Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epic
This was highly enjoyable.

The storyline was epic in scope and there were some great battle scenes.
The dialogue works well and there were even some genuinely moving moments.
Everything made sense and it can be read with pleasure even if you don't follow the X-men that closely.

The artwork for the most part does a very good job but...
Published on 31 Aug 2011 by The Emperor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid, action packed end to a long story
This is not a stand alone volume and in order to appreciate it you need to have read earlier volumes. In particular:

X-men Messiah complex
X-force 1-4

You can get away with not reading the Cable volumes in my opinion.

That out of the way, this is a satisfying and action packed resolution to the story about 'Hope', the first mutant...
Published 13 months ago by Peter T


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 31 Aug 2011
This review is from: X-Men: Second Coming (Paperback)
This was highly enjoyable.

The storyline was epic in scope and there were some great battle scenes.
The dialogue works well and there were even some genuinely moving moments.
Everything made sense and it can be read with pleasure even if you don't follow the X-men that closely.

The artwork for the most part does a very good job but obviously as this involves various comic lines various artists are featured. Some of them, I am not much of a fan of. However none of it was so bad that it spoiled my enjoyment.

The storyline made sense and it really did feel like the culmination of a huge story arch.

This showed just how enjoyable mainstream superhero comics can sometimes be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hope returns and X-Men die, 10 Nov 2010
This review is from: X-Men: Second Coming (Hardcover)
The brilliant conclusion to the Messiah CompleX story line; Hope (the first mutant baby born since M-day) has travelled with Cable through time to return, aged 16, to the present, to save the dwindling muntant race.

This collection ties up the Cable and X-Force titles. The Uncanny X-Men, X-Men Legacy and New Mutants also appear in this cross over event which deals with the mutant killing robot Bastion, whether Hope really is the mutant messiah and if the decisions and sacrifices Cyclops has made are worth it (plus lots of blood and "snikt"s).

I love this book, it has lots of my favourite characters including; Wolverine, X-23, Cable, and the preceding storyline has kept me hooked for the last three years. Seeing Hope's character grow up from a baby to a multi-dimensional person and her relationship with Cable has been great. This conclusion has made me laugh and cry; Dr Nemesis has some brilliantly funny lines and two much loved characters are killed.

The artwork is brilliant, sometimes in cross overs when it's a different artist every chapter it can feel stilted but not here, Dodson, Immonen, Finch, Choi, Land... are all amazing, one of my favourite sections is Choi and Oback's ten page dialogue free action scene from X-Force #27, it is quite simply breath-taking.

The collaboration of all the X-title writers on this cross over story is flawless. Mike Carey, Matt Fraction, Chris Yost and Craig Kyle are just a few of Marvel's current roster of first class writers.

I wouldn't necessarily recommend this to people new to the X-Men,as the backstory has a been going on for quite a while, unless you buy: Messiah CompleX, Cable vol.s 1-4, Messiah War and X-Force vol.s 1-4 at the same time, all of which are brilliant, fill in the majority of back story and if you have the time and money are well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING !!! Definitely THE BEST X-Title ever created!! WOW!! Feels like I've just been to a 5-Star X-Men Movie Blockbuster, 7 Feb 2012
This review is from: X-Men: Second Coming (Paperback)
AMAZING, probably THE BEST X-Title ever created!! After reading X-Men Second Coming, it just feels like I've just finished watching a 2-and-a-half hour actioned packed 5-Star X-Men Blockbuster Movie from the cinema. Lots of high thrill chase, action, adventure, high energy blasts, majestic moment, sad death (or loses) moments - that makes you wanna cray, and not to forget ... great heroic momments as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly epic!, 23 Feb 2013
This review is from: X-Men: Second Coming (Paperback)
This is the most darn exciting comic I have ever read! If you only read one comic EVER, read this. A little bit of back knowledge is helpful to unstand the point of the story, why the characters are doing what they are doing and why they are in such a fizz. However, none of this should stop anybody from enjoying this rollercoaster ride of an adventure. It's none-stop action, full of blistering fights, desperate sacrifices, emotional turmoil and, ultimately, hope.
Bascially, Second Coming is the moving to a new stage of the mutant crisis. Ever since M Day, the worlds mutants have been reduced to a pittance, and no more are being born. Pushed to the edge extinction by the enemies who have dogged them for years, now smelling blood, the X-Men hang on grimly, hoping for a miracle. And then one comes - Hope, a mutant from Alaska and rescues by the X-Men only after a terrible struggle. Hope was sent into the future by Scott Summers, under the watch of his son Nathan, and for many years the Nathan and the child fought to stay alive. Now at last Hope declares that she feels ready to return to the current age, to be the Mutant Messiah Scott believes her to be, and her return triggers a massive battle as the X-Men struggle to get her to safety while all the enemies who have waited for Hope's return try desperately to snuff out Mutantkind's last hope. This battle then is the subject of the story, and the stakes could not be higher for either side. The fights are hence of a suitably epic proportion and the whole effect is both breathtaking and mindblowing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent end to the Messiah Trilogy, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Second Coming (Paperback)
This is a story that while the end of several years’ worth of plotlines has been condensed down so it is easy for newcomers to get into.

It is starts off really well with great art and many shocks including three well established Xmen dying. However slows about half way through and has an ending that anyone reading the first book of the trilogy (the superior Messiah Complex) would have instantly guessed.

It's not too heavy on the religious allegories and at times you really feel as though the Xmen are fighting for their very survival. A big screen action movie of a comic that does not sacrifice characterisation like AvX.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Comic packed with action and storyline, 21 July 2011
By 
Omran Mohd Alzahkawi "emerick Gothic freak" (Springfield Gardens, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X-Men: Second Coming (Paperback)
Great story, i recently started following events after House of M, and this event was amazing, i was shocked with development on X-Men universe, and had to go back to read previous comics i missed like Messia complex which was also amazing, Wolverine Kicks Ass here. What annoyed me is 1st issue was great art and drawing then, we shift between cartoonish style and realistic drawing, but never the less, overall art is great, except with Hope charecter is little awkward.
They have good foundation for new X-men hope they keep it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Which of the X-men gets killed?, 24 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Second Coming (Hardcover)
This was a great follow on from the amazing X-men Messiah Complex (which is a definite read first) and some of the Cable follow on stories.

I'm not going to put a spoiler on here but as a returning X-men fan I was utterly amazed with the character development and of more importance the truly heroic death of one of my old time favourites.

I recently summarised the story to a friend with the words 3 Major Deaths, many others and numerous maimings....Expect this book to change everything in the X-men world...In my mind this is where you start to see the wheels coming off for Cyclops which as we all know leads onto Schism and AvsX plot line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty decent X-event, 11 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Second Coming (Hardcover)
This is probably my favourite X-Event of the "Messiah-trilogy" (which includes Messiah Complex + Messiah War).
Its an action packed tale featuring a large cast of characters, as usual for X-Men,however i did not find it difficult to follow or confusing, and the artwork was well suited.

The story is concerned with the return of Hope (along w/Cable) from the future, and the subsequent race by the Anti-Mutant agenda to exterminate Hope along with the all the remaining Mutants (whose numbers have dwindled following House of M and are now on the verge of extinction).
There are deaths of 2 high profile characters - X-history tells says this wont be the last we see of them.
Just about all the content is relevant to the story (unlike X-Necrosha).
Recommended for fans of action orientated X-Men stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Solid, action packed end to a long story, 13 Nov 2013
By 
Peter T (london, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Second Coming (Paperback)
This is not a stand alone volume and in order to appreciate it you need to have read earlier volumes. In particular:

X-men Messiah complex
X-force 1-4

You can get away with not reading the Cable volumes in my opinion.

That out of the way, this is a satisfying and action packed resolution to the story about 'Hope', the first mutant born since the events of 'House of M' (also a great book). It did not quite blow me away, as the fantastic 'messiah complex' volume did, but it is very good.

So why not 4 or 5 stars? Well, would I read it again? Yes. More than once? No.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best the x-men can offer, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X-Men: Second Coming (Paperback)
amazing from beginning to end. if you like x-men just a little you will love this. i nearly cried at one point and got goosebumps with excitement at other parts, rollercoaster read which works amazingly. did i say it was amazing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X-Men: Second Coming
X-Men: Second Coming by Mike Carey (Paperback - 6 July 2011)
£23.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews