Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kitty Pryde becomes the youngest X-Man of them all
"X-Men: Days of Future Past" is the epilogue to the Dark Phoenix saga, the swan song for the team of writer Chris Claremont and penciler Johny Byrne as the co-plotters for "The Uncanny X-Men," and the arrival of Kitty Pryde as the newest and youngest pupil in Charles Xavier's School for Gifted Youngsters on Graymalkin Lane outside the Westchester...
Published on 13 Dec. 2005 by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit dated but a classic
Well, this is a largely good collection of stories following on from Dark Phoenix Saga, featuring, of course, the classic Days of Future past story. While Days of Future Past is good, it is only two issues long and does lack a bit of complexity and I get the feeling that part of its reputation is due to the fact that the time travel aspect was ground-breaking when it was...
Published 17 months ago by William Axtell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kitty Pryde becomes the youngest X-Man of them all, 13 Dec. 2005
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
"X-Men: Days of Future Past" is the epilogue to the Dark Phoenix saga, the swan song for the team of writer Chris Claremont and penciler Johny Byrne as the co-plotters for "The Uncanny X-Men," and the arrival of Kitty Pryde as the newest and youngest pupil in Charles Xavier's School for Gifted Youngsters on Graymalkin Lane outside the Westchester County Township of Salem Center. What you will find in this trade paperback collection are issues #138-143 of "The Uncanny X-Men" and Annual #4, where the artwork is handled by John Romita, Jr. & Bob McLeod.
"Elegy" (#138) begins with Jean Grey's funeral and ends with Scott Summers leaving the X-Men for a while. It really is the true epilogue to the Dark Phoenix saga and most of the issue is a walk down memory lane, recapping the history of the X-Men from when Jean first showed up at the school. Fans of the series will enjoy recognizing issues from the past (remember Grotesk and the Living Pharaoh).
The Annual story, "Nightcrawler's Inferno," has a demon who is fighting Doctor Strange yanking the X-Men off into another dimension, leaving Professor X and Kitty behind. This one involves a more classical interpretation of Hell, what with Minos and Cerberus from Dante coming into play, but like most Annual stories seems a bloated attempt to do something big as opposed to the much bigger impact of a solid multi-part story (see below).
"...Something Wicked This Way Comes!" (#139) has Kitty being introduced to training in the Danger Room, and Wolverine and Nightcrawler head to Canada to meet up with Alpha Flight and an old problem. That would be the Wen-Di-Go, who they fight in "Rage!" (#140), while Ororo takes Kitty to dance lessons with Stevie Hunter. Then we get to the two-part story that gives this collection its title and which remains a classic X-Men story.
"Days of Future Past" (#141) begins with Kate Pryde making her way through a New York City slum in the 21st century (remember, these stories were published in 1980). She is meeting Logan and wearing an inhibitor collar that neutralizes her power to phase through solid objects and an "M" that marks here as a mutant (number 187 in fact). At the South Bronx Mutant Internment Center she walks by graves of the victims of the Sentinels, which includes most of the X-Men and all of the Fantastic Four. Only four X-Men remain: Logan, Ororo, Kate and her husband Peter, and are joined by a wheel-chair bound Magneto, Franklin Richards and his girlfriend, Rachel, a telepath. There last hope is to change the future by changing the past, when the Brotherhood of Evil Mutants murder presidential candidate Robert Kelly and others. To do this, Rachel sends the mind of Kate Pryde back to the present to inhabit her body at age 13.
"Mind Out of Time!" (#142) juxtaposes the battle in the present between the X-Men and the Brotherhood, with the attempt by the few remaining mutants in the future trying to keep Kate's body alive and away from the Sentinels. You know how this one is going to work out in the end, but Claremont and Bryne know how to milk the emotions. This two-parter is the reason that fans of the series would want this one on their shelf.
"Demon" (#143) is basically Kitty Pryde "Home Alone," as the X-Men go out to a Christmas party. While doing a basic gymnastic workout in the Danger Room, an intruder enters the mansion and Kitty finds herself going up against an alien monster. I would say that the alien monster actually looks a bit like the monster in "Alien," but you will find that there are other aspects of that film that come into play as well. Basically this is Kitty's baptism under fire and underscores that "X-Men: Days of Future Past" is ultimately about the littlest X-Man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story wish it was longer, 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is such a great story it's a pity its not longer as the ending was quite abrupt and i felt it could have been a bit more dramatic. Basically people in the future (mutants mainly) are being wiped out by the government's controlled Sentinals who police the streets searching for Un-registered Mutants. A small group of the remaining X men decide its time to take action and devise a plan to send one of them back to the past to change an event that will save them all from their present. The great thing about this is that there is no physical time travel.

I won't spoil the story here but just say that the change is well written and also shows the change in emotional states between past and future events that the character experienced.

Best part for me was the way the story unfolded. As past events occurred, things in the future still continued (as there's no physical time travel this is even more important) which then gives rise to the question, will this person have time to change the past before the future sees it's end of days?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolute classic!, 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Days of Future Past (Paperback)
This has always been one of my very favourite X-Men runs and this is a nice little TPB collection. As a word of slight warning, it may appear a little dated to some if you're not used to the older Marvel art and writing style. Comics have obviously moved along in a huge way and the 70's/80's stuff has now become a little of an acquired taste.

An obvious talking point is the upcoming film adaptation of the book. I've always felt that this arc would work very well as an adaptation but I do feel a little concerned over the end quality of the film. I don't think any of the films, especially the awful Wolverine films, have really captured the X-Men to a high standard yet. I'll go into the film with an open mind but just from the images of the Sentinals I'm already wary. oh, and Quick Silver's character design looks dreadful as well.

Back to the book, as long as the older style is your cup of tea then I'd really recommend this TPB. Claremont's run on X-Men was immense and this is one of his real high points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a taste of films to come !!, 8 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Days of Future Past (Paperback)
Bought this as is insight into the film in production for release in mid 2014.. Had these comics years ago, but to get them again in 1 classic book is well worth buying..ordered and received early and well packaged - well recommend the seller for first class service..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must-read, 25 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Days of Future Past (Paperback)
This is one of the X-Men classic story. One of the most interesting Kitty Pride's plots.Pure Claremont and sublime Byrne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected... But still great, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Days of Future Past (Paperback)
While I enjoyed the story, this graphic novel is more a collection of chronological single issues which could be read on their own without real need for knowledge of the previous story lines. Therefore i believe "Collecting Uncanny X-Men" and the issue numbers with "including, Days of future past" would be a more accurate title.
However, I would still recommend this title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roll On The Film, 5 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Days of Future Past (Paperback)
Best comic series ever in the X Men history. I consider this to be the finest story arc ever written
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars X-Men Days of Future Past, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Days of Future Past (Paperback)
I brought this because I have heard and read that they are making an Xmen film starring both the Younger Xmen from Frist Class and the older ones starring Patrick Stewart and Hugh Jackman. I have a number of graphic novels about the Xmen and this one is my favourite by far. Its great, the pictures are brilliant and I love the front cover to this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff!!!!, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Days of Future Past (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this! A classic story arc in the X-Men universe. The actual days of future past story is only 2 issues long so it leaves you hankering for more, but it gets the point across and the art work and writing is spot on. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really loved it!, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Days of Future Past (Paperback)
So excited for the movie, good insight on the plot, the movie comes out May 23rd this year and will have the original cast as well as the first class cast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X-Men: Days of Future Past
X-Men: Days of Future Past by John Byrne (Paperback - 21 Dec. 2011)
£10.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews