Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Joss Whedon Master Story-Teller, 8 Aug 2013
By 
A. Robinson (Telford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astonishing X-Men By Whedon & Cassaday Ultimate Collection 1 (Paperback)
This is a cleverly crafted X-Men story with Joss Whedon's trademark attention to characterisation and dialogue.
The artwork compliments the story and is clear and vibrant, possibly a little "mainstream" for some tastes nothing too edgy or challenging but in fairness that's my preference.
There's some definite darkness and suspense to the story which gives the book a grown up feel.
All round I liked it; though I think some of the sub-plots actually worked better than the overall story arc which in its search for an epic passed over into the far-fetched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect introduction to X-Men comics, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astonishing X-Men By Whedon & Cassaday Ultimate Collection 1 (Paperback)
If you're looking for a way into the modern run of the X-Men then look no further than this fantastic collection. Joss Whedon's writing style, and overall arc development, is joyously realised by John Cassaday's brilliant artwork. This run acts as a perfect way to get into the world of X-Men, while also making enough references to older storylines and arcs to pique the interest of a new reader to seek out older runs and lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars but a good read and great artwork, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astonishing X-Men By Whedon & Cassaday Ultimate Collection 1 (Paperback)
Worth buying. Not as astonishing as I had hoped, but a good read and great artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent X men Story, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astonishing X-Men By Whedon & Cassaday Ultimate Collection 1 (Paperback)
I enjoyed this book immensely. As comics go it was thorough, believable (i.e. internally consistent), funny, exciting. Almost everything you could hope for from a graphic novel. One star off because ultimately it falls a smidgeon short of what it could be, some ideas aren't explored as fully as I hoped they would have been. But that's just a testament to the strength of those ideas. I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In Wheadon We Trust...and Cassaday too!, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astonishing X-Men By Whedon & Cassaday Ultimate Collection 1 (Paperback)
Having followed the ‘all-new x-men’ comic run and enjoying that, I thought I’d delve into the back catalogue of x-men books: This was my first, standalone, X-men graphic novel. I'll be completely honest, I loved it. Kitty Pride is now my favourite x-men character as a result. The humour, character dynamic and overall storytelling that Joss presents is fantastic. Having to follow Grant Morrison's run on x-men, which I heard was amazing, must have been challenging and although I couldn't possibly compare (having not read Morrison's run yet), I really did enjoy this. Equally brilliant is Cassaday's art work, which after reading this first collection, resulted in the purchasing of other graphic novels he's worked on.

Cannot wait to dig into volume 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars review, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astonishing X-Men By Whedon & Cassaday Ultimate Collection 1 (Paperback)
a great read with great story lines. also great humor which is rare in a comic normally it is flat and well not funny but astonishing x-men delivers great laughs great shocks and twists a great read. if you haven't read any x-men before you may find it a bit hard to follow or not get the twists but still a great must have x-men book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The first half of a brilliant run, 26 Feb 2013
By 
Alan the Kaz (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astonishing X-Men By Whedon & Cassaday Ultimate Collection 1 (Paperback)
Joss Whedon and John Cassaday's critically acclaimed `Astonishing X-Men' run was the spiritual successor to Grant Morrison's New X-Men, so (as Whedon alluded to in an email conversation reprinted at the back of this book) they were always going to have a mammoth task ahead of themselves. However, although this run makes several references to Morrison's stories, and uses mostly the same team from that period, Whedon and Cassady pretty much took this in their own direction. For one thing, this is far more accessible than Morrison's run, so it's pretty much the perfect jump-on point for X-Men newcomers (though I'd always recommend following this up from Morrison's run, if that's at all possible). Also, the whole tone of the book couldn't be more different than that of Morrison's. It's very much "grounded" compared to Morrison's far-out "space opera" drama, while a subtle humour is laced throughout (sometimes hilariously so). While Morrison's run will always be my favourite of the two (back in the days, you used to not be able to go a month without fans on the comic book message boards debating about which is best), re-reading this now, it's clear that Whedon & Cassaday's run is the consistently stronger of the two. Morrison's run was definitely quite a disjointed read, where a brilliant story arc might immediately precede a not so good one. And it also suffered from rotating artists of varying quality (from great to awful), which wouldn't have been so bad if they had changed per arc, but often changed per issue instead. Although it lead to severe delays, and much agitation from the fans at the time, Whedon's writing was always complimented with the brilliant pencils and inks of John Cassaday. Read it, if you haven't already done so. X-Men comics don't come much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Whedon and X-men. What more need be said?, 18 Oct 2012
By 
C. Wade "OfWolf" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astonishing X-Men By Whedon & Cassaday Ultimate Collection 1 (Paperback)
Imagine all the humor and wit that made Joss Whedon a fan favourite, mix that with the great characters and plot lines that exist throughout the x-men back catalogue, add in a fantastic artist who isn't afraid to re-imagine beloved characters and you have the recipe for something... well, astonishing!

Any fans of Whedon will find his classic style and pacing in this storyline. While X-men fans will find fantastic contributions to the continuity along with amazingly placed references to days past. I had the second volume ordered before I had this one finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intro to X-Men, 10 Aug 2014
By 
David (Swindon, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Astonishing X-Men By Whedon & Cassaday Ultimate Collection 1 (Paperback)
Great intro into x-men comics. Rather than having to work your way through the whole history, you can get a really good feel for the world of x-men through the story created by Joss Wheedon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars No problems, 3 Nov 2014
This review is from: Astonishing X-Men By Whedon & Cassaday Ultimate Collection 1 (Paperback)
Long delivery time but that was expected, good all around :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Astonishing X-Men By Whedon & Cassaday Ultimate Collection 1
Astonishing X-Men By Whedon & Cassaday Ultimate Collection 1 by John Cassaday (Paperback - 29 Feb 2012)
£20.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews