously a key factor for any gift). Thanks a million!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something a little different..., 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye Volume 2: Little Hits (Marvel Now) (Paperback)
This was a fantastic follow up to "vol. 1 My life as a weapon". This book is effortlessly cool both in the story and and the art. It grounds hawkeye in the real world and chronicles his troubles in everyday life as well as his difficulties as on ordinary man fighting alongside super heros. A great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic follow up and a continued success., 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye Volume 2: Little Hits (Marvel Now) (Paperback)
Matt Fraction's Hawkeye run continues to be one of the best comics in production at the moment. Witty, engaging and visually distinctive. Exactly what you would hope from a good comic. I'd never really been hugely enamored by the character of Hawkeye previously but the first book in this run piqued my interest and the second has me completely sold. A real breath of fresh air.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good enough, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye Volume 2: Little Hits (Marvel Now) (Paperback)
More of a what hawk eye did on the weekend enjoyable enough it's nice to see a comic that dosent focus on end of the world events but the difficulties a guy has setting up his laser disc the artwork is simple and dull but works wonderfully defiantly worth the read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, bro', 27 Aug 2013
By 
P. Cranfield - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hawkeye Volume 2: Little Hits (Marvel Now) (Paperback)
The first collection in this superb series was nothing short of spectacular. This is just as good, with the execption of the art change on one issue which does tend to jar the flow somewhat. Quite how Fraction and Aja can continue to develop simple themes in such an entertaining and engaging way is a mystery. This has to be one of the best books on the market- simply because it defies being like any other book around. Huge credit to both creators.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hawkeye Volume 2: Little Hits (Marvel Now)
Hawkeye Volume 2: Little Hits (Marvel Now) by David Aja (Paperback - 2 July 2013)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews