Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Avengers art book and movie companion, 8 May 2012
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:31 Mins

Just like other Marvel movie art books before, this is big and thick. In fact, at 272 pages, it's thicker than The Art of Captain America: The First Avenger and The Art of Thor which are both at 240 pages each.

The cover looks great and it's actually a slipcase.

Almost all aspects of the movie are covered. There are the Avengers themselves with their new costume designs, Loki, The Chitauri, flying leviathans and other characters like soldiers, Nick Fury, etc. The art is great and these are all printed big. The characters are mainly drawn by Andy Park and Charlie Wen. Most look very much like the actors. The Iron Man design is, as usual, amazing. There are also a few pages of Hulk art which are new obviously since there are no Hulk movie art books.

Many locations, props and vehicles are featured as concept art. You'll see Bruce Banner's hideout home, Tony Stark's tower a breakdown of the technology that suit him into Iron Man or un-suit him, the warehouse where Black Widow was held, the Helicarrier and its interiors and even the tunnel Loki escaped in. The props are all sort of gadgetry shown in the movie, stuff like Hawkeye's bow, other weaponry, a sequence of Tony Stark suiting up into Man VII in mid-air. There is a lot to see because some pictures are filled with details. The visuals are spectacular.

I think the layout is slightly chaotic because there's a lot going on with so many characters and big set pieces. The content is presented chronologically as they appear in the movie.

The writeup is extensive and there's a lot to read about various part of the movies. This will probably be very interesting to those who want to find out how The Avengers differs in areas as compared to the comics.

This is an awesome art book and informative movie companion. Highly recommended.

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a marvel fan's delight, 8 Dec 2012
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers (Hardcover)
The book comes in its own presentation sleeve and it is stunning. It has a number of fully illustrated chapters:

~ Introduction
~ Prologue
~ Marvel Cinematic Timeline
~ Act 1 - Incident in the Desert
~ Act 2 - Avengers Assemble
~ Act 3 - Common Thread
~ Some Assembly Required
~ Contributor Biographies
~ Acknowledgements
~ Artistic Credits

The artistic work is amazing, everything from the characters' clothing, to the weapons and machinery. Included are the designs for Stark Tower, Ironman's suits, the design variations for such as Loki's "glow stick of destiny" and Hawkeye's arrow tips. There are 21 arrow tip designs on one page alone, each is numbered but, unfortunately, there is no key given as to what each one might do.

It is, however, the astonishing concept art work. For example, pages 148/9 has a full colour artist work by Andy Parks of the Ironman-Thor Battle which is stunning.

This brings me to the one issue that I have with this marvellous book. There are many pieces of striking pieces of artwork which are spread over two pages and quite a lot of the image disappears into the spine of the book - this is the case with the Ironman-Thor Battle the head of Thor disappears.

The varying designs of the Chitauri are also interesting. The passed so quickly in the film that I didn't realise that there were so many different types.

Sadly there information on Hawkeye and the Black Widow is limited.

There are some beautiful pieces of artwork which show the alien ships waiting in space in which the extent of the alien fleet is shown, however, my eye was drawn to the planets behind as the detail is amazing.

As a Marvel fan I am so happy that I have been able to get a copy of this fantastic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Geek-heaven!, 3 Dec 2012
By 
David T (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers (Hardcover)
This is a very impressive look at Joss Whedon's superhero epic.

If you are a fan of the Marvel universe, or film design in general, I would recommend this for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A-maz-iiing, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers (Hardcover)
This is an awesome art book, not only packed with concert art but beautiful stills too, great for any Avengers fan and filled with interviews for an interesting read. A must-have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great art book, 27 Nov 2012
By 
N Herrod - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers (Hardcover)
This is a great art book, and I have only a couple of complaints. The first is that when there is a 2 page image, you miss the section in the crease. The other is that I would like a bit more information on the development of the designs (similar to the Icons Jim Lee book). However I can't fault the content beyond that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing film, amazing book!, 8 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers (Hardcover)
This is my favourite movie of all time and i had to get this book, visually stunning and amazing to see how much work goes into a movie. Loved reading about how the characters where designed and how it was all done. Brilliant film, brilliant book. If you loved this movie then this is a must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Avengers Assemble...in this book, 15 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers (Hardcover)
Is worth collecting this book as it is a very unique in packaging.
It has a hardcover 'box' jacket. As for the details of the book, all you ever need to know
about avengers and the art work by concept artist is amazing.
concept design development etc.
A 'movie' time line of the entire Marvel movie that leads to the Avengers starting from
'Iron Man' was nicely display chornologically.
again..tons of concept art work...Heli-carrier
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, high quality book, 13 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers (Hardcover)
I'd recommend this to any fan of the movie, it explains a lot of things about the Marvel Movie Universe and seeing the evolution of the designs and characters is great. Too much to list without spoiling the book. Very solid and high quality finish to the book and well worth the price imo. Get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lot of art for your money., 23 Jun 2012
By 
Caroline Levén (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers (Hardcover)
Really great and lovely book. And the slip case, or whatever it's called, could be put on your shelf or hanged on your wall as it's own art piece.

The only thing to complain about, would be that certain art pieces aren't shown properly when they're divided over two pages, a spread. Maybe a black boarder in the middle would have helped?

Otherwise, I love it. It's interesting to see the different design ideas, the promo art(some of which I will cut out and frame).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 28 Jun 2012
By 
Mike Li - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers (Hardcover)
As a Iron man fanatic, this sits wonderfully next to the art books for the IM/2 films. The pages are of excellent quality and the artwork is fantastically detailed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers
Avengers: The Art of Marvel's The Avengers by Marvel Comics (Hardcover - 2 May 2012)
Used & New from: £49.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews